We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rehearsal Dinner”

Morgan's in the Desert
Ranked #5 of 131 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Morgan’s in the desert is La Quinta’s signature dining venue showcasing contemporary American cuisine inspired by the bounty of the Coachella Valley. The restaurant’s local focus includes sourcing the top of the region’s products, crafted with traditional cooking methods to offer deliciously simple and healthful dishes. Join us at the piano bar, in the dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Gather round.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our son's rehearsal dinner at Morgan's patio. The staff was excellent in the preparation, setting up the tables as we asked and handling everything. The food was excellent, especially the tenderloin as the serving was almost too much to eat and of fantastic quality. We also served the halibut - which was also good, but described by some as "too healthy".

Thank peteherzog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineS2679, Manager at Morgan's in the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Peteherzog71,

It is our sincere pleasure to have been a small part in such a momentous occasion. I am thrilled that all aspects exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to taking great care of you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Poe Snyder, Director of Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

If you are staying at La Quinta Resort, Morgan's is the high-end, on-property restaurant making it convenient especially after a couple of hours in the car on a Friday night. I would strongly recommend, however, that you eat at one of the other restaurants on-property and this is why:

The Good: The service is terrific, as is the wine and wine list. Again, the location on-property is convenient and even the ambiance is lovely. But the most critical element is woefully underwhelming--the food.

The Bad: Every item we ordered was horrible. Not mediocre. Not OK. Not just fine. But almost inedible. In an effort at full disclosure, the items we ordered and problems follow: tuna tartar was bland; beef carpaccio was tasteless and served with mayonnaise dollops that ruined the remainder; creamed corn was bland and the corn was under cooked; halibut was dry and tasteless; and finally the steak was nothing short of an old piece of leather that I left on my plate. Granted, i expected the price to be high, but i was absolutely shocked at the kitchen failures hosted on their menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DannyK_LANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineS2679, Manager at Morgan's in the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear DannyK_LANY,

I appreciate you taking a moment to provide your feedback. It is the goal of all of us at Morgan's in the desert to provide our guests with exceptional experiences. Regrettably, your visit was not up to that standard, and for that I offer you a personal apology. Your comments will be reviewed by our leadership so that we can address issues and improve upon processes to ensure that guests always enjoy a true Waldorf Astoria dining experience.

Kind Regards,
Paul Carter, Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Had appetizers and wine in the piano bar and it was fabulous!
The flat bread is a must! Our waitress was exceptional and the whole experience was wonderful!

Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineS2679, Manager at Morgan's in the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Shirley E,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your evening and felt well taken care of. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,
Paul Carter, Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

This place is the epitome of quality and service. The food is excellent and there isn’t a bad item on the menu. This place is old school service. There is a person assigned to the table just for crumbs. The atmosphere is perfect for any special occasion. It is a bit pricey, but worth the money when you want the perfect evening withthat someone specially.

Thank B60BQroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineS2679, Manager at Morgan's in the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for your feedback and even more so for being our guest. I am absolutely delighted that you found the perfect setting in Morgan's in the desert for your special evening, and that everything exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your welcome return.

Warm Regards,
Paul Carter, Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

My wife and I have been coming to the La Quinta Resort for several years but never had the opportunity to eat at Morgan's. It was my birthday weekend so we decided to give it a try. Wow, what good food and a good atmosphere! Our waiter, Parker, was top notch and had great suggestions on food/drinks. He even doubled as our photographer because my wife wants everything on Instagram or it never happened. Kudos for being patient Parker and making our night memorable. We will definitely be back soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ferrari458_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineS2679, Manager at Morgan's in the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Ferrari458_Cali,

The staff of La Quinta Resort & Club is privileged to have you and your family as our loyal guests. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special birthday weekend, and I look forward to sharing your kind comments with Parker. We look forward to taking great care of you in the years to come.

Sincerely,
Rafael Lopez, Director of Restaurants

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morgan's in the Desert also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Morgan's in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing