We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I stayed with my friend in a twin room. We didn't have our own bathroom but the shared ones were very clean. We had breakfast which was very nice and extremely good value for money. I think we paid around £23 each which we think was very good value for money. The hotel is a distance from the center but no drama. We would stay again

Room Tip: you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LauraMalachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 195 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. It was a 10 minute walk to the venue. Right in the heart of downtown. Walking distance to clubs, restaurants and farmer's markets. The charm and beauty of the hotel are timeless. While the rooms are small, they served their purpose and met our needs. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking to "ball on a budget" while staying in DTLA

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tanika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

This hotel was much cheaper than the other LA hotels I saw online. And I guess you get what you pay for. The room was dark, smelly, gross and noisy, I didn't even want to take my shoes off. To be fair, we had booked one of the cheaper rooms, maybe the pricier ones are better. But the corridors were even worse, they stank like stale old cigarette smoke. The location was a bit of a ghetto too, it's in a shady area of Downtown. And the cab driver who took us back to the airport told us the hotel had been the scene of a series of spooky murders! They changed the name from The Cecil after the last incident which was in 2013, one of the guests went missing and was mysteriously found dead in the building's water tank. Google it! And what ever you do, don't drink the tap water.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
20  Thank WildArrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The hostel was sort of fine for its purposes but it was not an overall good experience. Especially the fact that my booking was almost declined because I had some problems with my credit card (and couldn't pay the 50 dollar deposit by card). I offered to pay cash but this was impossible at first. Then, luckily, the woman offered to let me pay a 100 dollar deposit (crazy) in cash. When I asked why, it was because the rooms were shared (don't know why that would matter) and in case I would make the towels dirty. Seriously? I arrived in a room with one bunkbed but no other guests (which was nice, of course) and I ended up using my own towel.

I didn't like downtown LA much, but that was ok because I spent the day at the beach and it was close to the train station, where I had to be in the morning. For any longer vacation I would advise anyone to stay away from downtown LA.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, beautiful place, perfect staff, little bit better than your usual hostel. Rooms are clean. Good location for buses and metro. Downtown LA is now perfectly safe and welcoming. Next door, there's a fine foods organic restaurant (very cheap).

Stayed: November 2014
4  Thank Jovan Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
830 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 109 in Los Angeles
1,097 reviews
Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
#12 of 109 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM158 - RM591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing