We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B and accommodation - less than perfect experience”
Review of Tin Lizzie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tin Lizzie Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Fish Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

It has taken me a while to write this review as we had such high hopes for our stay at the Tin Lizzie but we left with very mixed feelings. Firstly let me say the accommodation is gorgeous - we stayed in the Tin Lizzie Suite. Huge room with lovely furniture, a very comfortable bed, quality linens and towels and a large bathroom. My daughter had a little room off our main room and she loved it. We enjoyed sitting on the upper balcony in the afternoons. I could not fault the overall accommodation at all. However, we arrived expecting to be greeted by the owners as they had communicated with us prior to our arrival. We were disappointed to find out that the person who greeted us was not the owner, he indicated the owners had been called away suddenly. We entered the house and it looked like no one was home - not one light was on, the kitchen was dark and empty. It looked like these new people had literally just arrived. A very cold reception. The man who greeted us took us to our room and tried as best as possible to show us how to use everything but he stumbled around trying to find light switches. Our breakfasts were not to our taste at all. Breakfast burritos and waffles. We would have preferred some toast and tea. My daughter struggled to eat anything. No special treats on our return. It was quite disappointing. One of the reasons we chose to stay at the Tin Lizzie was the excitement of seeing the original cars. We ended up asking and the gentleman kindly opened the garage and showed us the cars but we never got to ride in one. So sadly it was not the special experience we were hoping for.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We had a wonderful time at is enchanting B&B. Our hosts and the owners, Sherin and David, were lovely and very accomodating. We have stayed in many B&B's but none as beautiful as this one. They thought of everything, even a fun ride in an old Model T Ford. The location was perfect and we had access to the park and a number of good restaurants. We only wish we had more time to stay at this enchanting home.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adrienne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Tin Lizzie Inn for our Anniversary two days ago. We stayed in the 'Cottage' and it was likely the cutest place my wife and I have ever stayed (and we're world travelers so that's saying something). The layout of the cottage is so fun, the bottom story is a little sitting room with a small TV and a bunch of historical Yosemite books and it has a coffee maker and small table to sit at and read. The upstairs is really romantic, with a big curtain-framed bathtub open to the room and warm reading lights above the bed. The room is so cozy it basically demands that you lay there for hours reading books and napping.

My wife was also surprised that I slept in to 8:30 on the bed it was so comfortable. I usually struggle sleeping past 6am in most beds.

There are menus to all the local resturants in both the main house and in the cottage as well which are really helpful in deciding on where to go and what to eat. The hosts were also very helpful in giving us advice and directions. We ended up going to bass lake and gourging ourselves on home made burgers and tacos (high recommend Ducey's by the lake).

We got back from dinner and there were cookies waiting for us on the sitting-room table. This was a nice treat as we were craving a snack on the drive home and they perfectly fit the mood.

All in all a wonderful stay, would recommend to anyone desiring a quiet, romantic, and peaceful stay up in Yosemite.

Room Tip: The cottage is amazing. I'm sure the suite is too but don't be scared off if the suite is bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This was a beautiful looking house in a lovely quiet spot about an hour from the centre of Yosemite. David was an absolute gem, very interesting and full of knowledge with a real passion for his model T Ford which he gave us a wonderful drive in. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple at all and they were very helpful and welcoming.

However we most likely would not stay again as the room we had was small and very warm indeed with only a double bed. Because we couldn't bear the noise of the Aircon which was exceptionally loud and intrusive we didn't sleep well. The bath and shower are actually in the bedroom just curtained off which wasn't ideal. The breakfast we had on the first morning was awful – 3 courses of sweet stuff all topped off with canned squirty cream! On asking them if we could have something plainer such as cereal and eggs/toast the next morning they happily obliged but we did get another 'special' sweet offering with the ubiquitous squirty cream to start. The breakfast room was playing some awful 'funeral parlour' type music in the background which was just dire and you felt like you had to whisper in reverence!

All in all, we couldn't fault the hospitality but it's not really for us especially given the premium rates paid.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Based on the past reviews my expectations for this Inn were very high. We were not disappointed. The Inn is beautiful and our hosts couldn't have done any more to make our trip fantastic. The room we stayed in had every amenity I could think of and every morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast. Our hosts David and Sheron were charming. If you plan early you might be lucky enough to get a reservation.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite is huge with a private porch, a sitting area with fireplace and a luxurious bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheran W, Owner at Tin Lizzie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again when ythe out visit Yosemite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Camp
30.7 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
30.1 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
15.6 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,225 reviews
0.6 km away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
0.5 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Lizzie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Lizzie Inn

Address: 7730 Laurel Way, Fish Camp, CA 93623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Fish Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Camp
Price Range: RM1,331 - RM1,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Lizzie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just 2 miles from southern entrance to Yosemite National Park. A beautiful luxury Victorian Inn built in 2006 but with original lighting, hardware and to much to mention. The suite is the entire second floor with a fireplace, balcony, bathroom is 14x14 ft. with a slipper tub and walk-in shower with 6 body sprays. It also has an attached twin sleeping room for additional guest. Our cottage is cozy and lovely with a queen bed upstairs and living area on first floor. It has a shower/tub, one of our favorite rooms. Visit our webpage for more details and contact information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tin Lizzie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing