We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couples Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This is the second time here since it opened and like the first trip it was a little overnight getaway for my wife and I. What we love is that this is a new hotel, very hip and contemporary with a clean, cool, and relaxing feel. Definitely has a European vibe and is unique...not your average US hotel. Service here has been top notch both stays. Chris helped us last stay and prior to this visit I spoke with Chris again and he was able to reserve the type of room we requested which is always appreciated, thank You! We arrived prior to check in time and our room was not ready so we spent an hour relaxing by the pool which is very nice. We got to our room and it was clean and perfect for an overnight. The room we were assigned (with balcony) is not large but it works very well as there is everything you need and a place for everything. Some guests may not like the shower and toilet areas as there is not quite as much privacy as some may prefer. You can check out the pictures on the hotel website to get a better idea but in essence the shower door opens into the room as does the toilet area door, both of which have opaque glass doors which give limited visual and sound privacy. Depending on whom you are with and your comfort level with each other could make this hotel less than ideal. A minor negative; the bath fan is a touch louder than I like and there is no way to turn it off as I tried every switch I could find to no avail. The bed was very comfortable and the view overlooking the pool and the shopping across the street is quite nice. I think one of the key factors that brought us back to this hotel is the location. With a convenient walk across the street to some very good restaurant choices such as North Italia, Houston’s, Ruth Chris, and Starbucks along with some other budget friendly food options. While this is not a luxury hotel as a couples getaway this works perfect for us...check in, relax a bit, stroll across the street for some drinks and dinner, wrap up with coffee and enjoy our room from then on and never have to get in the car after arriving at the hotel. I highly recommend a stay here especially for a convenient, romantic overnight getaway! Thanks again to the AC staff, Blessings!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Frank M,

The highest compliment we can receive is your repeat business. Thank you! Chris is such a key member of our team, its great he connected with you on both stays. He is a fantastic ambassador of our brand and hotel and we will celebrate this review with him.

As you pointed out the balcony room has a studio configuration we have six of these rooms in total, the balcony makes for a great place to get fresh air however the layout may not appeal to all. The rest of our inventory are traditional in layout with separate bathroom and bedroom areas but still modern in look and feel.

We have seen many couples use our hotel for a "Date Night" due to our location to top dining as you can check in, find a great restaurant, even hit the local hiking trail to the bird sanctuary.

We appreciate your business and are so happy you enjoyed a special night with you wife, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

¡Salud!

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very new and modern looking. The bedroom is very clean and big, and same as the bathroom. But the internet is horrible, it's impossible to get the signal. When I called the front desk the answer was "we have signal in the lobby, you are welcome to come down here!"
Even thought it's affiliate with Marriott hotel but they do not honor any of the benefit, as a gold member, we suppose to get 2 free breakfast when free breakfast is not available. They said they can't offer that because they are not Marriott.
The parking is a parking deck behind the hotel totally not connected, we had to carry our luggage all the way to the parking garage and they charge daily fee for it. I don't think I will stay here again and would not recommend it either!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank AHSU18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

AHSU18,

I am comforted you found our hotel Modern and the rooms large and clean. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay overall and will not chose to stay with us again. We have some many guests that have loved their experience and we are sorry we created friction during yours.

We have very robust internet in the hotel and would like to identify the room you stayed in so we can ask our IT team to investigate the issues- my office number is 949-471-8712 My team should shave documented this but we have nothing in our records and would like to follow up. Also as a value Gold member we offer a $10 beverage and food credit upon check in. You can apply this to our European Breakfast or a tasty craft cocktail in the bar. I am sorry if the expectation was for breakfast to be included, however this is our offering for valued Gold members.

We do have a covered parking structure available for our guests and suggest using the 15 minute parking spaces in front of the hotel, check in, and then park in the covered community parking structure. I am sorry we did not advise you of this.

Paul Maddison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

5 stars to Devin at the front desk. Very professional and very prompt. We had a few special requests for our stay and he went above and beyond our expectations. We can't thank him enough. Construction all around area.. traffic.. but his commitment to us was 5 stars and deserves the highest compliment. Thank you big time Devin for making sure our room was reserved and ready ahead of time. Myself and my wife couldn't feel more welcomed when we arrived. You are top notch.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Travwhite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Travwhite21,

We are big fans of Devin as well, he is such a great associate and is a key member of our front office team. We think hes top notch also!

We will celebrate this recognition with him,

Thank you for the feedback,

¡Salud!
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

My family and I recently spent the weekend here and have found our new favorite in Irvine! The entire hotel is modern, lively, and warm. The beds are perhaps the most comfortable of any hotel in which I've stayed. Great dining options a few steps away as we ate at North Italia, Wahoos, and Panini Grill during our stay. Particular thanks to Claire and Devin, who both went above and beyond for us throughout our stay. See you again soon!

Room Tip: Any room is great, although best city/sunset views off the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruin4life93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

bruin4life93,

We are so excited to be your new favorite in Irvine. In a landscape of traditional hotels we are glad you connected with our brand. There are so many dining options its so hard to choose! Our front desk associates Claire and Devin know all the best spots to visit while you are here.

We look forward to seeing you again,

¡Salud!

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Hotel is in a great location with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms have a European flare with hardwood floors, comfortable beds, great amenities, cold refrigerators, and Italian coffee packets. The staff is also very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We had exceptional customer service from Claire at the front desk. She checked us in quickly and efficiently, always smiled and acknowledged us when we entered the hotel, and truly made us feel welcome. We will definitely visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing the business park are quieter than the city view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

lovetotravel693,

So pleased you found the AC rooms so enjoyable; our European styling looks to strip away the unnecessary to allow you to focus on the things that matter most. Claire is so wonderful and always projects our key values and her genuine care to ensure you have a great stay is evident in her smile.

¡Salud!
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
2.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
0.8 km away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 23 in Irvine
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 23 in Irvine
620 reviews
8.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
1.2 km away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine

Address: 3309 Michelson Drive, Irvine, CA 92612
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: RM441 - RM1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Park Place – Irvine’s most affluent live, stay, play and work campus, AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine immerses you in the local experience through its art, contemporary style and relaxed atmosphere. Our Irvine, California hotel features 176 tastefully appointed, spacious guest rooms, intuitive service, and a variety of stellar dining options to help you make the most of your stay. Wake up to a beautiful breakfast spread in our AC Kitchen then reflect on a successful day in our AC Lounge with tapas-inspired small plates and handcrafted cocktails. At AC Hotel Irvine, our guests appreciate that they get everything they need without paying for what they don’t. Connect and network in the AC Library, maintain your workout routine at our cutting-edge fitness center, or take a swim in our heated pool. Stay with us and enjoy a perfect location moments from Irvine Spectrum and South Coast Plaza shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing