We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Banff Gate Mountain Resort(Dead Man's Flats)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Horn Motel(Dead Man's Flats)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
A1 Motel(Canmore)
View Hotel
Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino(Kananaskis Country)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
445
425
207
96
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
425
207
96
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature clubfireweed grillhot tubsteam roombighorn loungeloft roombeautiful locationwoody's pubunderground parkingguest servicesnakiska skiski hillbit datedice skatingbig hornrocky mountainsgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

You will not find a location with more beautiful mountain vistas! Great and attentive service by a very friendly staff, from the front desk to the concierge to the lounge and its bartenders and servers. A special shout out to Scemore who knows his stuff about where you should go to experience the immediate area, Banff and Lake Louise. You must drive to the secluded and majestic Upper and Lower Lake Kananaskis -- truly awesome (in the dictionary definition of that word).

Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed. Room staff was accommodating and friendly, meeting any of our needs.

The Morning Market sandwich at the coffee shop was our breakfast each day. THE best breakfast sandwich we've ever had -- the (truly) fresh squeezed OJ was a special touch.

Overall, a great place for a romantic and secluded getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CraigandJenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Craigandjenny13,

Thank you so very much for that rave review !
We truly are lucky to be in some of the world's best mountain views, walks , valleys and lakes. I am super happy that you got to enjoy some of them and to have such a good guide as Scemore. He is indeed a gem !
Thnak you too for all your nice comments about he lodge, our facilities and best of all the service that you encountered..............oh not forgetting the OJ too !
Let's hope we see you both again , and soon !

Stephen. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed at the lodge for.a photography workshop in September. The weather was perfect and the scenery was spectacular! The staff was friendly and helpful. They were more than accommodating: they opened doors for us and always asked if we needed anything. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and clean. The bed was so comfortable. We had a great view of the mountain! We were able to drive around and spent some time in Canmore as well. The resort restaurant served great food! The breakfast buffet had a variety of foods that were well-prepared and presented. We had a conference room for our workshop that had all we needed. We ate dinner there that had been prepared especially for the group. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor; the rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nightingale1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, General Manager at Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear nightingale1972, ( love that name !),

Thank you , thank you , thank you ! What a wonderful read of a review that was !

I ma glad that you all had such a great time, from the scenery, to the workshop, the room, the food and the best of all, the staff and the service that you received.
That really makes my day. I am happy we were able to make yours !

I hope you'll be back to stay and perhaps take a few more killer photographs.
Thank you again, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

LOCATION & ATTRACTIONS NEARBY *** Located in the Kananaskis village, overlooking beautiful valley and close to many attractions (ski slopes of Nakiska, Lower and Upper Galatea Lakes, Lillian Lake and many walking trails in very close proximity). It’s lovely location and make sure you take a walk around the lodge as you’d be rewarded with magnificent views of the valley nearby. Also, you’d most likely see some wild animals walking around (and sometimes within) the resort. When we arrived we’ve seen nice stag just standing in front of the hotel. It’s surrounded by natural forest, so don’t be surprised to see many creatures (including bears).
We arrived there from Calgary, but taking beautiful road via Smith-Dorrien Trail. One of these days, due to terrible weather and fog, we decided to go to Banff, which was an easy drive.

HOTEL OVERVIEW *** It is quite busy and popular all year round and you can see that it might make you feel like you’re in the mountain supermarket. There’re few buildings and definitely take map from reception.
PURPOSE OF THIS TRIP *** Leisure.

RESERVATION *** We have booked it first with one of the bedbanks which later went bust (before our trip). Chris from Reservations helped me a lot to reinstate and then confirm this reservation. Much appreciated. We have booked Standard Double room.
Prices on Marriott.com websited were much higher than with other suppliers.

LENGTH OF MY STAY *** 2 nights (Aug 16).

CHECK-IN *** Check-in was quick and hassle-free (but lines like at the airport were ready in case it got busier that day). All resort amenities were explained, map given and also recommendations what it ‘not to be missed’ around. We’ve been also informed that our room was upgraded to Executive Level John Palliser room. WOW, that’s great.

LOBBY & RECEPTION *** Lobby and whole reception are looks quite old, but you’ve to remember that they’re constantly fully booked. I can’t imagine huge renovation there without closing it down for few months. Anyway, it’s OK. There are some shops and few restaurants and food quarter.

ROOM *** #3219 Executive Leval John Palliser – in an old building, but room modern and comfortable. 1 King bed, working desk, small table, armchairs, large wardrobe, flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, safety deposit box & air-condition – that’s pretty much what’s there. A/C & heating was still old-style, but efficient and easy to operate. Air-conditioner makes weird noised from time to time, but you get use to that, haha. Windows could be opened (forest view) and there’s mosquito net installed (oh, you need it there, they are like dragons there).
Bed was very comfortable, but I think there was not enough lights (or wrong settings) as room looked very dark.
Our safety deposit box has locked itself one day and hotel engineer was there to help within 10 minutes. It took a while to open and fix it, but this seems to be known issue with them in this resort.
Room was refurbished in this building, bur corridors, lobby and lifts are still old and definitely gives you an impression you’re in much cheaper, older place.
Our parking was just minutes away fromt his building (it was clearly marked).

BATHROOM ***Pleasant, spotless clean large bathroom. Good toiletries were provided, but try get them out from these small, hard bottles – you’d almost need a knife to get into them (I normally don’t have problem with that).

BREAKFAST *** Food in all restaurants there is expensive. In general we found it very overpriced; it was actually more expensive than top 5* hotel in Banff. First day we had small breakfast in their deli “Obsessions” and for 3 cakes (quite average, like you’d get in any shop) + 2 coffees we paid around 38 CAD. Next day we decided to take breakfast outside (we’re travelling).

RESTAURANT *** There’re 4 restaurants and as all hotel, they’re busy. We went to The Fireweed Grill after our arrival and we’re lucky to get seats. Kale salad was amazing, but barbecue ribs were totally awesome. It was beautiful meal, but again, for a simple dinner we paid more than 110 CAD. Staff was really nice (Michael), attentive and helpful. Also their barman was great with all suggestions.

INTERNET ACCESS *** It was all right taking into considerations you’re in the mountains and in the middle of the forest.

CHECK-OUT EXPERIENCE *** Also quick and hassle-free. Avoid rush check-out hours as you may need to wait a while.

STAFF *** Staff was very helpful (Christ from reservations & reception staff) and attentive even in such a busy environment.

OVERVIEW *** Good hotel in a lovely location, but slightly overpriced (I’d say reducing food prices would actually result in bigger sales). Some renovations are needed and definitely some walking signs are needed as resort is very confusing. We still enjoyed our 2-night stay there ad would go back if the price is right.

Room Tip: Executive Level Palliser Room are new and refurbished, worth few extra CAD
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Wow, thank you for your thorough review - this will surely assist our future guests with planning their trips to Kananaskis. We love that you took the time to share some nearby attractions, too!

A lot has changed since your last visit - Fireweed Grill has closed and we've since opened Forte in it's place. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can check it out, along with Blacktail Bar and Cedar Room and let us know what you think!

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I LOVE the location but it is very unfortunate that there are so few options when it comes to somewhere to stay especially if you don't want to camp. We stayed at the main lodge. The service was terrible. The room wasn't properly cleaned the towels weren't replaced so we had to call down for towels: the tea wasn't replenished so we had to call down for tea and cups and the beds weren't made all they did was just straighten the covers and when we got into bed the sheets were all bunched up. the kleenix was empty and wasn't replenished and the paper cups from our tea weren't thrown away.
The restaurant couldn't cope with anything than with it half full. We made a reservation and were told to come back later because it was too busy and yet the maitre d was selling someone take out and that is why he couldn't seat us.
I left my purse in the lobby and when I went to the desk to ask if anyone had found it I was very rudely spoken to by Sophia. I went back to my room and looked for my purse again and then went back downstairs and asked for the manager. Another person at the desk by the name of Lexi overheard the conversation and immediately went to get my purse. Not great customer service!!!!!
Maybe they don't pay their staff properly because they really aren't great when you need something. For the money we paid I am appalled at the poor service we got.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pheff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for sharing this with us and bringing it to our attention. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and I'm sorry to learn this didn't occur during your stay. Rest assured, we've shared this with our team to ensure it was an isolated incident.

If there's anything else you'd like to share, you're welcome to contact me anytime. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kananaskis in the future!

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We checked in on a Friday for a two night stay at the end of September. The hotel staff found our reservation and got us checked in very quickly.

The property consists of several buildings located in K Country, which is a short drive from Calgary. Lodgings, conference facilities, shops, restaurants, and pubs are all part of this small self-contained village. There are lots of hiking trails and wonderful views to enjoy. We are already planning a return trip for next year.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main entrances to avoid tour buses.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S2691JCphilipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannacatherine, Guest Relations Manager at Pomeroy Kananaskis Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Good Day;

We're thrilled to hear you're already planning your return visit! Our Nordic Spa will be open in early 2018, so hopefully you have time to enjoy some blissful R&R during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Gregson
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
joannag@lodgeatkananaskis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews