We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great future”

Craft & Folk Art Museum
Ranked #34 of 250 Shopping in Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Craft & Folk Art Museum (CAFAM) presents dynamic exhibitions featuring established and emerging artists whose works create thoughtful and provocative visual exchanges between craft, design, and contemporary art. CAFAM’s regular programs and events provide opportunities for the public to participate in art making and engage with local and exhibiting artists. For more information, visit www.cafam.org. Location: 5814 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90036 Admission: FREE every Sunday Regularly: $9 for adults; $7 for students and teachers; free for CAFAM members Hours: Tuesday-Friday, 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Saturday & Sunday, 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; closed Mondays. Every first Thursday of the month, extended hours 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.
Reviewed 16 February 2018

This is a good addition to the LA art scene. The various floors of the museum were consumed with variations of ceramic craft. Each floor is able to pull off an in-depth look at individuals or groups. There is also an outdoor use and exhibit area on the ground.
The on-site store is very fun and out came my wallet. Staff were good to speak with and helpful. To me, they could improve on the exhibitions. I'm not a huge fan of ceramics and had my heart set on some actual folk art. In four floors, it seems there are not permanent holdings that might serve their mission of craft and folk art. A quality venue, I just think it could be improved at the administrative level.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank profits101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nice gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"tar pits"
in 2 reviews
"ceramics"
in 2 reviews
"tacoma"
in 9 reviews
"donation"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 11 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017

This is a wonderful museum in LA across from LACMA and Tar Pits. It is small but the work they showcase is unique. They also offer monthly events including family art workshops. Many are even free and open to the public. This museum is also run by some of the kindest people you could meet. We need more places like this that is focused on unity, education, and community.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Ryanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I wanted to see the US-Mexico Border exhibit produced in conjunction with Pacific Standard Time. Several contemporary pieces were on display, mostly made by US based artist an some Mexican artisits. I saw one piece made by a Guatemalan. In most cases these pieces were produced as commentary about the border. Some pieces were pretty to look at. Others not, but thought provoking. The exhibit was on the second and third floors. There is a nice gift shop. I parked on eighth street where 2 hour parking is free. On Sunday, entrance to the museum is by donation. This museum is across the street from LACMA. If you want to take in more art, you can always head over there.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank OBD2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Although there is not too much to this small museum (one floor of art when we were there), it does offer an interesting view of the Latino culture in particular in LA. There are some outstanding pieces.
And the outside of the building is fabulous.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank sewkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The Craft and Folk Art Museum is a refuge from the main-stream commercialism of LACMA and the Peterson Auto museums, a return to art at it's base. Well curated exhibits highlight interesting themes, materials, and under-appreciated folk, craft and contemporary artists.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank eheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craft & Folk Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Craft & Folk Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing