We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
241
84
41
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
84
41
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelais chateauxaubergine restaurantcharming courtyardeuropean feelturn down servicesmall touchescookiesthe hotel managerbell staffincluded in the room ratesmall hotelluxury hotelsoaking tubbreakfast was deliciouspastryfresh fruitwe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was fabulous. The MOMENT we pulled up, we were greeted and our car taken to be parked along with our luggage taken to our room. The staff all congratulated us and we had a complimentary Bottle of champagne in our room as a surprise with a note from management congratulating us. My wife is a chef and we mentioned our dinner was amazing and we were invited into the kitchen to meet the chef (world renowned). We also got a little extra desert!! Our room was clean and romantic and literally the best place we have stayed. (We are from London and have stayed at world class locations). Highly recommended. We can't thank the staff enough for a great experience. We wanted for nothing. The fire in the evening sipping great drinks was a bonus! All in all a world class experience

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon S, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective with us. I am delighted to know that we were able to make your time with us special and significant, given that you were celebrating a momentous occasion! It was delightful getting to chat with you and your wife during your journey.

Thank you again and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your western road trip. We sincerely hope to see you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Ramon Serrano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Third stay. Charming, peaceful, well-located. Each room is unique. An oasis particularly during tourist season. Very nice breakfast. The dining room is eclectic and expensive but plenty of walkable options.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank piotzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is one Hotel I would visit time and time again. It is a small boutique hotel but that's all you need in Carmel. The service is fantastic and you feel like your in true European countryside Hotel. The rooms and the food is wonderful. I have been here I few times and it never disappoints or ever well. Highly recommended and Carmel is one place on any bucket list.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

this is a really fine hotel, and i enjoyed my stay. here are some things you might want to know:

1. the cost includes an amount for staff gratuities, which is helpful as most rooms are up at least one flight of stairs and some another flight of narrow stairs. You will definitely want to use the bellman to deliver AND pick up your bags.
2. the smaller rooms with a queen size bed do not give you the luxury experience you might expect from such a fine hotel. We saw some of the larger rooms once they had been cleaned and they looked spacious and wonderful.
3. the breakfast (included) is not full, but includes fruit, juice, hot beverage, croissant, and eggs and toast. other items are available for a charge. The included breakfast was VERY high quality, better than you'll get at most restaurants.
4. the location is right on the corner of Monte Verde and 7th, so all parking west and north of that intersection is residential, not subject to pesky two hour limits. the hotel offers free parking, but that can be a bother (see next point).
5. the hotel is one of many that accept pets (check about size). They charge $100 AND you can't leave the pet in the room when you aren't there. Probably to keep from freaking out the household staff. So, if you're dining in any restaurant, except those with outdoor dining,you'll want to keep your car nearby to staff your pet.
6. the hotel has a very nice patio, however, the weather has to be pleasant for it to be enjoyable.
7. many reviews commented on the staff, our experience was that they were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We had drinks in this place and they were very snooty. The service was not that good and really acted like they could care less if we were there. Go next door to the Cypress Inn where you get a lot better service.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews