We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Playa Carmel
Nearby Hotels
US$335
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarwood Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
587
224
90
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
224
90
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastcookies and milkfree shuttleevening wine tastingshuttle servicewaffle stationno elevatorgarden roomhotel barbeautiful hotelocean viewtwo blocksbreakfast was amazingbeautiful groundsthe hotel offersluxury hotelcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I loved this hotel!
What a treat- it was just so lovely- from the beautiful gardens with the hummingbirds to the great pool and outdoor area. I loved the free wine tasting, the breakfast was superb and the cookies and milk for the kids at night were the icing on the cake.
The staff were lovely and so helpful with restaurant reservations and local information.
The shuttle to the restaurant's ( even though its close enough to walk , there are no street lights so it's very dark), was an added treat.
We stayed here with our two kids ages 10 and 7, and although most people were couples, they were all so welcoming. A true delight. If you are thinking if staying here - do it.
We stayed in a garden room with 2 queen beds and the balcony out the front was great to sit and read.
I hope I one day can return to this beautiful place. Carmel was gorgeous and so was this Spanish style hotel. So glad we stayed there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Encounterbay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The location of the hotel is great. Its only two blocks from the ocean ave and the beach. Easy to take a stroll. The breakfast here is really good. They do not have an onsite restaurant though only bar and light snacks. So you will have to go out for lunch and dinner. Their open porch is nice to view the see and the sunset and has heaters which is a plus. But we did not enjoy the room. For 350$ a night, I would have expected a luxurious room. The bed wasn't very comfortable. The room felt stuffy. You could hear the water noise from adjacent rooms and it was very loud when they closed the rooms. Also there was construction going on which was quite loud. So if we were not in the room, we really enjoyed it. But the room itself was quite disappointing. We may try something else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Manimozhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

La Playa Carmel is utter perfection....a haven of luxury and relaxation in the wonderfully beautiful town of Carmel. This was my third stay at the property - and I rearranged part of my trip especially in order to enjoy two more nights there on this trip. The hotel itself is perfectly equipped with every luxury touch you could desire (plush robes, tea and coffee amenities, local bath amenities, Ghiradelli turndown chocolates)...and the rooms themselves are glorious - especially if you get one of the Ocean view rooms to enjoy the sound of the waves and spectacular sunrises / sunsets from your oh-so-comfortable bed.
But the real magic of La Playa lies in the bountiful extras - from the welcome Sangria to the signature Ghiradelli chocolate chip cookies served with milk, to the wine hour, to the glorious champagne brunch complete with bespoke ordering waffle or omelette bar.
Probably one of my very favourite hotels in the world. Thank you thank you thank you - especially to the manager Rachel for taking care of my reservation, but to the whole team for being so welcoming, warm and wonderful.
The only thing I could suggest to make La Playa even more perfection would be to offer the heavenly smoked salmon at the brunch all week around not just on the weekends!

Thank you and can't wait to see you again soon.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are worth the extra $.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

There are many Hotel choices in Carmel... and in this case, you get what you pay for. Even discounted, the rooms can be small and expensive - but in return, you get a wonderfully old world, classy, updated hotel and the largest grounds of any hotel in Carmel. A few blocks off the ocean and a short walk into town, the location is perfect, any time of year. The bathroom was spotless, linens, bed and pillows super comfy. The bar is club room style and the morning breakfast on the veranda was perfect, including champagne and an omelet station. There is off-street parking (currently under repair Dec 2017), and usually parking all around on the street. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and there are fresh cookies and apples at the front desk, and a happy hour wine tasting. Not sure about some of the other comments here... we are very picky Ritz Carlton regulars... and we loved everything about the hotel and location!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Spent a night here on 11/18/2017. Had to park on the street since lot was under repair. The hotel's staff is friendly and helpful. The room was small. They had a wine tasting in Lobby that evening. Nice lobby and bar area. No elevator since the hotel was built in the early 1900's.
Really nice brunch in the AM included.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews