We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malibu Beach Inn-What's not to like!”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you're in Malibu, you should know things are not going to be a bargain. Not even in the realm of it, but this place is a little palace on the pacific! I loved it when it was a bargain back in the 90's! I go all the time, and this time a recording artist I produce, Jimmy Nash, was finishing up his record and suggested I stay there. Yes, it was not only fit for a rock star but a fussy perfectionist producer as well.

Go there, enjoy a cocktail while the shore breaks at your toes, sleep with a lovely fireplace in your room and watch the world go away as the sun sets over the Pacific.

Worth every penny...

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a fireplace, but make sure, it was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supa-Andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! It was a pleasure to welcome you back again, and we're just delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. And of course, we're so happy that you were able to sit back, relax and enjoy some of the best views in Malibu too! We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Another one night stay on business and loved the location of this hotel. Kat at the front desk was great to deal with and made sure we got a room as soon as it was ready after being very early for check-in. The room was extremely clean and very good size, excellent bathroom and shower as well. I got to sit in the chair and enjoy the gas fireplace for a short time, I also appreciated how the room is setup, very cool looking place overall. My only complaint would be that you could hear the person in the next room coughing, seems as though the walls could use a bit more soundproofing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn! It was a pleasure to host you, and we're so happy to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy your time here, even though your stay was short. We hope to see you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Overcharged $70.00 for a book and snacks of which we did not use. Watch your bank statement close. We were in the room 8 hours only. Sofabed is horrible, valet charge of $27.00 per night high as you aren't given a choice on parking. Room was over the restaurant which was suppose to close at !0:00pm but last people didn't leave till close to midnight. Room cramped for three people. Restaurant setup started at 6:00 in the morning. Made for a short nights sleep. Too much noise for cost.

Room Tip: Make sure room is not over restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Welcome to TripAdvisor! We’re sorry to hear that your stay at our property didn’t meet your expectations. We take our guests' feedback very seriously, so we appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your thoughts with us. We will certainly consider your input and make any necessary adjustments. If we may be of further assistance, please be encouraged to contact us at 310.456.6444. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hotel was Very clean and inviting. The Staff was so helpful and caring. I stayed at the hotel with my two young sons and we enjoyed every minute. The food was delicious and very fresh.

Room Tip: People with young children should get the pier view, because you also get a view of the traffic. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocio v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate your wonderful review and we look forward to the opportunity to host you and your boys again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We've been looking for this kind of wave sound for years. Only negative is the $26 parking fee. Otherwise it was a perfect couple of days spent here while our house was tented for termites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compulvisetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,668 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: RM1,808 - RM3,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing