We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We checked out early and went to bernadus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We checked out early and went to bernadus”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The very pricey king ocean view room is musty and small. This is an old hotel that is sea worn. I couldn't stay the smell so we ate the second night and went to our favorite Carmel retreat in the valley called Bernadus. We thought we would try something new as we always stay at bernardus. The Hyatt seemed like a good bet. Not so.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelette4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with stunning views, delicious dining options and warm friendly service for a great experience at our unique property. We are sorry this was not the case with your visit. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and we hope you will consider visiting our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    279
    154
    95
    63
See reviews for
207
602
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have been an owner here since 2006 and have never regretted purchasing a Hyatt timeshare. I have visited many of the Hyatt timeshare locations, but am so very glad that this is my home property. The units continue to be upgraded, the kitchens most recently. Though smallish, they provide everything you might need to avoid eating out, allowing you to enjoy the view from your deck. The wood-burning fireplaces are wonderful to enjoy on a cold night and will hopefully never be replaced by gas. For two people they are perfect, more and it would be a bit tight. The location is everything here - as nearly perfect as could be for a Big Sur vacation spot, yet close to the charming village of Carmel and the Monterrey Pennisula.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up - the higher up, the better the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We are happy that you enjoy our beautiful property and that you get to visit us frequently! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I spent a glorious week at the Hyatt Carmel Highlands resort. We were lucky enough to stay in a one bedroom in the timeshare portion of the resort. The rooms were located on a hill overlooking the beautiful Carmel Highlands coast. Our villa had a full kitchen, a very comfortable living room, king bedroom and a huge bathroom with a large jetted tub and a separate stall shower. The one bedroom could accommodate 2 couples privately, wooden sliding doors separated the bedroom from the living room which had a queen sofa bed. The fireplace in the living room was prepared daily by the housekeeping staff, all that was needed was to strike a match to enjoy a cozy fire. The bathrobes were a nice luxury provided for our use while at the resort to wear in the room or for the short walk to the hot tub.
The resort provided fire pits scattered through out the property for the guests to enjoy at their leisure. The heated pool was close to the main lobby, it was small but well maintained and it was surrounded by nice redwood lounge chairs.
We visited Point Lobos reserve which was nearby and was the highlight of our trip. The hiking trails and the views along California's coastline was spectacular.
We had a very nice breakfast at the California Market restaurant with very good service and amazing views. The Sunset bar was comfortable but the drinks where very expensive. We didn't try the Pacific's Edge restaurant after seeing people walk out because of the poor service and considering the choice of amazing restaurants in nearby Carmel by the Sea. I would love to return to Hyatt's Carmel Highlands.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful week with us! The views are amazing and we are glad you enjoyed our California Market! We hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our review is of the 1-King Bed, Ocean View Room variety,
The view of the ocean off the little deck was spectacular. The room also had a large sliding glass door and the view was even great through it. The room itself was rather smallish, with no true sitting area (except for the enlarged ottoman at the foot of the bed). Bathroom area was almost claustrophobic. The bed was older and was not very comfortable, but the pillows were nice and comfy. This room included some niceties: pair of binoculars to ocean watch with, AM newspaper service (SF Chronicle), nightly turn-down service, firewood/fireplace, mini-fridge, keurig coffee maker, free valet service (use it if you stay in one of the rooms to the west of the main lobby, because of limited parking), and white robes to lounge in.
One of the things I was NOT impressed with was the Ice service -- the Ice machine nearest to out room gave us about 6 total ice cubes in 2 attempts. VERY good thing that room service was around to quickly correct for this problem. In fact, ALL the employees we came in contact with were extemely nice and helpful. Just beware of the call you will probably get on your first night wanting you to attend a "presentation" on the property (HINT: time share..) or to get you to commit to a special deal on additional nights any time during the next year -- we found these rather annoying!
Even though we had a good time here, I'm not so sure that the value is there for the incredible amount of money it cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ4advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received warm, friendly service. We hope you will consider visiting our unique property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We initially planned to stay only 1 night there, en route from San Francisco to Los Angeles via the Pacific Coast Highway and when we arrived at the place the calm and view were just so incredible that we added a second night, forcing us to get up early to reach LAX and catch our flight home!

The room itself was really nice (although, it might soon benefit from a little lifting), and from the bed, just open the stores and see the trees, hills and ocean. Sunrise and sunset are beautiful. This was just so relaxing, staying there, on the balcony and watching.

The hotel staff was nice at all stages and valet parking is convenient, also we got help with our many suitcases with all the stairs we hd to go to reach our room.

View from the Restaurant was nice too, we took the Valentine's evening prix fixe menu and this is where we have been disappointed: the food whilst good (and "nouvelle cuisine") some of the dishes lacked presentation or quality (my sea bass for great, my wife's veal was undercooked and the plate not warm enough). Appetizer was good but not extraordinary and the dessert a little bit disappointing. We had a great Californian sparkling wine suggested by the sommelier (after I explained him that being French I would not want to taste french champagne, but prefer a good local product). Lastly for the restaurant, service was a little bit simple, style in serving needs to be improved. I'm sure they will.

So overall conclusion is very positive, despite the disappointing restaurant, and yes I would certainly return to this property and take again an Ocean view room.

Business note: Internet access was included in the price and worked well.

Room Tip: You want to rent an Ocean View room and watch sunset/sunrise from the balcony, otherwise it would ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur_Londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your Valentine's Dinner and we are happy you chose to spend the special evening with us. We are glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
5.8 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
820 reviews
6.0 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
334 reviews
8.4 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
16.5 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
294 reviews
5.0 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price range (per night): RM2,526 - RM4,004
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing