We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,294)
Filter reviews
7,297 results
Traveller rating
2,639
2,619
1,172
470
397
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,639
2,619
1,172
470
397
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engine room promenade cafe ghost tour queen mary self guided tour step back in time port holes chelsea chowder house beautiful ship dark harbor glory days piece of history wood paneling art deco tea room princess diana exhibit sir winstons
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 7,297 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This ship is poorly managed.

Despite the literature, they are trading on the fading glory of the name and provinence rather than actually providing a decent experience.

They have chosen to not fix the A/C systems to about 60 rooms, but to paint the ship instead - so currently there is absolutely no guarentee that you will actually get a room cool enough to sleep in. There are not enough fans to go round and the one we were provided with was filthy. Add to this that if you are not lucky enough to be assigned a room with a harbour view, the portal windows in your room when opened attract quite a bit of noise from the outside.

If there is a function going on, do not expect to get any sleep until the music is shutoff - this is despite having to sign a waver on checkin that you will keep quiet!

Be wary of the fact that this is a steel and wooden ship and when functions use music systems the entire ship gets hit with some noise - especially the closer to the centre you are (length wise).

If you are visiting the top of the range resturaunt here - Sir Winstons, although the food is good, the atmosphere is completely ruined from the thud, thud, thud of the bass from any music playing.

Parking fees have gone up by nearly double in 3 years currently $22 for self parking and $27 for valet.

Overall, if this place was managed well, it could be a fantastic location to experience old world charm.

Unfortunately, the management are only intent on extracting as much money as possible from you.

There is a $17 "facilities fee" (aka resort fee) - which lists completely pointless nonsence as to the reason for its existence - they should get rid of it completely - although - one item on the list of benefits is actually worthwhile:

"A portion of the facilities fee will be used for the restoration and preservation of the Queen Mary. "

Get rid of the "facilities fee" and call it a "restoration and preservation fee" either with no other benefit or maybe a restoration of the free audio self guided tour (which has been removed recently) - otherwise it just looks like a made up list of things to justify charging extra!

Like others have also said, despite the ships huge space, there is precious little open to the public - there are only 3 decks of hotel rooms and even then they dont use the full length of the boat.

On the plus side of things, the bed was super comfortable, the reception staff despite being overwhelmed with issues tried hard to help and it was nice to enjoy a little of the boat.

Room tip: Have hotel confirm they will put you in a room with working a/c
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LLG_sunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hello,
Thank you for staying aboard the Queen Mary and for taking the time to review your visit. We are sorry to hear of your negative experience with us. We will address your concerns accordingly with the appropriate departments, as we are always looking to better improve our guest services. We apologize you were not met with true Queen Mary hospitality and we hope you will join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I have been obsessed with the Queen Mary since early 2007. People in school would tease me saying they would burn or sink the Queen Mary. Over a decade later I love the Queen Mary the same and always will.

Room tip: I love you Queen Mary
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank steve1993326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Great place to stay we had 2 exec rooms. They are big , yes the decoration is a little tired but that part of its charm. Beds really comfortable , and although they warned about noise we heard nothing. Breakfast is buffet style and is reasonable price, overall really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hello,
Thank you for joining us aboard the Queen Mary! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to host you with true Queen Mary hospitality, as customer experience remains a top priority to us. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you aboard soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Literally everything is poorly marked. From where to park to where to go inside the ship to how to operated the shower! As expected just about every aspect of the ship is not just old but old and worn out.

Room tip: Make sure your room is NOT near the bow or the bar will keep you awake.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank D841MHandyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi,
Thank you for visiting the Queen Mary. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better improve our services. We will address your concerns accordingly, as customer satisfaction remains a top priority to us. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We got the deluxe harbor view room that had a seating area for two inside. I wished the the decor wasn’t wallpaper but was the beautiful wood finish. The staff was super accommodating and kind since I had asked to switch rooms to one that had a seating area. It’s also nice to be able to pay one fee for parking and go and où as many times as I’d like. First Class service.

Room tip: If you get the deluxe harbor view room, ask for one that has a seating area.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jrilesriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hello,
Thank you for staying with us aboard the Queen Mary. We are glad you enjoyed all our wonderful ship has to offer. We are pleased you were met with true Queen Mary hospitality as customer satisfaction remains a top priority to us. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews