We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”
Review of Bonjour Cafe

Bonjour Cafe
Ranked #29 of 146 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A cozy table service or takeout traditional French Bistro place with indoor and lovely outdoor seating since 1992.Open everyday for Breakfast and Lunch with an extensive menu featuring a lot of Parisian specialties, serving generous portions including a kid menu for the little ones.We serve Wine and Beer plus weekend Champagne specials, serving also all kind of Coffee drinks from Cappucino to machiato etc...Free Parking is available all along the street plus we have a back private parking lot. We are located in the heart of Dana Point, 1 mile above the harbor and 5 minutes from all major resorts such as Ritz Carlton, St Regis, Marriott.
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We have had such here many times, excellent. Recently we had breakfast and it was super.For breakfast, try the Tatti pancakes, its a big portion, built for two. Great omelet also. A french flair, so go with it and try something new. Really good crepes too.

Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCAL L, Owner at Bonjour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you Philip for your great review and 5 star rating. The all staff will be happy to know what great experience you have had visiting us many times. We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon and offering the same professional service and French flavorful dishes.
Have a great week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Bonjour Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Driving back to LA was in the mood for French fare. Having seen some decent reviews about the place took a little detour and voila, here we are. The place reminds one of Paris of the 70's. Indifferent and slow service, no attempt to attract customers. However the comparison with Paris stops here. The poached eggs and the croissant with eggs had no resemblance whatsoever with similar fare that I had in Paris less than a year ago. Croissant was slightly soggy and the poached eggs somewhat overdone.Coffee was meh. If you are in Dana Point I am sure you can do worse, but definitely not worth a detour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCAL L, Owner at Bonjour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi Allan, we are disappointed that your detour to our long time established Café that have pleased so many did not match your expectation. It also seems that you do not expect much from the Dana Point restaurants which are just as good as many of cities around us?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Very nice breakfast spot in Dana Point. The service and food was very good. Nice outdoor seating. The veggie crepe was wonderful.

Thank skwomaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCAL L, Owner at Bonjour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Bonjour and thank you for your fantastic review a couple of days ago. The all staff and I appreciate your appreciation to our hard work. Our newly remodeled large patio is very comfortable with a beautiful street landscaping around it. Glad you enjoyed our Vegetarian Crepe which is actually one dish that makes our new customers come back regularly for. Looking forward to your next visit.
Happy and safe 4th of July weekend!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

I had the Omelétte aux Champignons. Was surprised at how sweet the onions and mushrooms tasted. It must have been a tough morning for the hot line cook as the eggs were still runny in places, the basil hollandaise had bits of scrambled eggs (too much heat), and the Brie lacked depth of flavor. The potatoes, on the other hand were crusty on the outside and soft in the middle. Oh yes, the coffee was good, and server attentive without hovering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCAL L, Owner at Bonjour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you Craig for taking the time to review us and we appreciate your compliments and concerns. To explain to the TripAdvisor readers why you were surprised by the sweetness of the Champignon Omelet which is actually our most popular one, is that you probably missed the full description of it. It includes "caramelized" Crimini mushrooms and makes it a very surprising omelet in a good way. Our Hollandaise is made from scratch and not out of a can like most places, it includes egg yolk, melted butter, fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper and "Crème Fraiche" which can make it a little grainy but very smooth at the same time. I hope that answers your questions and again, thank you for your great review
Have a wonderful week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We stopped here for lunch on a Saturday and got a sandwich and a salad. Both were ok but the service was well below average. Customers were being rushed off and none of the servers were friendly.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PASCAL L, Owner at Bonjour Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you Alexandra for your review. We are sorry you didn't elaborate more about the "ok" sandwich and salad that you tried to help us improve if we have to. Also, not sure about "customers being rushed off"? something that is not part of our restaurant custom and that we have never heard of in the past 25 years
Have a great week

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonjour Cafe also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Bonjour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing