We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best horseback riding experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goleta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Circle Bar B Guest Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Goleta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

If you want to feel a world away, this is the place for you. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff to the horseback riding are top notch. You can feel like a cowboy riding up the back paths in the mountains, through creeks and trails all the way up to have an incredible view of the ocean and channel islands. You can bet I will be back again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank cmclain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My friend and I did a Saturday half day ride with Randy and Colby and a group of 7 others. All the wranglers were very professional and attentive to each rider's riding level and needs. The trail was sunny and steep going up, with lots of awesome vistas and stories by Randy. We stopped half way in the shade with water and snacks provided. The trip back was hotter so bring lots of sunscreen, hat, close toed shoes, and long pants. Horses were appropriate for skill level, especially the novice riders. It made me feel very comfortable during the steep parts of the descent.

We would recommend this ranch to anyone, and make sure you're honest about your riding level so they can help you appropriately.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RHealy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Walk around the grounds between the weathered buildings and you'll expect to bump into a Young Gene Autry and the Sons of the Pioneers harmonizing on Don't Fence Me In.

The Ranch is about 1 1/2 hours north of LA 3.5 miles up from Refugio Beach. There's a nice pool and spa (like the one you have at home). The wee ones can do Cannonballs all day there, or go the Rec Room and wreck it playing Foosball, Ping Pong and Pool while you gear down and realize that you will have to deal with your anxiety as there is no cell service.

Of course there is a stable (which is an extra cost and with no mounting block). But here you can escape the wee ones, or take them if you must. Take a ride without feeling you've been taken for a ride. The horses know their job and the scenery worth the effort.

There are plenty of places to stroll, soak the solitude and just be a solo dude if you wish.

The meals are all provided and served family.style with seating assigned. Hmmm.

Any/all booze is on you and only available from the Bar as you are forbidden from bringing your own. (A good business model but is it camper friendly?)

The breakfast Buffet is served to you promptly at 8:30. So, if you've booked a half day ride that leaves the barn promptly at 9:00 it's gulp and go. Lunch is a make your own deal. Pick form a basic list the night before. You get one of two sandwiches. Big deal.

Dinner is also a Buffet served at the stroke of 7:00 PM. Seats are assigned for this too so put on your vacation smiley face.

All in all the food is basic and less than memorable.

Is this cowboy fantasy camp? Nope, pardner, it ain't. But it provides a few days of relaxed peace and quiet until you start to anxious about the stuff piling up at home.

Room Tip: Room 15 was away form the melee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We went with our kids and loved every minute. The food was awesome and the cabin just what we needed. The property is impeccable and the staff friendly. Great hiking and tail rides as well. The ranch Cowboys were knowledgeable and great w the kids. The entire area is wonderful and worth spending some time there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We had a group of about 25 for a family reunion. The accommodations were great with plenty of activities and clean, charming rooms/cabins. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. We really enjoyed the horse-back riding (we had about 20 of us go out in 2 groups and took the 1.5 hour ride). I had my 9 & 11 year old daughters come along too and they really enjoyed it. (I was a bit concerned at first as I thought that might be too young, but they were fine). The horses seemed like they were well trained and the guides were excellent. It is a bit expensive, but we felt overall it was worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
11.4 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
818 reviews
34.8 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
16.6 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
11.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
20.3 km away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle Bar B Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle Bar B Guest Ranch

Address: 1800 Refugio Canyon Road, Goleta, CA 93117
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goleta
Price Range: RM1,040 - RM3,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, recharge, and unwind at the Circle Bar B Guest Ranch! We are an 18 room and cabin guest ranch located on 1100 acres of breathtaking coastal, mountain property just 30 minutes north of Santa Barbara, California. All of your meals are included in your rate, and our chef is fantastic! Circle Bar B Guest Ranch is the perfect location for your dream wedding, a relaxing vacation, or your next special event. Overnight guests have access to our pool/Jacuzzi, game room (ping-pong, Foosball, billiards), TV lounge, horseshoe pits, scenic hiking trails, and main lodge with full bar, free Wi-Fi, and library. Additions to your stay can include horseback riding, weekend seasonal dinner theatre, and mobile in-room spa services. Horseback riding and dinner theatre are open to the public. Mosey on up and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle Bar b Guest Ranch Hotel Goleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing