We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible staff, bed bugs, dodgy dealings, and probable sex pests...STAY AWAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed here for a while last year. And, to be honest it was terrible. Location wise, ok great...it's a 15min walk (or 5 on the bus, bus stop located right outside hostel) to Highland and such.

-I didn't get bed bugs myself, but i saw 3 serious cases of it on fellow travellers during my stay. And all the staff did about it was shrug their shoulders and tell the traveller to simply 'flip their matress'. I also witnessed alot of pot smoking iby guests and staff n the vacinity (ok i know it;s california, but come on!)

-The staff are unhelpful, bossy, accusing, and insulting towards guests.One member of staff i'm sure is a sex pest and the manager...as well as being a disgusting human being..... i'm convinced he has some dodgy dealings going on. VERY dodgy!!!! If you drop a piece of litter you will get an eviction notice on your door, actually, if you do anything you'll be threatened in some way. Horrible, horrible staff. *sigh*

-The people you get staying are wonderful. I made some great friends and partied hard with them.
-Nightlife. Well, they have some good parties on a wednesday night to get the hostels together, and organise some pretty cool evenings out to various bars and such. Not absolutely everyone's cup of tea...but well worth checking out. The staff who collect you to take you places are wonderful , wonderful people.

-Sleep. If you are lucky enough to get a bunk without bed bugs, it's a pretty decent sleep. Yeah the beds wobble if the guy beneath you moves, but expect it for $25 a night. There is a noise curfew which helps...but if you are a late coming back to the hostel and make more than a whisper you will be spoken to in a nasty manner by whoever is on duty. Then expect an eviction notice.....

Great if you are in town for one or two nights as a stop off, but do not expect any help from the staff (who acutally are mostly guests doing 7 hour shifts 6 days a week in any of the banana bungalows to 'pay' for their beds).
Keep your head down and get out as quickly as you can. And check your change before you leave.
If you intend on staying in Hollywood any longer though, i suggest you find somewhere else. STAY AWAY FROM THE BANANA BUNGALOW HOSTELS!!! FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR SANITY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voorhees13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

We arrived earlier than the check in time and they went up and had our room made ready for us. We spent about 2 hours in our small private room when the guy at the front desk came up to tell us that we were going to be moving to a regular private (larger room) at no cost. When we were going to Disneyland the shuttle wasn't going to stop at this Banana Bungalow, so the manager personally drove us to the West Hollywood one, telling us about the sights as we passed them which I thought was very cool and extremely nice of him. The staff went above and beyond their responsibilities to help us out with everything we needed.
Location was great, just down the street from Walk of Fame, Madame Tussauds, Kodak Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe and many other great tourist points. I highly recommend staying at this hostel if you're making a trip to Hollywood!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ostento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My fiance and I stayed for 7 nights in a private room.

We had booked a small private and were upgraded to a regular private with a full kitchen which was awesome. We had a double bed, spare single, full bathroom, full kitchen, air con and satellite TV.

During our stay there were 4 nights of free beer with 2 nights including free dinner (BBQ).
These nights had a comedy night, karaoke night, sister hostel night and a warm up night before heading out to a club. (more on this below)

The room was clean and tidy but quite worn in. There were a few stains on the sheets and 1 hole in our top sheet. There was also a couple of spots of blood on the carpet and the oven was so smokey it set off the alarm. However, for the money, these are to be expected and they didn't detract from our experience at all and even though everything was oldish it was all very clean.

The service we received was a little mixed with a majority of the staff being great. Al, one of the desk guys was a champ and busted out a number of hits at the karaoke. There were some desk staff who were less than helpful and seemed too "busy" with other things to actually help you. Overall good though.

The vibe if the place was great for the whole time and was a good place to meet people and for solo travellers as well as us as a couple. (There were plenty of couples) Also, the internet was free and worked but got flaky at night when lots of people were on it.

Overall, great value experience, a little walk from the main drag but that helps keep the burgers from ruining your six pack.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This place looked kinda cool but it was a horrible experience. There was noise until 6am. No way you could sleep. Then there were bed bugs and the security dude was a total idiot as they close the office at night and only have one security guard to keep watch over the place. The place needs to be shut down. It was filthy, towels were filthy, beds were filthy, just totally nasty. I hope they shut this place down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

So my boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 night booked for one then had had a look around book the 2nd night straight away. It's a really cool place they have free beer and bbqs free comedy shows all sorts of cool things every night the cleaners do a basic clean everyday but I needs one really big one not that it is bad but it's due. And it all gets locked up at night so it's really safe :) good value

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristilouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#132 of 358 in Los Angeles
321 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#240 of 358 in Los Angeles
103 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#91 of 358 in Los Angeles
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 109 in Los Angeles
1,101 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#3 of 109 in Los Angeles
645 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#9 of 109 in Los Angeles
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM 156 - RM 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing