We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our second stay at this property. We first stayed because it was right on Ocean, an easy walk to the shops and restaurants and to the beach. The only room available then was a room with two queen beds. The room was well kept, very clean and nicely decorated, we were very content with this visit. On our most recent stay we were given the same room on request which had been completely redecorated with marble and granite in the bathroom, new furniture and beds. The management was very attentive and responsive to our requests. We will always make this our first choice when we return to Carmel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 66 it is in the section towards the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DEllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    298
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
130
391
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We are traveling the California coast and found a gem of a hotel in The Comfort Inn in Carmel-by-the-Sea. The location is just where we wanted to be. Our room had a view of Ocean Street and the ocean and had everything for a long comfortable stay. The hotel also has a cute breakfast room with complimentary breakfast. We met the manager, Susie, when we checked in and she made us feel special, like we had been friends forever. All this a a great price!

Thank you to Susie and Comfort Inns! J. Freedman

Room Tip: Request room 65, view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Calif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Terrific value and location to shops, restaurants, and beach. Our room was very clean and comfortable; however, our first night we found ourselves next to very noisy neighbors. Our hostess, Susie, was very understanding and gracious, and within 15 to 20 minutes after telling her of this late night annoyance, she had us moved to another equally clean and comfortable, and quiet room. Will definitely stay there again. Thanks again Susie!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELLOJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in the Comfort Inn for 4 nights this winter. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was generous and filling, with good selections. The location near downtown at Ocean Ave and Torres St. couldn't have been more convenient for walking to the wonderful Carmel beach for sunsets, and for window shopping, restaurants and art galleries. The room was very comfortable with features that other area hotels did not have (fridge and microwave), beautiful bathroom and shower. No real ocean view but you can walk to the beach for the best view.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floor where there are good windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Grove, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family (me, wife, and 2 young adult daughters) stayed here for two nights in January 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is an excellent value, especially in spendy Carmel. It is centrally located, right in downtown Carmel, walking distance to the shops and the beach. The courtyard is beautiful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms clean. The best part -- the staff was great -- Suzie was very helpful and she treated my family like it was her own. She really knows the meaning and value of good service. The complimentary breakfast had a large selection; and I agree with others who have commented on the very tasty freshly cooked waffles. This will be our regular stomping ground in the future when we visit Carmel/Monterey. So glad we found it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.0 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.7 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
2.1 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.4 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price range (per night): RM768 - RM1,373
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing