We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$507
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Chatsworth(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The LINE LA(Los Angeles)
US$270
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Airtel Plaza Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$292
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Normandie(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
44
21
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
21
4
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We selected Sanborn House based on the good ratings and found that they are all well earned. Cozy, comfortable and very clean room with private bathroom and a shared kitchen for coffee, tea and breakfast. Although the other room was also occupied we never experienced any bother. Each room has its own front door.
Hosts are very friendly, supportive and show great hospitality. Well recommended!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank HansdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

My husband and I stayed here the last weekend in January. The location is central to many places in L.A. and there are a ton of great restaurants located within walking distance (I highly recommend Cliff's Edge for dinner!). The general area is very eclectic and has a hipster vibe. The gated off-street parking is nice. We stayed in the suite which was immaculately clean and sweetly decorated. Gary greeted us upon arrival and gave us a general rundown of things. He was friendly but not overbearing and left us to our own devices the whole time we were there. The cost of this place can't be beat for the location and accommodations. As long as you're pretty self-sufficient and aren't a super needy kind of guest then this place will be great for you.

Room Tip: We liked the suite because of the extra space.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

What a wonderful place! Gary is the consummate host, attentive and welcoming. The house is well situated in a very hip part of town with an abundance of shops and eateries within a very short walk. The suite itself was clean comfortable and nicely priced. Gated off street parking is a big plus. Would recommend this in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sketchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Owner at Sanborn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! We're thrilled to know you enjoyed staying at our place while in town. Feel free to give us a call next time you're around and need a place to stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime & Gary, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just loved this place for our visit to the Hollywood area. It was clean, had gated off street parking, large bedroom and living room and it felt like staying at a friends home. Cafes, coffee houses and great restaurants just one block away. Easy access to lots of places of interest. And it was so quiet which we did not expect. When we return to this area we will stay at Sanborn House again for sure.....

Room Tip: We recommend the room with the living room....it is so big for two people....
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Owner at Sanborn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

It warms our hearts to hear that you felt so at ease while staying with us! We're extremely glad we could provide you with a nice and quiet base of operations while you were in town. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Los Angeles!

Until next time,
Jaime & Gary, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We live in Los Feliz, a stone's throw from the Sanborn Guest House. Our house was being tented for termites and we wanted to stay close to home. Gary was a very accommodating host, and our room was just what we needed for two nights. We stayed in the Sanborn Guest Room. If you want a little more space, choose the Guest Suite. There are good photographs on their website. The shower and bathroom were fresh and clean, as were the towels and bedding. We had access to a shared kitchen with everything needed to cook a meal. Coffee and filters were provided with the coffeemaker. There is a new grocery market/deli you can walk to in five minutes (Yummy.com) with anything you could need to pick up, or they deliver. Sanborn House is located just two blocks from Sunset Blvd. in Silverlake, with easy access to great restaurants, coffee houses, and shops. Even though we've lived in the area for many years, we really enjoyed walking around the area and seeing a different side of the neighborhood. We will definitely recommend Sanborn Guest House to our friends.

Room Tip: The Guest Room has a queen bed and sink in the room. A shower and toilet are attached. If you desire more space, the Guest Suite has a larger bathroom, and a sitting area. Both share the same kitchen.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Owner at Sanborn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I'm sorry to hear about the termite situation, Rick! Hopefully they haven't decided to shack up with you again since your review. In any case, I'm glad we could provide you with a homelike respite from the 'mites while your house was tented. Even positive reviews help us get better for our customers, so we're thrilled to see that you made the most out of your experience here. Thanks for your recommendation! We hope that you'll keep us in mind for situations like this in the future.

Sincerely,
Jaime & Gary, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews