We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mountain resort with overpriced restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Reviewed 8 October 2017

LOCATION & ATTRACTIONS NEARBY *** Located in the Kananaskis village, overlooking beautiful valley and close to many attractions (ski slopes of Nakiska, Lower and Upper Galatea Lakes, Lillian Lake and many walking trails in very close proximity). It’s lovely location and make sure you take a walk around the lodge as you’d be rewarded with magnificent views of the valley nearby. Also, you’d most likely see some wild animals walking around (and sometimes within) the resort. When we arrived we’ve seen nice stag just standing in front of the hotel. It’s surrounded by natural forest, so don’t be surprised to see many creatures (including bears).
We arrived there from Calgary, but taking beautiful road via Smith-Dorrien Trail. One of these days, due to terrible weather and fog, we decided to go to Banff, which was an easy drive.

HOTEL OVERVIEW *** It is quite busy and popular all year round and you can see that it might make you feel like you’re in the mountain supermarket. There’re few buildings and definitely take map from reception.
PURPOSE OF THIS TRIP *** Leisure.

RESERVATION *** We have booked it first with one of the bedbanks which later went bust (before our trip). Chris from Reservations helped me a lot to reinstate and then confirm this reservation. Much appreciated. We have booked Standard Double room.
Prices on Marriott.com websited were much higher than with other suppliers.

LENGTH OF MY STAY *** 2 nights (Aug 16).

CHECK-IN *** Check-in was quick and hassle-free (but lines like at the airport were ready in case it got busier that day). All resort amenities were explained, map given and also recommendations what it ‘not to be missed’ around. We’ve been also informed that our room was upgraded to Executive Level John Palliser room. WOW, that’s great.

LOBBY & RECEPTION *** Lobby and whole reception are looks quite old, but you’ve to remember that they’re constantly fully booked. I can’t imagine huge renovation there without closing it down for few months. Anyway, it’s OK. There are some shops and few restaurants and food quarter.

ROOM *** #3219 Executive Leval John Palliser – in an old building, but room modern and comfortable. 1 King bed, working desk, small table, armchairs, large wardrobe, flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, safety deposit box & air-condition – that’s pretty much what’s there. A/C & heating was still old-style, but efficient and easy to operate. Air-conditioner makes weird noised from time to time, but you get use to that, haha. Windows could be opened (forest view) and there’s mosquito net installed (oh, you need it there, they are like dragons there).
Bed was very comfortable, but I think there was not enough lights (or wrong settings) as room looked very dark.
Our safety deposit box has locked itself one day and hotel engineer was there to help within 10 minutes. It took a while to open and fix it, but this seems to be known issue with them in this resort.
Room was refurbished in this building, bur corridors, lobby and lifts are still old and definitely gives you an impression you’re in much cheaper, older place.
Our parking was just minutes away fromt his building (it was clearly marked).

BATHROOM ***Pleasant, spotless clean large bathroom. Good toiletries were provided, but try get them out from these small, hard bottles – you’d almost need a knife to get into them (I normally don’t have problem with that).

BREAKFAST *** Food in all restaurants there is expensive. In general we found it very overpriced; it was actually more expensive than top 5* hotel in Banff. First day we had small breakfast in their deli “Obsessions” and for 3 cakes (quite average, like you’d get in any shop) + 2 coffees we paid around 38 CAD. Next day we decided to take breakfast outside (we’re travelling).

RESTAURANT *** There’re 4 restaurants and as all hotel, they’re busy. We went to The Fireweed Grill after our arrival and we’re lucky to get seats. Kale salad was amazing, but barbecue ribs were totally awesome. It was beautiful meal, but again, for a simple dinner we paid more than 110 CAD. Staff was really nice (Michael), attentive and helpful. Also their barman was great with all suggestions.

INTERNET ACCESS *** It was all right taking into considerations you’re in the mountains and in the middle of the forest.

CHECK-OUT EXPERIENCE *** Also quick and hassle-free. Avoid rush check-out hours as you may need to wait a while.

STAFF *** Staff was very helpful (Christ from reservations & reception staff) and attentive even in such a busy environment.

OVERVIEW *** Good hotel in a lovely location, but slightly overpriced (I’d say reducing food prices would actually result in bigger sales). Some renovations are needed and definitely some walking signs are needed as resort is very confusing. We still enjoyed our 2-night stay there ad would go back if the price is right.

Room Tip: Executive Level Palliser Room are new and refurbished, worth few extra CAD
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Wow, thank you for your thorough review - this will surely assist our future guests with planning their trips to Kananaskis. We love that you took the time to share some nearby attractions, too!

A lot has changed since your last visit - Fireweed Grill has closed and we've since opened Forte in it's place. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can check it out, along with Blacktail Bar and Cedar Room and let us know what you think!

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

I LOVE the location but it is very unfortunate that there are so few options when it comes to somewhere to stay especially if you don't want to camp. We stayed at the main lodge. The service was terrible. The room wasn't properly cleaned the towels weren't replaced so we had to call down for towels: the tea wasn't replenished so we had to call down for tea and cups and the beds weren't made all they did was just straighten the covers and when we got into bed the sheets were all bunched up. the kleenix was empty and wasn't replenished and the paper cups from our tea weren't thrown away.
The restaurant couldn't cope with anything than with it half full. We made a reservation and were told to come back later because it was too busy and yet the maitre d was selling someone take out and that is why he couldn't seat us.
I left my purse in the lobby and when I went to the desk to ask if anyone had found it I was very rudely spoken to by Sophia. I went back to my room and looked for my purse again and then went back downstairs and asked for the manager. Another person at the desk by the name of Lexi overheard the conversation and immediately went to get my purse. Not great customer service!!!!!
Maybe they don't pay their staff properly because they really aren't great when you need something. For the money we paid I am appalled at the poor service we got.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pheff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for sharing this with us and bringing it to our attention. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and I'm sorry to learn this didn't occur during your stay. Rest assured, we've shared this with our team to ensure it was an isolated incident.

If there's anything else you'd like to share, you're welcome to contact me anytime. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kananaskis in the future!

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We checked in on a Friday for a two night stay at the end of September. The hotel staff found our reservation and got us checked in very quickly.

The property consists of several buildings located in K Country, which is a short drive from Calgary. Lodgings, conference facilities, shops, restaurants, and pubs are all part of this small self-contained village. There are lots of hiking trails and wonderful views to enjoy. We are already planning a return trip for next year.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main entrances to avoid tour buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S2691JCphilipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good Day;

We're thrilled to hear you're already planning your return visit! Our Nordic Spa will be open in early 2018, so hopefully you have time to enjoy some blissful R&R during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here almost a full week and enjoyed the spacious room, the position and the cleanliness. However, we appreciated much less certain details such as very poor and rushed service at the pub, pricy and average quality of the meals in general, unstable internet connection and the fire alarm going off at 4am for 30 minutes ...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chibakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and highlighting some areas that we can improve on. Although we failed to deliver a flawless experience during your week long stay, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kananaskis in the future!

Warm Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Travelled to Kananaskis for a family gathering and booked into the John Palliser section of this property. Rooms are nice but small. No Restaurant in this section but just a few minutes to the main Lodge. Lobby is great to sit and relax by a real wood burning fire and steps away from the Village Rim Trail. A nice quite location in the spring and fall. Busy in Summer and Winter and lots of tour buses in the Fall. Still worth a few nights and right in the heart f amazing photographic opportunities. New Spa under construction but not near this section of the resort

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Buddi2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Buddi2365,

Thank you for your comments: I am glad that you seemed to have had such a great time in our beautiful Rocky Mountain getaway!
The Lodge is a little spread out as you might expect in such a location as this, yet the buildings are just a brief two minute walk from each other, so hopefully not too much of a stretch, especially when you get to see the wonderful views that surround us!
The new Nordic Spa, is also accessible from the main lodge as well as from the outside. This magnificent new facility will be worth all and any effort to get to it I can assure you , we're hoping it will be open before this year is out!
I hope that you will come out and take a look!
Once again, thank you for your review, they are always appreciated.
Stephen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kananaskis Country hotels
22.8 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
22.9 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
15.9 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
558 reviews
25.4 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
25.2 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge

Address: 1 Centennial Drive, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels Kananaskis Lodge)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#6 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range: RM571 - RM1,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of the Canadian Rockies by treating yourself to an unforgettable getaway at Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge. Showcasing an incomparable location in gorgeous Kananaskis Village along with a wealth of first-class amenities, our resort hotel in Kananaskis, Alberta Canada delights business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Lodge At Kananaskis
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing