We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We recently attended CITD and stayed on the property this year. While the rooms are very basic they provide everything needed. They have a unique Frank Lloyd Wright design which features a very small bathroom and unique angles. We had 2 twin beds that were comfortable. The AC worked very well and we enjoyed the small patio overlooking the park. No wifi but didn't need it at CITD. It can be challenging to find power outlets for tablets, phones, etc but overall we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jim1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

We had the pleasure of speaking at Contact In the Desert.
The architecture is by Frank Lloyd Wright which brings its own unique quality. The landscaping, natural rolling pathways, fountains and vistas are remarkable. They offer a wide variety of opportunities to stay from primitive camping to well equipped casitas. Keep in mind that the emphasis of your stay is on simple beauty and well being, so there are not many intrusive distractions, the rooms are not equipped with phones or televisions which is delightful. Should you decide to dine, the food is exceptional. Good clean, wholesome food offering a nice selection of vegetarian and meat items. Quality.

Room Tip: If your needs are minimal, camping might be your ticket, while if you prefer a bed, shower, etc. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We went to the Sat Nam Fest (a kundalini yoga festival) here. We camped. The camping is in the desert, no shade or protection from the elements, maybe a 1/4 mile downhill from the buildings. They had clean port-o-potties set up, but I did not see any permanent toilets The shower building is in the far west corner of the camping area, you might want to find the shower building before you set up camp because it can be a long walk otherwise. There are no electrical outlets nor mirrors in the shower facility, and it is in the more rugged style of camping showers. I did have hot water though. The food was awesome, and the property has a lot of little paths and benches with reflection/meditation areas. The paths are all sand, sometimes deep sand, and I didn't enjoy wearing flip flops. There are also lots of sharp desert plants, so sturdy footwear is a must. I didn't deal with the retreat staff, just the Sat Nam volunteers. The weather here is harsh, very hot, arid, and windy, with very little protection. We brought a black light flashlight and found a scorpion on the road; only 1, and we were looking for days. We camped next to a shooting cactus (shoots it needles if it is disturbed). Interesting place to see but I have no desire to go back ever again.

As for the Sat Nam Fest (I was only moderately familiar with kundalini before I went), I found it too "self-help-ish" for my personal taste. It might be better if you are actively dealing with addiction or some issue. I thought a lot of the participants were persnickety especially if you accidently touch their yoga mat or pillows. I felt like an infidel became we don't dress in white with white hats. My kids (age10 &12) went to the kids camp and loved it. They swam, hiked, did a little yoga learned some mudras and learned about the desert landscape. Kids camp staff were caring and engaged. The sound system was excellent as was the music. Luckily. I found plenty of Vinyasa and Hatha yoga to entertain myself.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank juliesU5320FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is an amazingly spiritual place - picture a vortex like Sedona.
Large group rooms that are perfect for sacred ceremonies and meditation. It was built for that purpose.
Very dark skies -- perfect for stargazing. Has a fantastic spiritual bookstore and gift shop that is a must visit in its own right.
Love the vision and history of this place and the people are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms themselves are very old and in serious need of updating. But they are warm, have hot water and if you are not expecting normal hotel / b and b amenities and want to get very "stripped down" this can work. Think of it as a step up from camping and not a true "hotel" and your expectations will be set about right.
The place is a historic gem.. the architecture is fascinating and the whole history of the place is phenomenal. I believe it is a non profit - a very good cause.
The food that was prepared for our group was all vegetarian and delicious.
Stayed in one of the Ridge rooms. You can hear noise from the highway but ear plugs will totally eliminate it.
For groups looking for something very spiritual and unique with a great history and vibe that is quite affordable, this can work for you.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The venue was perfect. The speakers were amazing. Will be going back next year. Enjoyed the evening events. Venue was super clean. the staff was professional and friendly. The water stations were great.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
22.7 km away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
321 reviews
6.8 km away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.6 km away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
285 reviews
3.1 km away
High Desert Motel
High Desert Motel
#2 of 3 in Joshua Tree
199 reviews
4.4 km away
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics

Address: 59700 20 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Joshua Tree
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joshua Tree Retreat Center offers personal and group retreats. The Retreat Center buildings were designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and son Lloyd Wright. This 420 acre retreat features a swimming pool, heated pool, Jacuzzi, fire pit, campground. We offer a wide range of accommodations to suit all tastes and budgets: one bedroom apartments, studios, cottages and a 10 bedroom house with fireplace and private pool. Contact us about the availability of our highly rated food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing