We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special night in Carmel”
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Night in Carmel to meet with friends. Picked Auberge as knew it was Relais and Chateau. Beautiful service, delicious breakfast, lovely bathroom. Having breakfast in the courtyard was a treat. Room not inexpensive and sadly, on courtyard so when we walked in all curtains were drawn and room was dark and dingy... Have to say was a little surprised. Would like to suggest some privacy curtains that let in light so not in a dungeon for over $500.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room. maybe will have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Njoytrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was fabulous. The MOMENT we pulled up, we were greeted and our car taken to be parked along with our luggage taken to our room. The staff all congratulated us and we had a complimentary Bottle of champagne in our room as a surprise with a note from management congratulating us. My wife is a chef and we mentioned our dinner was amazing and we were invited into the kitchen to meet the chef (world renowned). We also got a little extra desert!! Our room was clean and romantic and literally the best place we have stayed. (We are from London and have stayed at world class locations). Highly recommended. We can't thank the staff enough for a great experience. We wanted for nothing. The fire in the evening sipping great drinks was a bonus! All in all a world class experience

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon S, General Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective with us. I am delighted to know that we were able to make your time with us special and significant, given that you were celebrating a momentous occasion! It was delightful getting to chat with you and your wife during your journey.

Thank you again and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your western road trip. We sincerely hope to see you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Ramon Serrano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Third stay. Charming, peaceful, well-located. Each room is unique. An oasis particularly during tourist season. Very nice breakfast. The dining room is eclectic and expensive but plenty of walkable options.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank piotzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Was planning a easy family road trip... Why not the beautiful Monterrey coast and Carmel for 2 nights. Booked one of the better rooms at L'Auberge as I thot could not lose with a relais and chateaux hotel.. ( room rate $785 per tax and charges )
the negatives...

$$old tired rooms.. poor carpet , musty smell in stairway and room

$ roll away for my daughter ... as shown in photo .. was a camp cot at best..
I ended up on the floor ...btw when asked for extra blanket for sick daughter who slept bed with mom and one for me for the floor... Only one blanket.." sorry we have run out"

$$ animal..likely mouse ( mice in wall) made frequent trips in night from closet area to behind refridge... I earned good hubby points for being the one sleeping on that floor..

$$$ the real charm... no hot water from midnight thru next morning with sick daughter in tow.. so very kind hotel staff shuttled us to nearby hotel to shower and get ready.. delaying our departure by about 90 mins to 2 hours to make arrangements get to other hotels and back...

$$$ when I mentioned at check out... was kindly refunded a whooping $150 from $1700 plus bill

the positives...

+nice courtyard..
+close to beach
+ very nice staff. nice bedtime cookies
+ breakfast and evening dinner at restaurant relais chateaux quality

recommendation... eat at restaurant.. go for a drink... stay at pebble or hyatt or back to ventana or post ranch...

Room Tip: do not stay until rooms upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Soiam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auberge_carmel_ca2, Reservations Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Soiam50,

Thank you for staying at L'Auberge Carmel. We sincerely apologize for the issues with your guest room, rollaway, and for the maintenance problems you encountered.

We apologize that the room facilities were not up to your standards. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and as of January 2017 we have currently renovated the lobby, salon, and dining room. Next we will be replacing carpets in our guest rooms and hope to be fully renovated by the end of this year.

I understand you also encountered maintenance issues during your stay. Due to an emergency water leak we had to shut down the hot water for all guest rooms. This was not scheduled water maintenance. We were happy to be able to bring you and your family to a close-by hotel so you could use their facilities, but I understand it was still an inconvenience and for that we are sorry.

I would love to speak to you in person regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me at 831.622.5907 or my email at lweaver@laubergecarmel.com. We sincerely apologize for the facility and maintenance issues and that we missed a valuable opportunity to rectify the situation at your departure.

Kindest Regards,
Lauren Weaver
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is one Hotel I would visit time and time again. It is a small boutique hotel but that's all you need in Carmel. The service is fantastic and you feel like your in true European countryside Hotel. The rooms and the food is wonderful. I have been here I few times and it never disappoints or ever well. Highly recommended and Carmel is one place on any bucket list.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
0.6 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
6.9 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
337 reviews
0.1 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
0.2 km away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: RM1,460 - RM3,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing