We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We checked in late in the night. We got a room which was nearly stinking. The bathrooms were not cleared of stuff other people would have left. It was so dirty that we had to skip taking a shower. The carpet was sticky so we couldn't even keep out feet on the ground. When we asked for extra blankets because of the cold, they said they won't have extras. The linen was smelling weird. And when we complained the next day, we were being given all kinds of excuses such as there are people who leave the rooms without thinking about others. The manager was unavailable and we tried calling 4 times asking for the manager, but never was given the call to the person nor heard back from him/her. not recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kuhu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

My experience was good in the hostel, good value for price, really near from the hall of fame and subway station. really recommended for been in Los Angeles, the staff really nice and helpful with all your doubts about the places to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank candres0989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

The Banana Bungalow is a pretty vibrant spot with backpackers from all over the world and a great atmosphere. It's location is second to none, a few minutes walk from the likes of The Walk of Stars, Hollywood Bowl and Hollywood Boulevard.
It is in need of a make over mind you. The rooms are fairly tired and run down and the pool area was far from clean.
The price is right though to be fair, very reasonable.
If you don't mind it being a bit rough and ready then this is the place for you but there are better places around too, of that I'm sure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

good price-performance ratio; nice place for backpackers; very well-located in Hollywood; only few parking spaces; breakfast is just cereals + bananas;
lots of young people; barbecue offers in the evening; cheap laundry possibility;
not recommended for families; reception 24/7

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank schneider_romy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

With exception of the Latino guy who worked late to early morning and the indonesia guy I just felt the staff were pretty unhelpful and most of the time I walked in the office I felt like I was an inconvenience. Upon arrival I was told there was no car parking space and after driving around for an hour (after a 19hr journey) I just left my car in a car park. I went to the hotel and there was a party on and of course a parking space. I just felt like they were busy and not that attentive to other customers needs. My room was clean had a safe and the bed was okay (probably the worst I've had on my two week road trip, but still okay). My room was clean though but shower pressure not great and tv only had one channel. The hostel itself is in an okay location, has snack machines, luggage storage, outdoor seating, free breakfast - so lots of positives too but just didn't get a good vibe from some of the staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#131 of 358 in Los Angeles
319 reviews
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#230 of 358 in Los Angeles
37 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#91 of 358 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 109 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#5 of 109 in Los Angeles
644 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#9 of 109 in Los Angeles
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM 152 - RM 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing