We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hideaway in Carmel!”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Well-appointed rooms, delicious food, gracious staff -- all in a wonderful location. I would highly recommend this property to both couples and families. My husband took me there for my birthday, and the staff surprised me with a homemade birthday cake!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stray_Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi

I'm very happy that you chose to spend you special day with us. We have become the go to place for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons, etc. We will reall enjoy making sure these occassions are memorable. I hope to see you next year.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Cozy charming hotel with highlights being wine and cheese in the lobby by the fire, fireplace in the comfortable room we had, and the delicious breakfast. Easy beautiful walk to lunch, dinner, shops, and cliffs of Scenic Dr. Hotel is clean and well-appointed. The price is right as well. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Shelley

Im glad you had nice stay with. We are a comfortable place to relax and enjoy & explore this part of the world. I'm glad that you will be returning and I do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay at The Hideaway. Great breakfast and Happy Hour! Room was lovely with nice fireplace. We were in a junior suite with very comfortable king bed and living area with beautiful couch and chairs. Could walk everywhere in Carmel from this location. Staff was fabulous. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindadY6012RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Hi Linda

I'm really happy that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. It is an outstanding breakfast which we get nothing but compliments on. When you add in our nice wine & cheese hour with the great location we are hard to beat. I hope we will see you soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We booked 3 nights. The hotel is a converted motel, with much modernization and updating, but our room was much smaller than advertised - at this point the website should have a picture of each room so others are not as disappointed as we were. The common area is a bonus and the breakfast was substantial. I would only return if we booked a larger room

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Hi Mark

I'm sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. I'm glad that you did enjoy our public setting and our great breakfast. I hope you will give us another opportunity to take care of you.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We had a great time at The Hideaway.
Staff was impeccable, breakfast truly yummy, and the bed was truly delicious!
Nothing to complain about, we are surely coming back in the future. Even the robes were cozy...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank N3758RCalexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Hi

It is great to read the compliment about our team. They are a wonderful group of people. It is hard for some of our guests to get out of those great beds and have our great breakfast but they seem to find a way. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
906 reviews
0.7 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
607 reviews
1.8 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
364 reviews
6.5 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.7 km away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#5 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: RM956 - RM1,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing