We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The LINE(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Carlyle Inn(Los Angeles)
US$424
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$281
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
W Hollywood(Los Angeles)
US$320
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Airtel Plaza Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Moment Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$239
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Normandie(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$351
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
114
118
58
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
118
58
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest hollywoodmelrose aveboutique hotelfront deskqueen roomfunky decorcute hotelglass doorla standardsin house restaurantmini barfarmers marketnice amenitieswater pressureone night staythe staff was friendly and helpfulfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very very unfriendly staff - way less than a low budget motel - the dodgers also wanted me to pay 20$ per day the parking, despite in the room and in booking.com (where I booked the room) was clearly written 15$!!
Dark rooms, no phone, no minibar, no A/C controller (you have to freeze all night long). I have been there for 3 nights unfortunately and it has been my only bad experience in all California.
Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to let you know that been in touch with booking.com to remind them to update our parking prices on their site and we do apologize that you received incorrect information. If this was addressed with management we could have adjusted this for you on-site.

Additionally, we pride ourselves in service excellence and this is certainly the first feedback we have had about unfriendly staff, so be assured we are addressing this with the staff.

We do understand that Palihotel is not the right fit for every traveler, however we appreciate you giving us your feedback.

Best,
Palihotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

So we actually came to this hotel by mistake, we had a 12 hours to spent in LA and we needed a room in good price, and i am ashamed to say, but because we had such good time, we decided to give it another day and do some sight seeing.

this ,relatively new, boutique hotel which feels like the L.A small version of NYC Dream DownTown created a unique combination between good price and good service and NYC stile atmosphere which makes it very attractive to both business men and couples.

חובה חובה חובה!!!!! באמת

Room Tip: The snacks in the mini bar are all Dean and deluce's and so off course they are absolutely amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mychekinuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I'm a big fan of Palihouse so when I heard this opened and I only was staying a night and not needed kitchen amenities I thought I would try it...

It is a cool little place. Good for 20 year olds just hanging in LA. Not really suitable for a business person - no restaurant, wifi was shoddy, no paper/pen on desk (not set up for work), bathroom was small (no place to put toiletries), lighting is terrible.

Good for one or two days maybe - no drawers or closet.

Bed was REALLY comfy. Best part of the room.

No one on staff at night - couldn't get any help with wifi at 9 pm (and like someone else said, someone was always on the phone at the front desk, it was strange, but when they weren't they were VERY friendly and nice)

Loved how it was decorated but at the end of the day being that I travel for work I need something a more functional hotel, not kitsch.

Do note that the location is great...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinsoutherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Customer service was great from booking to departure. We were upgraded, the staff was full of great recommendations for restaurants, and they had good humor and patience. The hotel is cute and simple. Just what I expected.

Room Tip: Make sure to clarify if you book a double - you may get two twin beds. Also, request a balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The new PaliHotel Melrose is a different breed of cat. It is a small (30 +/- rooms) boutique hotel with about two days worth of funk. It is part of Tablet Hotels.

The Pros:
Great location a block west of Fairfax on Melrose. An energetic walk to the Grove / Farmer's Market for dinner, movies or shopping. Canter's restaurant is 3 blocks away with nice one-of-a-kind shops and restaurants on Melrose right out the front door.

It has style and flair, great beds, and free wi-fi.

Staff friendliness maybe B to B-.

Great bikes to rent and a nice robe.

Thai massage available on premises.

Great toiletries


The Cons
No pool - in LA?

Fatal flaw: No elevator to garage beneath the building (if anyone in your party is in a wheelchair go somewhere else).

Prices are steep for you get, i.e. no closet, no in-room phone, almost no power outlets, no sound seal on paper thin door, poor work desk, wretched desk chair, almost worthless desk lamp, stools for nightstands, no clock / clock radio, no coffee maker.

The place is DARK! Dark drape-lined poorly lit hallways. Minimal lighting in the rooms.

You are either going to love the interior design or you are going to hate it.

In Sum:
A fun place to park for a night or two on a romantic weekend in LA. Perfect if you plan to be out and about during the day at museums returning just at night.

Not a place I'd want to stay on another business trip.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room facing the courtyard (i.e. quieter). Outside rooms are very close to busy streets or face a kind of groady apartment across the alley.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews