We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candice at the Concierge Desk was a Sweetheart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #51 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for 4 days on a Rose Bowl package, the taxi from the airport was $100 with a tip, so plan for this.
Once we arrived we were greeted with a friendly doorman and front desk clerk, who bumped us up to a corner unit.
The hotel is located across the street from universal theme park, you can walk or take the complimentary shuttle, which we did often. Though we never visited the park there are many shops and restaurants to visit.
The room was large and clean with a comfortable bed and a view of the Hollywood hills and the pool below.
But by far the most satisfying part of our stay was Candice at the Concierge Desk, she was a pleasant and charming young women who helped us from booking our nightlife to helping us with our tours.
I always read where a hotel is dated, I would stay in any dated hotel if they had a Candice working at the Concierge Desk. Thank you Candice
The only problems we had the elevators were not working properly causing a lengthy delay.
Otherwise we had a nice stay and State won…..”Go Green”

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind praise of, Candice, our concierge. We strive to make all our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and are delighted we achieved this goal for you during your stay. We couldn't agree more that our location is ideas for entertainment and activities during any getaway. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,748)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,976 of 3,748 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here with my son and his family coming back from a trip to Canada and I was really pleased to come to a Hilton with good service, nice rooms, big lobby area and facilities. We were at the end of our trip so a bit tired but wanted to have a good experience before going home. Universal Studios was walking distance from the hotel and we had a ball! There is a really nice restaurant in the hotel which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner till late - good service, great food.
There is also a nice swimming pool which I didnt use but did sit in the pool area as it has covered parts where you can lie down and read which was very pleasant as the weather was unusually hot for January. Rooms were large - I did book an executive room and the bed was comfortable as it usually is at Hilton. Coffee machine, TV, bedside reading lights, nice bathrooms, bathrobes etc. The concierge and staff were very helpful and it was a lovely experience for the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit extra to get a larger room or one inclusive of breakfast
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

From your recent review, it sounds like you had a delightful trip and we are glad we could be a part of your getaway. We have enjoyed warm temperatures as of late and are delighted you were able to soak up some sunshine. Thank you for the praise of our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and the location of this hotel is perfect. It is the closest hotel to Universal City and it felt like a very safe area to walk around safe at night. It was very similar to a smaller scale version of Downtown Disney. We ate out at the many restuarants every night at UC and loved going to the studios. The hotel has a Starbucks and also it's own restuarant and convenience store. The rooms were nice and roomy and ours offered a spectacular view of the park. The only thing I could suggest they need is a guest laundry as the laundry room service at any resort is too expensive. Overall, this is the choice spot to stay as it is in a touristy area where many restuarants are at your need as well offering you the security to walk around at day or night safely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTourist_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It sounds like your holiday getaway was full of good cheer. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the valuable suggestions as your input helps us to improve our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night only. The location is great to visit Universal Studies. Room and bathroom had a good size.
Wifi, breakfast and parking were not included in the rate but this information was not clear in the booking process.
There are few elevators consider the number of rooms. So, be prepared to wait several minutes until you get one with space you can enter.
There are several other options in LA. In the following week we stayed in Beverly Hills in a 5 stars hotel, paying less than we paid in Hilton, and with breakfast/wifi included.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay. We regret that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We are integrating new elevators to increase guest flow and decrease wait time. We want all our guests to feel cared for, valued and respected and regret that we did not achieve this goal. I have spoken to my Rooms Division and they will be following up with you shortly to discuss this in further detail. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stay here for work often and it is a beautiful Hilton. The views are wonderful, service great and the food delicious. I've never had any service issues. not sure how great of a "deal" it is, as I travel here for work. But if you'd like a place in the area- it is a great location. You do have to pay for parking though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view as well as dining in our Cafe Sierra. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#125 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,667 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,087 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 353 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 353 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: RM941 - RM1,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing