We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$332
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$479
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$337
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$396
US$379
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$261
US$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pelican Cove Inn(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$115
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
690
397
147
76
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
397
147
76
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate entrancelegoland entranceself parking feehotel restaurantlego landvisiting legolandlarge poolping pongunderground parkingnice propertypool sideearly checkoutlet mallocean viewhotel guestsshort drivemy son
Filter
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights here because its a "sheraton" and its proximity to everything in Carlsbad, which I give it that. Everything else was poor. Had to move to 4 different rooms to get a bed that wasn't "sunk in" and that was decent. There are no covered walkways, so we froze our butts off walking from everywhere. Restaurant was freezing the entire time, as the Air Conditioning could not be turned off because no one could find "the key". Service was Ok, not up to the standard we have been used to at other Sherations. Just plain disappointing. For the amount of money being charged to stay here, not a good value at all. Really? this is part of $6 Billion chain, and this is the kind of management that runs this hotel? Again, so disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLinde_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We just got back from this hotel on Sunday and are already planning our next trip back!

This was our first time taking our kids (2 & 3 year old girls) to California and we chose Legoland and this resort as it was recommended for the younger kids. (And as starwood members, we prefer their resorts)

CHECK IN/COMMUNAL AREAS
The first impression of the hotel was great. Check in was fast and efficient (Thanks Ben!) and although we were told the hotel was full, we never felt it.

ROOM
Our room (corner one bed suite) was large and nicely furnished with lots of storage space and 2 LCD tv's. 2 Balconies with seating were a nice touch too.

POOL
The pool is a nice shape and most of the time we had it to ourselves. The size meant that although we had two little ones they were never splashing on the adults. It was a bit on the cool side but on a hot day it was very refreshing.

RESTAURANT
The Twenty/20 restaurant was great. Is it more expensive than leaving the hotel? Of course. But unlike most hotels, the food was so good we never felt that it wasnt worth that little bit extra in cost. Breakfasts were exceptional and they put as at the same table every morning which was a nice touch. TIP- The kids portions are very big (suited to an older child), so if your kids are young they can easily share.

We also loved having a night cap by the outdoor fireplace, and all the servers were so attentive and entertaining to our girls that I think they enjoyed it more than we did.

Also- if there are fireworks at Legoland there is no place better to watch them than from this patio

PRIVATE LEGO LAND ENTRANCE
Easily located through the parking lot and down a path. It is really not a long walk when you consider all the miles you trek in a theme park. We also had a stroller so there was no worry with the kids. The entrance means there are no lines to get in... perfect!

PARKING/SHUTTLE
We always valeted the vehicle and never had to wait more than 2 minutes to have it brought up. When we went into Carlsbad village for dinners the complimentary shuttle was fast and efficient. A perfect option

OVERALL
We cannot say enough good things about our stay in this resort. Everyone from the other families to everyone working here was very nice and the entire trip was well enjoyed from my inlaws in their 60's all the way down to my 2 year old who when I asked where she wanted to go today told me (cali)"Fornia" .... poor girl had to settle for the park.

Room Tip: Sign up for SPG as members are more likely to get upgrades
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marncuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and 2 young sons stayed at this hotel for one night because of it's proximity to Legoland. You really can't beat the convenience if Legoland is your thing. You can walk from the hotel to Legoland without having to cross a street. The hotel is large and clean, the room we got was on a preferred guest floor. It had 2 queens and was much larger than your average 2 queen room. It was nice to have that space, even if just staying one night. The pool is nice, heated if the day is cooler. The work out room is fine. The bathroom was clean. We had breakfast at there restaurant, the meals were good with plenty of choices. There is also a little cafe where you can pick up coffee and bagel on the run. If we were returning for a quick trip to Legoland I would stay here again, however, if I were visiting the area for longer I would pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and felt that it was a wonderful place! We did not come with our kids, but noticed that this is an extremely kid friendly upscale home away from home! Moe at the front desk is very helpful and friendly. The twenty/20 resuraunt onsite was a bit pricey but oohhh so good! The bed was so comfortable and the staff was all so helpful and nice. The pool and jacuzzi were so nice after long day adventures to the beach and surrounding cities. Parking was convenient and the grounds were beautiful! The path to legoland was convenient and nice, I can not wait to bring my kids back here and enjoy the beauty and convenience that the Sheraton offers. The in room coffee was soo good too. I really have nothing bad to say about this place except that it is a bummer I can't move in for good. The room is huge by most hotel standards...love it here!

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, request a room with a balcany...so nice to not have to venture away from the room for a smoke...Bring drinks and cold foods, there is a fridge in the room. Don't depend on the pay per view movies, they are kinda pricey.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

After our long flight and drive up from San diego our first impression was great. At checkin, Moe was very cordial and explained everything in detail. Guided us to our room and let us know that he would help with anything during our stay.

We had a suite on the second floor with two small balconies. The suite was spacious and had two large LCD tv's. The bathroom was large but nothing special. The pool area is very nice. A large pool and tons of chairs and umbrellas. The view of the rolling hills and the well manicured area makes for a nice day at the pool.

During our stay the power was out in socal, we were off the premises and we needed a ride back to the hotel, placed a call and within 5 min the van was there to pick us up. That evening probably one of a few places open for dinner was the 20 grille at the Sheraton. They had limited power but fired up the outdoor grill and provided great dinner for everyone. We were seated outside and you would never know that they had no electricity. The food was great and Moe from the front desk offered to pick up our tab because the club lounge was closed. He didnt need to give us a complimentary dinner, so I declined. But the offer was greatly appreciated.

The next day the lounge continued to be closed although power was restored that morning. They offered us complimentary breakfast at the restaurant and we accepted. It was a great breakfast before our day at legoland.

On our last night, Moe saw me getting ready to purchase a bottle of wine at the pantry area, he acknowledged that since the lounge was still closed he would take care of the wine. Once again, Moe was right there.

Moe said at checkin he would help with anything, he was always there with a great smile, and the Sheraton Carlsbad is fortunate to have him represent the resort. Great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the pool, it can be a long walk
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews