We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Nearby Hotels
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$560
US$374
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$339
US$231
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$553
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$203
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$413
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$342
US$223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$274
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,109)
Filter reviews
4,109 results
Traveller rating
1,657
1,424
634
231
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,657
1,424
634
231
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity walktheme parkalcove roomcafe sierravisiting universalexecutive floorfree shuttleself parkingbreakfast buffetper dayhollywood hillsshuttle servicemetro stationcitywalkconciergeburbankfreeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,298 - 2,303 of 4,109 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here with my son and his family coming back from a trip to Canada and I was really pleased to come to a Hilton with good service, nice rooms, big lobby area and facilities. We were at the end of our trip so a bit tired but wanted to have a good experience before going home. Universal Studios was walking distance from the hotel and we had a ball! There is a really nice restaurant in the hotel which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner till late - good service, great food.
There is also a nice swimming pool which I didnt use but did sit in the pool area as it has covered parts where you can lie down and read which was very pleasant as the weather was unusually hot for January. Rooms were large - I did book an executive room and the bed was comfortable as it usually is at Hilton. Coffee machine, TV, bedside reading lights, nice bathrooms, bathrobes etc. The concierge and staff were very helpful and it was a lovely experience for the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit extra to get a larger room or one inclusive of breakfast
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

From your recent review, it sounds like you had a delightful trip and we are glad we could be a part of your getaway. We have enjoyed warm temperatures as of late and are delighted you were able to soak up some sunshine. Thank you for the praise of our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and the location of this hotel is perfect. It is the closest hotel to Universal City and it felt like a very safe area to walk around safe at night. It was very similar to a smaller scale version of Downtown Disney. We ate out at the many restuarants every night at UC and loved going to the studios. The hotel has a Starbucks and also it's own restuarant and convenience store. The rooms were nice and roomy and ours offered a spectacular view of the park. The only thing I could suggest they need is a guest laundry as the laundry room service at any resort is too expensive. Overall, this is the choice spot to stay as it is in a touristy area where many restuarants are at your need as well offering you the security to walk around at day or night safely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTourist_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It sounds like your holiday getaway was full of good cheer. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the valuable suggestions as your input helps us to improve our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night only. The location is great to visit Universal Studies. Room and bathroom had a good size.
Wifi, breakfast and parking were not included in the rate but this information was not clear in the booking process.
There are few elevators consider the number of rooms. So, be prepared to wait several minutes until you get one with space you can enter.
There are several other options in LA. In the following week we stayed in Beverly Hills in a 5 stars hotel, paying less than we paid in Hilton, and with breakfast/wifi included.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay. We regret that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We are integrating new elevators to increase guest flow and decrease wait time. We want all our guests to feel cared for, valued and respected and regret that we did not achieve this goal. I have spoken to my Rooms Division and they will be following up with you shortly to discuss this in further detail. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stay here for work often and it is a beautiful Hilton. The views are wonderful, service great and the food delicious. I've never had any service issues. not sure how great of a "deal" it is, as I travel here for work. But if you'd like a place in the area- it is a great location. You do have to pay for parking though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view as well as dining in our Cafe Sierra. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

the hotel just location (walking distance 10min) free shuttle bus to universal studio, old building need refurbish, the service is poor, we booked hotel package incl. universal ticket, we had disputed about this with reception staff, after we complained senior staff give us solution, porter not helpful, the day we arrived elevator jamb, only one still operation so all guest in out make crowed on the foyer, during breakfast we must wait 15min, restaurant service is bad (only few waiter) all guest must wait 15-25minute to be served, manager do nothing to improved excellent service

Room Tip: the bedroom is large n comfort
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We want to apologize for the issues you experienced not only at check-in but also while dinning with us. We are happy to announce the integration of new elevators that will decrease wait time and increase guest flow. I have spoken with our rooms division regarding your stay and a representative will reach out to you shortly to discuss this in further detail. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews