We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Melrose experience at Pali on Melrose”
Review of Palihotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palihotel
Ranked #121 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Pali hotel on Melrose was an absolute treat. Very funky, great design, cool interior. Beds were great, rainforest shower and fun interiors. Staff is amazing and the little cafe is lovely - amazing lattes. No phones in room but there is wifi
This is a fantastic location - close so shopping, Schindler house, wicked restaurants and great vibe.
If you are looking for a "Marriott" type experience, this is not for you. If you want all of the above then this is definitely for you. For business travel, may not be ideal but for vacation, it was great.
Would absolutely come back again. Staff attentive and helped in any way needed.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 262 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very very unfriendly staff - way less than a low budget motel - the dodgers also wanted me to pay 20$ per day the parking, despite in the room and in booking.com (where I booked the room) was clearly written 15$!!
Dark rooms, no phone, no minibar, no A/C controller (you have to freeze all night long). I have been there for 3 nights unfortunately and it has been my only bad experience in all California.
Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to let you know that been in touch with booking.com to remind them to update our parking prices on their site and we do apologize that you received incorrect information. If this was addressed with management we could have adjusted this for you on-site.

Additionally, we pride ourselves in service excellence and this is certainly the first feedback we have had about unfriendly staff, so be assured we are addressing this with the staff.

We do understand that Palihotel is not the right fit for every traveler, however we appreciate you giving us your feedback.

Best,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

So we actually came to this hotel by mistake, we had a 12 hours to spent in LA and we needed a room in good price, and i am ashamed to say, but because we had such good time, we decided to give it another day and do some sight seeing.

this ,relatively new, boutique hotel which feels like the L.A small version of NYC Dream DownTown created a unique combination between good price and good service and NYC stile atmosphere which makes it very attractive to both business men and couples.

חובה חובה חובה!!!!! באמת

Room Tip: The snacks in the mini bar are all Dean and deluce's and so off course they are absolutely amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mychekinuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I'm a big fan of Palihouse so when I heard this opened and I only was staying a night and not needed kitchen amenities I thought I would try it...

It is a cool little place. Good for 20 year olds just hanging in LA. Not really suitable for a business person - no restaurant, wifi was shoddy, no paper/pen on desk (not set up for work), bathroom was small (no place to put toiletries), lighting is terrible.

Good for one or two days maybe - no drawers or closet.

Bed was REALLY comfy. Best part of the room.

No one on staff at night - couldn't get any help with wifi at 9 pm (and like someone else said, someone was always on the phone at the front desk, it was strange, but when they weren't they were VERY friendly and nice)

Loved how it was decorated but at the end of the day being that I travel for work I need something a more functional hotel, not kitsch.

Do note that the location is great...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinsoutherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Customer service was great from booking to departure. We were upgraded, the staff was full of great recommendations for restaurants, and they had good humor and patience. The hotel is cute and simple. Just what I expected.

Room Tip: Make sure to clarify if you book a double - you may get two twin beds. Also, request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
Palihouse West Hollywood
#11 of 19 in West Hollywood
238 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,411 reviews
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#34 of 355 in Los Angeles
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#93 of 355 in Los Angeles
463 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#84 of 355 in Los Angeles
350 reviews
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#130 of 355 in Los Angeles
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihotel

Address: 7950 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-7117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM698 - RM1,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palihotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing