We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor refund policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor refund policy”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel was very very ungracious about rescheduling my stay. More than 24 hours ahead of time I contacted them and tried to reschedule. They said fine but they would charge me 100% of my rate. All sorts of hotels (regardless of posted "policy") would have accommodated me. I travel a lot, and have been so accommodated by many hotel chains. But this "Best Western" would not. Not so classy of them.
I will never stay here again. And I will tell my entire group (a club soccer team) not to book here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments. Unfortunately we do have to hold firm to our cancel or change policy when a request is made within the binding period. Please understand that as a hotel we guarantee to hold the room for you and will not sell it to anyone else, even if we are able to receive a higher price. In turn it is only fair that the guest guarantees to arrive for the room or give the hotel a fair opportunity to resell the room in case the guest cannot arrive. Our apologies for not being more flexible with your cancellation, but if there was no policy in place for reservations, there would not be a reason to book reservations or for us to guarantee you a room at the rate in which was agreed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    173
    48
    19
    18
See reviews for
195
260
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel has gorgeous garden decor outside, the rooms are spacious with a mini kitchen, and the ocean view is spectacular! The staff is extremely attentive. The beach is right across the street, and there are several restaurants within walking distance.

The Coast Highway is quite busy during the day, and the trains are right there (the whistle blows right in front of the hotel because there is a crossing nearby). It is a little annoying, but the view from the balcony makes it all worthwhile. I didn't notice the trains after about 10:30 at night.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I give this motel an average rating only because I didn't like the Dana Point location. The motel itself was awesome, but with the train whistle (yes, it's a bit annoying, not "quaint" like some have said) and PCH running right in front of the motel, I would've picked a motel elsewhere. The front desk staff was a 5. The beds, shower, TV, hot tub and cleanliness were all 5. If you don't mind the location, chose this motel. The location gets a zero from me.

Room Tip: Maybe the back side of the motel would be better for the noise in front. But then you wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for the high scoring on our rooms and customer service. The majority of our guests don't mind the train and some find it enjoyable, but we do understand that the whistle may not be that way for everyone. A crosswalk to the south of our hotel is the reason for the train whistle when traveling in that direction, fortunately we do not hear the small Amtrak when going north. We have been working very hard with the city and a safety device has recently been constructed. It is now in the process of creating a "silent zone" so the train may pass without tooting it's horn. Hopefully if you decide to return to our hotel in the future, the train will not affect your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just had a nice trip to Dana Point with my Mother. We usually stay at The Blue Lantern Inn which has been a favorite of ours for many years. This time we stayed at Dana Point Inn by the Sea for a change. We were not disappointed at all. Our room was beautiful ( #214 ) we had a beautiful view of the crashing waves and and lots of bird activity.The room has been recently redecorated and has a really comfy bed and a gorgeous shower with 11 spraying heads in it. ( Crazy, but true!)
The train tracks are just across the street, but somehow the train noise did not bother us at all, it just added to the fun of it
The location of the hotel is ideal for a beach walk, or short drive to San Clemente for some great restaurants and the pier. We dinned at Olemendis Mexican Restaurant just north of the hotel and the following day took in Del Mar Street in San Clemente, for shopping, strolling and a nice casual lunch.
The only down side I could find was the internet connection was not good from our room and the continental breakfast was nothing special, however these things can easily be overlooked as the room itself was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly redecorated one. oceanfront, with balconey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Libby V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our latest addition to guest rooms which was completed not long before your stay. The beds we use throughout our hotel are Sealy Memory Foam Pillow Top mattresses and have been praised for their comfort, so we are happy to hear that you slept comfortably and enjoyed our small Coastliner trains that pass during the day.

The shower is what we call our "Ultimate Shower Experience." As you step in, gorgeous stone/ tile treatments surround you as our 10 adjustable body spray begin to sooth and the gentle overhead rain washes away the stress that was left from the day.

Wired internet was available in your room during your time of stay and we are currently installing wireless access points to provide better coverage throughout the hotel. A hot breakfast will also take the place of the continental the next time you are in town to enjoy our hotel. Thank you again for being a valued guest and we appreciate your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My son and his wife live in the area and we were in town to take care of some family business, last minute. I called this hotel receiving excellent service from the front desk quickly making arrangements for our one night stay.

The exterior areas are beautiful and the rooms have recently been updated with granite in the kitchenette area as well as the bath. More importantly, the beds have the pillow top mattress which makes for a very good nights sleep. Even though the hotel is on the opposite side of the coast highway I still heard the waves crashing, which is a plus for me. The train tracks are also across the street but being from a small northern California town I loved hearing the trains pass by. I must note that they do NOT run all night so for those that don't find that a positive I'd give this hotel a try.

We will return, and hopefully next time will be for pleasure.

Room Tip: Double queen on the 2nd floor over the office provided a nice partial ocean view and was very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilagaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.2 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
12.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea

Property: Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price range (per night): RM641 - RM1,448
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing