We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”
Review of Stars Inn

Stars Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stars Inn
Ranked #282 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you need a place to sleep and free parking, free wifi, TV, a fridge and a microwave for under $100 within shouting distance of Beverly Hills, this is the spot. Around the corner are two very nice eateries, one an upscale bistro/coffeeshop for lunch or breakfast, and the other an upscale pizzeria-both good. Across the street is the quite upscale Century City mall. So you can walk to all of these. Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, the Getty are all a stone's throw away. In return, you must overlook the imperfect cleanliness and the (unintentional) not-very-good service. But just self-advocate, and you will be fine. You can't have everything for $88 (what we paid for a double), but you may get what is important to you for the price.

Room Tip: Only saw Room #4, which was fine although not terribly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magsy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Totally no frills. A bed, a bathroom and a fridge. Review over! Good job that it is very cheap. The rooms on the second floor are quite difficult to get at with luggage. It has to be dragged up staircases. If you have disabilities if recommend requesting a ground floor room.

Handy that it is opposite West Century Mall and has excellent transport links and bus stops just outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cps37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Location is unbeatable but this place hasn't changed in 50 years. Check-in by a shirtless middle-aged guy who couldn't care less. Rooms are not clean or well kept. Parking is VERY limited. Not cheap. A couple of good places for breakfast around the corner. Stay away unless you are really on a budget and need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoseDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I booked this motel for 2 nights via booking.com and when i arrived and after waiting for ages to check in i was told i had only been charged for two nights. After checking my bank account i could see he was correct even though i had been sent a confirmation for two nights, which was frustrating. Whilst i was checking in a woman approached me and was very angry. She told me to be careful because "they come into your room and they are liars". Being a young girl on my own for the first im in LA i was worried by this, but the manager assured me she was referring to a maid who entered their room thinking they had checked out - which they were supposed to have done but slept in. Anyways everything was fine, i had no problems. Location was awesome and the room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

i stayed in room #9

pros:
location - century shopping/entertainment complex is right across the street. santa monica and hollywood nearby.
price is one of the cheaper ones available on kayak

cons:
- The worst thing about the room was the smell - it had a strong musky damp order that open windows/doors don't help against and it takes you like 4-5 hours to adjust to. that was the worst part to me personally.
- parts of the room such as walls, doors, windows, closets, door castings, power outlets, etc are almost all in terrible, run down, sometimes broken, dirty state
- towels have yellow tint to them and the shower head in the shower is so low that it can't accommodate anyone taller than 5 feet.
- bed cover and window drapes are dirty, worn, and with cigarette burns on them.
- walls are thin - can hear things of normal noise level outside and in the next room. street a half a block away is relatively loud.
- tv remote is missing

the feel you get from this room is that you are basically in a prison cell of some sort or are living in a 3rd world country. so only if you are on the budget or traveling solo and are undemanding type of traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRACH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#131 of 358 in Los Angeles
320 reviews
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Inn

Address: 10269 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90067-6457
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Hotel Class:3 star — Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing