We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL CAN STILL YOUR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Staying in this hotel was like horrible adventure. There staff working there is really bad.
They ask you to pay 50$ deposit and promise you to return in order you don't break anything.
Than they say that money will come back to your credit card in 2 weeks.
And thaaaan, you get no money :)
Especially, if you are a tourist.
Never stay here if you don't want to be fooled

Room Tip: Location here is really bad, and downtown is not that safety
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Dima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

It has a creepy vibe because they found a dead body in the water tank a few years ago. It's a very old hotel. We picked this place because I had rewards points on my travel credit card.

We got a private room. No refrigerator of course. No frills. It was clean but the windows were locked shut. The reason that none of the windows in this establishment open is because back in the day there was a high number of suicides.
The bed was comfortable. It's what we needed for the weekend. The bathroom could use remodeling like a new paint job. There's a huge vent in the bathroom which is Pretty weird to me seeing as there is no switch for a vent...

Location wise it's in downtown. This place has plenty of bars, restaurants and stores within walking distance. I felt safe walking down the street late at night after an event at The Belasco. Don't expect any downtown to be glamorous. LA downtown is definitely nicer than San Francisco downtown.

I checked their prices and it doesn't seem like a good value for the money so I'm relieved that I didn't pay anything. Apparently this place is closed for two years for remodeling...let's hope that they shine the hotel up!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank coucoulouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Had a room with shared bathroom. Everything was clean but old. Okay for low budget tourism. Can reach everything with subway or bus. The firestation next to our window was a little bit loud during night, but you can cope with it

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Katrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I had stayed 2 nights with my friend at hotel part economic room.This hotel not real hotel because even the money it does not include bathroom in the room.They have shared one.Breakfast is poor.The room does not include air conditioning.Otherwise hotel's location was perfect,in downtown.That is it.

Room Tip: Poor service,Dirty Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oğuz Can Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

the history of this place is what is most appealing. they need to keep it open because it is a land mark i dont understand why people give it such bad reviews this is one of the best palces to stay in all of losangeles

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#111 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,274 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 101 in Los Angeles
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM163 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing