We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
595
295
135
81
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
295
135
81
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feemini cupcakesbeautiful propertybusiness meetinglobby barsan diegoview of the oceanshort walk to the beachvalet staffoutdoor patiotrain tracksshops and restaurantsfire pitrace trackspaweddingfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Great place, great location and great staff. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We had a really good stay. Easy access to the beach for surfers like us. The location is perfect. Walk to everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDM, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We are so happy you had a great vacation and were able to get some good surf in. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

My girlfriend and I chose to stay a night at the L'Auberge for the final night of our San Diego vacation, after a few days at Dana Point. What an amazing location and relaxing environment to finish the trip on.. We both feared that this place might feel a little pretentious given the price and the location, but we were happily surprised at how welcoming and comfortable it was. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nthain481469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDM, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words - we look forward to welcoming you back when you are back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

My son was married this weekend at L'Auberge Del Mar and it was flawless!! The staff was amazing and extremely helpful, the hotel was beautiful and had an amazing view of the ocean! The accommodations were lovely and the food was excellent. I would recommend this venue highly for a vacation or a wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank priv122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDM, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Congratulations on your sons wedding! We are so pleased everything turned out perfectly and that you allowed us to be part of this very important day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I’ve stayed here 3 times, twice on business trips and most recently on vacation. I came back, so it’s pretty good, but maybe not for a vacation, The business trips had small rooms without a view. This time, got a room with a view, but it comes at a cost, to see a glimpse of the ocean, you also overlook the pool. The pool is very noisy, with loud music from morning until 10 at night. If you want to get the ocean breeze, you also get loud music late into the evening.

The pool isn’t crowded in the morning, opens at 9 but they didn’t bring towels out until 10ish. The pool isn’t that tranquil, it’s next to the hotel loading dock and all sorts of trucks are idling right next to the pool. The garbage truck is the worst- and well, smells like garbage which it compacts near the pool. After 11, it’s impossible to get a chair at the pool and not enjoyable if you are over 12 years old.

Check in was quick on my business trips, but too long this time. There were three people behind the desk but they were all helping one guest ignoring the line of 6-7.

There’s no question it’s somewhat elegant. The nearby shops and restaurants are just across the street. But, with a crowded pool and a long walk across a parking lot and train tracks to get to the beach, I’d consider somewhere else for my next vacation.

It’s tough to compare, but the Montage in laguana beach is a little more expensive but much quieter, with larger pools and right on the ocean. However, it doesn’t have much within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GuavaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDM, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit with us! Your feedback and comments are incredibly valuable and important to us.

We appreciate your positive comments and will share with the entire team. We also appreciate your feedback where you feel we have the opportunity for improvement. Summers do get busy here, we hope that you can come back and visit us during the year so you can get the true experience of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent choice! Not far from downtown San Diego. Excellent food and entertainment choices nearby including their own restaurant. Steps away from the beach and Seagrove Park. This place instantly became my favorite place in San Diego (and I tried a few already) Rooms were clean and beds were extremely comfy. The whole place has a very warm smell that sticks with you. Most of all impressed with the Guest Services personnel, very quick, personable and helpful. They really made our stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank suckerfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAubergeDM, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking time to let us know, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews