We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very nice hotel, not a very nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The hostel was sort of fine for its purposes but it was not an overall good experience. Especially the fact that my booking was almost declined because I had some problems with my credit card (and couldn't pay the 50 dollar deposit by card). I offered to pay cash but this was impossible at first. Then, luckily, the woman offered to let me pay a 100 dollar deposit (crazy) in cash. When I asked why, it was because the rooms were shared (don't know why that would matter) and in case I would make the towels dirty. Seriously? I arrived in a room with one bunkbed but no other guests (which was nice, of course) and I ended up using my own towel.

I didn't like downtown LA much, but that was ok because I spent the day at the beach and it was close to the train station, where I had to be in the morning. For any longer vacation I would advise anyone to stay away from downtown LA.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 198 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, beautiful place, perfect staff, little bit better than your usual hostel. Rooms are clean. Good location for buses and metro. Downtown LA is now perfectly safe and welcoming. Next door, there's a fine foods organic restaurant (very cheap).

Stayed: November 2014
4  Thank Jovan Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

When I booked this hotel, all my friends that lives in LA said this will be a dangerous area. However, the streets and people near this hotel are very nice and friendly. This location is golden for its low price. the hotel is right in downtown, next to the 7th street metro station and only one stop away from Staples center/LA live. Highly recommended for backpackers.
And just a heads up, all the bathrooms/washrooms are shared in hallways like a dorm

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peng A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014 via mobile

I googled the Cecil Hotel (previous name of this hotel) before we booked here, so I was preparing for the worst! Notorious serial killers and the unfortunate/mysterious death of a girl in 2013 who died in the water tank...needless to say I wasn't the one who hit the 'confirm booking' button - that was my boyfriend as he decided it would be an 'experience.' After a 5 hour long greyhound ride from Vegas, I couldn't wait to get my head down.
The hotel entrance is actually really nice, the staff were very very helpful and friendly. For the 'full experience' we booked a room with a shared bathroom, but the girl at the check-in desk very kindly found us a room with a toilet in. This was my first experience ever of staying in a place where I didn't have my own bathroom. But the price was ridiculously low compared to other hotels in the area.
The room itself, very tiny and dated. But I didn't find any bugs in our two night stay which is good because they'd scare me more than the ghosts there!
The hotel is in a good and bad location. Good because you're close to everything - we went to the Staples Center and caught an LA Kings game. Bad because of the actual area itself - we arrived after dark and it's not an area you'd go wondering round alone.
Overall, I would take more money with me on my next American trip and stay somewhere else. It wasn't as bad as I expected it to be, but the actual room, the horror stories & my boyfriend taunting me telling me ghosts were wondering around in the room after I fell asleep - not really a place I'm going to miss...
But how could I expect more for the price we paid? The shared bathroom experience wasn't that bad either, I just stayed in my flip flops because I didn't want to touch the floor with my bare feet - probably my paranoia more than anything though!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Well. What can I say, the girlfriend was scared then place was haunted after reading the sordid past of this hotel, and despite staying on the fourth floor (room 440) where the ghost was sighted on the famous photo.. We did not see any hint of the paranormal, the area where the hotel is located is pretty central but is a short walk from the 'nice part' of downtown LA (figeroua) and on the walk there you will be hasseled numerous times by homeless folk with shopping trolleys and McDonald's cups asking for change, just either donate or politely decline and they are harmless. Staying in this hotel is a short walk from the staples centre and this allowed us to watch a LA Kings ice hockey match which I can thoroughly recommend.the rooms are basic but clean and the price is unbeatable for the location (right next to where the Greyhound dropped us off) so 5stars from me.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AddictiveX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
826 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#92 of 355 in Los Angeles
63 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 108 in Los Angeles
1,097 reviews
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 108 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM158 - RM594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing