We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, great wine, fair prices but horrible maitre'd”
Review of Madeo

Madeo
Ranked #70 of 9,980 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Hollywood
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great wine, fair prices but horrible maitre'd”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

If you want a restaurant where it's expensive but always the food is fantastic, this is the one. And try the large prawns, they are divine. Good wine list, great pasta, real authentic upscale Italian and on a street that is not a mob scene, very lovely place

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank melinda311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    70
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favorite of all in LA”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It's one of those just perfect places. Excellent food, good ambience, a traditional place, with traditionally good service and food. Carpets, so you can hear yourself talk. Tables not on top of each other. People have been going here for years and years and it never fails.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleys556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutly The Best Italian Restaurant in Los Angeles!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Whatever you order from the Madeo menu is perfect. It's not a cheap place, but every dollar you spend here is worth it! My favorite dishes would be simple, like penne, pizza or lasagna… You would be surprised how simple things could taste excellent. There is a very good wine menu with very expensive wine selection.
It’s a little bit hard to get a good table in this place. Mostly, stuff keeps the best tables for regular local clients like George Clooney. But it will help if you call in a head of time, at least a week or better two before your dinner. It may sound too difficult, but this restaurant represents the best “old” LA culture and food is phenomenal.
Myself I like to dine at Madeo, at least ones a week.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsche0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
“The taste of Italy in the States :D”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had visited Madeo the past October while travelling through Los Angeles. I must say that after having visited Italy itself, they did not spare anything to ensure that no matter whether we are in Italy or in U.S, we recieve the authentic experience. We had tried their Gnocchi and Rissoto with of course the perfect blend of Italian wine and everything was cooked to perfection. The service was impecable and the decor of the restaurant is lovely. The next time we are in L.A this will be the place we will go over and over again. Keep up the great work. Amazinggg. :D

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
416 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 815 helpful votes
“The best Italian food in LA”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is one of the best Italian restaurants in LA. I love visiting Madeo and eating there, especially when I have friends in from out of town. While they are somewhat pricey, it is always a treat to visit. The ambiance is pretty plain, but these people are just down to business. They want you to have excellent food while concentrating on service. The only downside is the wait. Sometimes, even when you have a rez, the wait is quite a long time. If you moan about it enough though, they will finally seat you.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madeo also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Beverly Hills, CA
 

Been to Madeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing