We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
5
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
8
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Came here fishing. Didn't expect to catch anything. but it was very pretty and peaceful. stayed four hours had 3 fish bite but too small so we throw them back. Great place for runners. Families would do well for a picnic here. small little snack shack which was clean. Overall get time.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Anthony Chabot Family Campground is in the Oakland Hills, just above Lake Chabot.

+ Close by if you live in the East Bay. (You can't believe you're in Oakland!)
+ Decent size sites, many with some tree shade, a few with a beautiful view of Lake Chabot.
+ Well maintained campground with clean bathrooms with showers and access to potable water.
+ Picnic tables, fire rings and wood that you can buy at the check-in station.
+ Nice, short hike (Honker Bay Trail) to the lake and a long trail around the lake (currently not a full loop).

- Some bees at our site, so keep your food covered. Nothing that caused alarm; just a bit annoying at meal times.
- Some sites have tent pads that aren't quite flat. Our site (#74) had a decline that had us slipping downward in our sleeping bags. (But the site also has a nice view of the lake).
- The boat rental on the lake isn't close to the trail from the campground to the lake.
- Because you're near an urban area, you hear the occasional helicopter and airplane. There is also a gun range nearby. We did not hear them at our tent site, but other reviews have said they do.

Room Tip: Sites 69-75 and walk-in (tent only) sites 20-22 have a lake view that isn't obstructed by other sites.
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Squacklips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

For some reason this is listed as a hotel but it's clearly not...it's a park!

I came here with a friend and my 1 year old son. Since I have not been hiking a lot lately and was carrying my son we kept it relatively low key by going around the lake. It was beautiful, nice clear water and intermittent waves of shade and sun as we circumnavigated the lake. There was a nice mix of famlies, bikers, and people with dogs on the trail.

After the walk we spent a nice quiet hour or so on the lawn near the cafe. It seems a great place for families on a barbecue trip but there were lots of anglers out there, some even seemed to have caught some fish.

A nice place to spend a Spring/Summer afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

There are a lot of good things about this park. It's basically a canyon with a lot of trees and a lake at the bottom, so it feels like a piece of wild life in the middle of the East Bay. Since you can't see any urban areas, it feels like you're far away but it's actually very easy to get to. The main trail about the lake is about 9 miles and there are plenty of smaller trails all over.

So why not 5 stars? The lake if filled with blue-green algae and it's quite poisonous, especially for the dogs. So no swimming. I think they rent out some small boats, but there is another problem - the lake has pretty strong rotten odor, and since it's a closed canyon, you can smell it from far away.

Overall, it's hard to beat the location and the trails are great, but if you're looking for the water activities, there are better options a short drive away.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

This local park is popular with walker and hikers. There are easy paved and dirt trails accessible near the marina that go around part of the lake that are good for strollers. Some other trails and offshoots can be rough and uneven. We enjoy accessing park trails via the parking lot as well as from Redwood Road or near the campground/gun range entrance.

Dogs are supposed to be kept on leash, but several people ignore the rule and let their dogs roam free on the less frequented trails. We are apprehensive when an unleashed dog approaches us and our properly leashed dog on the back trails.

The picnic areas are nice and can be reserved for large group functions. In the past, we've rented a pontoon boat for a family picnic on the water for about 8-10 people. That was a fun outing.

Parking is $5 per car and extra $2 per dog. Many skip the parking fee by parking along Lake Chabot Road and walking in.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JeanyB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews