We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good”

NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,245 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: At NINE-TEN, guests will enjoy the unique seasonal style of “Evolving California Cuisine” with menus dictated by the local harvest. The menu is created daily to take advantage of fresh products discovered during daily excursions to local artisan providers including Crow’s Pass and Chino Farms. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. The restaurant interior is casually elegant with sidewalk tables on Prospect Street where people-watching becomes a pastime. Al fresco dining is offered on an outdoor terrace. Inside, the warm ambiance is enhanced with rich mahogany wood accents throughout the narrow, high-ceiling dining room. The service is enthusiastic and spirited, while gracious and unassuming. The staff is exceptionally well trained and educated on the food and preparation methods, as well as wine selections and pairings.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Though I have lived in La Jolla for 4 decades I had never been to this restaurant. My wife got us reservations during restaurant week. We went with several friends. Extremely nice atmosphere and very, very, good food. Excellent waiters and table staff. A very pleasant experience, well worth going again. Wonderful atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Papafish92037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Papafish92037: Well as they say, "better late than never!" Delighted to hear that after so many years, you finally had the opportunity to dine with us. And I am even more pleased to hear how pleasantly surprised you were with the overall experience. I will be sure to share all of your comments with our team. And we do expect to see you back soon and often! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. See you soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Possibly the best meal of our entire 2 week stay in CA. Superb meats and deserts. Put nearby Dukes to shame yet the bill was pretty much the same. Not the best environment and no sea views but you come here for the food.

Thank jackal2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear jackal2513: I am so grateful for receiving such positive feedback about your recent dining experience at NINE-TEN. To be considered your "best meal" in California is truly an honor and I will be sure to share your comments with the entire kitchen and service team. Should your travels bring you back to La Jolla in the future, I hope you will pay us another visit. We do have an outdoor dining area on our back terrace that does have some views to the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We only had breakfast here. Service and food were good. Quiet, clean, staff efficient. We had oatmeal and eggs

Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear LaliBird: Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent visit for breakfast. We are pleased to hear that your experience was memorable, and we hope you will have the chance to dine with us again the next time you are in La Jolla. Until then, thank you again. Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Had lunch, breakfast and drinks in the Restaurant. Both the lunch and the breakfast was good - (service and quality) but Happy Hour was marred by indifferent service - perhaps too busy?

Thank inviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Inviso: Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent experiences visiting NINE-TEN Restaurant. While I am delighted that you had the chance to experience so many of our meal periods and that you found most to be a good experience, I do apologize about the service you received during happy hour. I will be sure to follow up immediately to ensure we are property staffed during this popular time. I do hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Collectively the food, the staff, and the ambiance were tremendous. Second time and would return again.

Thank Jayvee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeColonial, General Manager at NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you, Jayvee, for taking the time to post feedback about your recent (and second) dining experience at NINE-TEN. We hope you enjoyed the new decor, which we unveiled this past fall. We appreciate very much your continued support and loyalty and look forward to having you back for your third visit. Until then, Happy New Year! Terrence Underwood, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to NINE-TEN Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing