We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL AND RELAXING STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This is an older property but offers many amenities to weary travelers. This is a very clean and well run hotel. The front desk could not have offered better service. The room was CLEAN, the bed was truly one of the most comfortable that I have experienced in a hotel. Beautiful indoor pool and hot tub, fun and energetic bar onsite, multiple restaurants. Convenient and well-lit parking, easy to get to location surrounded by many restaurants, gas stations, and banks.

My only disappointment was that we could not stay longer! Excellent job IHG!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a presidential suite and everything was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank az680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Check in was seamless and my membership level was recognized fast.
Hotel decor ( being in the us) was fairly good, but nothing compared to European light and modern style.
Service was very good and very friendly and attentive.
Bar area and restaurant was good and effecient with good food choices.
Strange thing was that I was send to a seperate hotel tower for my room and this tower had no security.
Everybody could walk in from the street and enter the lifts with no problems. Then all could walk on all floors if needed.
The so-called lounge was a joke.
The breakfast in the regular restaurant was far better and mo varied. So opt for that if need be.
I will probably stay here again, but competition from many other hotels in the area makes it hard to decide.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear johan M,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo and for sharing your impressions with us.

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations regarding our lounge area and the security in the separate hotel tower. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I sincerely apologize for the experience. On the other hand I am glad that our breakfast, your check in experience and our service was still appreciated.

I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments!

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

So... the bed was super comfortable and after I moved from the room on the freeway it was quiet BUT it didn’t seem overly clean, the temperature was either too hot or too cold, staff weren’t particularly friendly. I requested express checked out and a wake up call at 3:45 am ... luckily I set my alarm as no one called and my room invoice not put through my door. Reception said “yeah we had less staff on”
.... oh that’s ok then... not!!!
After staying at several crown plaza and them all being this standard I knew what to expect but it’s still a shame at more than $250 a night this is not what you would expect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank micilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi micilou,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. While we are glad that you were pleased with the bed's level of comfort including our location serving its purpose for your travel needs, it is regrettable that the level of service rendered by our hotel staff members may have fallen below your expectations. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Rest assured, we take our guest's comments very seriously and always strive to provide a wonderful stay. I have faith in our hotel that they will continue to do their best to improve our amenities and services.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. I truly hope that we will have a chance to make it up to you and provide you with a better stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Alvin M.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Room stinks of stale smoke. Windows don't open. Carpet is dirty and section of it wet. Overall, hotel is dated and seedy - apparently it's also a nightclub. Got my wake up call two hours earlier than what was requested.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank travelbizpersonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear travelbizpersonal,

We appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay.

We are very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service your have received. I apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies.

I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again.

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The food is ok, the usual breakfast hotel. What I like is the added kit for those who travelled long distance, they gave this pain relief/spa moisturizers to soothe aching muscles. Although it would have been a 5 if they have complimentary water. :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank FHAtienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.4 km away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.2 km away
TownePlace Suites San Mateo Foster City
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
2.3 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.5 km away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404-1173
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Foster City
Price Range: RM555 - RM1,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Foster City-San Mateo is the leading event destination with16,000 square feet of meeting space on the San Francisco Peninsula. Designed with a sky-lit atrium and innovative services for business and vacation, our Foster City hotel features contemporary-styled rooms and suites with luxury bedding, refrigerators, 37'' HDTVs and our Sleep Advantage Program. Enjoy lifestyle conveniences like our business center, complimentary Wi-Fi, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and free shuttle to SFO. Savor California and Asian cuisine at our relaxing restaurants, including Café Florian and Toyko Village, and enjoy cocktails and nightlife at Clubhouse Bistro and the Chit Chat Lounge. Just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport, we are minutes of Silicon Valley businesses and Bay Area attractions, golf courses, shopping centers and scenic coastal trails. We're less than 30 minutes from San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Union Square and AT& T Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing