We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere: Indoor & outdoor seating. Service: excellent. Food: very good.”
Review of Piatti

Piatti
Ranked #11 of 861 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: La Jolla Shores Drive
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I haven't been back here since 2018, though my friend who visits his 89 yr. old mother with a walker frequents this place because the mom loves the food. I had made 5:00 p.m. reservations way in advance to dine here 2 times requesting the mothers favorite spot: outside by the big tree.

First visit, we arrived at 4:55. We were told that the table was just clearing out. 5:10, we were told the people still have not left. 5:20, again we were told that they are slowly getting up and that we could sit inside or on the street patio, and the 89 year old mom wanted her table. 5:30, finally we were seated, no management apologies, no complimentary round of drinks for the inconvenience of an 89 year old women waiting with a walker. Business management should either post a time frame limit (which I've seen) to your customers or don't take overlapping reservations.

Second visit, again we arrived at 4:55 and yes, this time our table was ready.

Both visits, the cocktails, food and service from both Laura and Alex was excellent. FYI they make excellent Cosmos. Food ordered: Beef Carpaccio, Burrata Salad, Veal Picatta, Mushroom Rotolo, Spaghetti & Meatballs, Lasagna and Pei mussels. All the dishes came out hot, fresh and tasting great!

Atmosphere: Indoor and outdoor seating. Service: excellent. Food: very good. Just don't make your customers wait 1/2 hour for their reservation.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank akdeepdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2021

Do not even bother to try to visit this Restaurant. The crowd and street parking was so bad that it would have taken us over an hour to walk from the car to this restaurant. Recommend avoiding this wholde mess on the weekend.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank PhilS85622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

The food is so-so, at best. Service is OK, but not especially warm. Definitely, NOT good value for your money. The fact that we were asked to free our table before we had finished our meal is outrageous. The above evidences two facts: 1. Poor table management; and 2. Dollars and cents are more important than satisfied customers. Piatti doesn't realize they are in the "hospitality" business.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SpeedyPonchales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Sat outdoors to enjoy people watching on this pedestrian-only section of La Jolla Village. We got excellent recommendations from our waiter and enjoyed our dishes which were served hot and delicious. Choose their private outdoor garden for a more intimate dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Adnan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner at Piatti's on Tuesday night. The restaurant's local cabernet was quite tasty. Our appetizer was calamari, shrimp and asparagus, and was very tasty. My friend and I shared the pappardelle with shrimp. The sauce was amazing and so delicious.
All in all, we would return to this restaurant every time we go to La Jolla.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Riva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Piatti also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Piatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.