We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very magic place and special hosts.”
other traveller has booked this property
Lodge from across the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge from across the valley
lodge in winter - a rare snow! Lodge at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Lodge from across the valley
lodge in winter - a rare snow!
Lodge at night
Kitchen for guests use
Private queen bedroom, with private bath.  Has futon that makes into a double bed that can sleep two
living room with wood stove and small library
Game room (table tennis, board games, puzzles)
Upper swimming hole - always full!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Coulterville, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cucumac
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very magic place and special hosts.”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kowana Valley was our last stop on our trip from Vegas to San Fran, via Yosemite. We were looking for something reasonably priced and close to the park. Then we found Kowana Valley and got very excited about being off the grid (which doesn't really affect the stay if you are mindful) but had no idea what to expect. Trip to get there is a bit of a detour however upon arrival we were so impressed. The lodge is separate from their home, yet pretty close, and has several rooms. Lynn and Rich were amazing from the minute we arrived until our departure. The house has a common kitchen and it also has a professional kitchen used for special events. Since we were with our two boys (5,8) they gave us the downstairs room with 2 double beds, which is next to the playroom and has a connecting bathroom. This gave us more privacy and extra room to play (they have great games and a ping pong table - boys loved it). The lodge is brand new with amazing finishes. The Valley is so beautiful and peaceful with great hiking. Lynn found time from her busy schedule to take us to a cave in the property and to swim in the hole. My boys even got a chance to drive the little farm vehicle and to help pick up some wood. In the evening we all sat around the fire and eat s'mores. The crowd was diverse and great. We had a wonderful time and I was so sad to leave. I highly recommend the Valley for anyone who is looking for a break from busy Yosemite. Or anyone who wants a break from their hectic lives. I can't wait to be back! Thanks Lynn & Rich for such a special place.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetra14
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kowana Valley”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an excellent 4 night stay in a private ensuite room at the Lodge. We had no problems navigating our way to the Lodge as we were given detailed information by the owner upon booking. We were warmly greeted by the owner who took time out of her busy schedule to give us lots of information and recommendations on what to do both at both Yosemite National Park and the beautiful valley surrounding the lodge. Our room was spacious, light and very comfortable. The ensuite was equally as good with a welcoming powerful shower and tub. Needless to say both spaces were very clean and looking fresh / modern - not surprising given the lodge was only opened this year. We were able to prepare all our meals in the well stocked kitchen, use the BBQ and all communal spaces were comfortable and welcoming. We even enjoyed an evening by the camp fire with our fellow guests chatting and looking at the millions of stars overhead.

In terms of proximity to Yosemite Valley, it took us just less than an hour to the gate and a further 30 minutes to the valley floor. Regarding the valley surrounding the lodge, we enjoyed walking a few trails, the watering hole and exploring the caves!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and can highly recommend the lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmen9
Rovigo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stopped at Kowana Valley Lodge on our trip to Yosemite and San Francisco. We were three families with 4 children. This place is wonderful! You reach it after driving in the middle of the forest on an unpaved road for about half an hour. When you arrive there you find yourself immerse in nature and you have great possibilities for hiking or just for relaxing. The house is wonderful, very comfortable and with all the necessary to enjoy your stay: a fully equipped kitchen, a large dining room which can accommodate pretty large groups, and even a play room. Lynn, the owner, is a great host. She was very nice with us and I could sense how proud she is of this place!
The location is quite close to the west entrance of Yosemite National Park (about 45 mins).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dany S
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kowana Valley Lodge - Great Experience!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I am writing this review 2 days after we have left Kowana Valley, Lynn and Richard. We already miss them...
Communication with Lynn before our arrival was quick and clear.
Travel Instruction were also very clear and made it easy to find the lodge.
Upon our arrival we were welcomed with a big smile and were led to our room (The private room).
The room was spacious, clean, everything was new and comfortable. (We were 2 adults and our 10 year old daughter) on suite bathroom and shower (the lower room) - all clean and inviting.
We have asked in advance to have dinner and breakfast for the first day and we were more than pleasantly surprised to find out that there were 2 guests that are chefs and are cooking our vegetarian dinner. We had a great evening!!! Very good food, great company and conversation, and very very nice hosts that made this evening a memorable one.
Obviously we requested to have the rest of our meals (morning and evening) in the lodge.
It was that good!
After dinner we went outside and sat down around the bonfire with guests from Germany, Sweden, and the US.
Lynn pulled out her Banjo and Richard accompanied her with his guitar and we enjoyed a good performance. Since there are house rules regarding quiet times and some of the guests needed to have an early start we wrapped up and went to sleep. The second morning and evening were as good as the first... Richard gave us some great tips about where to visit and how to order it.
We've stayed in the Kowana Valley Lodge for 2 nights and when we left it was like parting with family.
We didn't get to swim in the swim hole but we went there as a morning walk and it is lovely (water was a bit cold), we walked around the grounds and enjoyed the flower patch and the trails around it. We even got to see a deer while sitting on the balcony and having a drink before dinner.
Another thing you should know (and appreciate) - the lodge is off grid. All electricity is being supplied by solar panels and batteries. You will need to accommodate to some simple rules (didn't affect the pleasure :)
If you like interacting with people, making yourself comfortable and seeing how people can live this is certainly for you.
I know that I will recommend any of my friends and family to stay in the Kowana Lodge when they visit Yosemite.
Lynn and Richard - thank you very much for the lovely experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Warm hospitality and lovely people
Liked least: none - it was like best holiday home away from home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersfa...
Petaluma, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing get away! Unbelievable price!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed with Rich and Lynn Ferry at Kowana Valley Lodge and it is everything and more than they state on their website. We (8 close lady friends) stayed 3 nights and used the lodge to relax, catch up on family and friends, and to visit Yosemite Valley one day. The property is beautiful and the lodge is beautifully and comfortably furnished. Lynn cooked for us two nights and both dinners were amazing. Rich and Lynn take such good care of you. They are eager to make your stay worth the drive (the site is off-the-grid, but it only makes your stay more magical.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing