We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Goodman House

Goodman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goodman House
Ranked #1 of 4 Chico B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Visited Chico for the weekend and booked a room at the Goodman House. This was my first time staying in a B&B and I am so glad I did. The owners were so nice and accommodating. The grounds were beautifully manicured and the breakfast in the morning was amazing! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only three of the rooms have TV's in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanhouse, Manager at Goodman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for the kind review of our establishment, especially the grounds and breakfast. We are happy to hear that your first time staying at a bed and breakfast was a positive experience and we hope to see you again on another trip to Chico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Goodman House with a group of couples for a friends reunion. We were absolutely thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The hosts, Tom and Margo are so gracious and accommodating. We relaxed on the patio and enjoyed incredibly delicious breakfasts outside as well. The rooms are adorable, comfortable and very clean. I can't say enough good things about this B&B and would highly recommend them to anyone visiting the area!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Natrose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanhouse, Manager at Goodman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review of our bed and breakfast and its ammenaties and charm. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your group had a relaxing time. We make every effort to accommodate guests and groups. We hope to see you again the next time you all get together.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The Goodman House has become our home away from home when we visit our children and friends. The location is conveniently located to the downtown area. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. Tom and Margo are very friendly and gracious hosts. The breakfasts are always superb and plentiful!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanhouse, Manager at Goodman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review and in particular the cleanliness and uniqueness of the b&b and guest rooms. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We made a last minute detour to Chico and fortunately for us, the Goodman House had one room available. We couldn't have picked a better place if we had searched months in advance. Clean, modern bathroom, convenient to town, private parking, wifi, a fantastic breakfast, accommodating hosts, what more can I say!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ch1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanhouse, Manager at Goodman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your kind review of our bed and breakfast. We are happy to hear your "detour" brought you to our establishment and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the modern bathrooms, to the cleanliness of the house, off street parking, to our extensive breakfast. We hope to see you again if a detour or planned trip brings you through Chico again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

My wife and I stayed at Goodman House over Memorial Day weekend. We chose Goodman House because of the reviews and we heard that they could accommodate vegetarian and vegan diets (my wife is vegetarian). It was an outstanding choice.

Goodman House has two very warm hosts who made us feel welcome and at home immediately and throughout our stay. The house is gorgeous. Beautiful, well groomed surroundings and a warm and homey interior. Everything was clean and nicely furnished.

So... the second part of B&B: breakfast. Breakfast was absolutely delicious -- almost worth staying at Goodman House for this alone. We enjoyed breakfast on the outdoor patio, and honestly, I didn't realize waffles could be this good, and our other items were terrific as well.

Finally, I mentioned in the title the location. While we had a car, we were a short walk to restaurants, a park, the Bidwell Mansion (do the tour- it's worth it!), and the University, which let us take advantage of the beautiful Chico weather.

This will be our first choice the next time we stay in beautiful Chico. Amazing place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandonr713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanhouse, Manager at Goodman House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you Brandon for your kind review of our Bed and Breakfast. We are happy to hear you felt at home while staying with us and enjoyed the breakfast and our location to many Chico attractions. We hope to see you again when you travel to Chico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
4.6 km away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
149 reviews
4.0 km away
Oxford Suites Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
575 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
271 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodman House

Address: 1362 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95926-3331
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chico
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing