We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveller rating
681
378
132
60
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
378
132
60
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location front desk bungalow room underground parking santa monica killer shrimp breakfast buffet walking distance definitely stay here again beds were comfortable los angeles fitness center washington blvd la area close to the airport hgi lobby
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Reserved a “quiet” room as a Hilton Honors member and was given a ground-floor room facing a busy street under a streetlight, with two inch shutters on the window.
Light streamed in overnight, together with the constant sound of traffic. The heater would not work without calling maintenance, the sink wouldn’t drain after the first night, no easy chair or couch, a flimsy microwave at floor level. WOW! Pathetic!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Seabreeze48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Seabreeze48,

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do our best to meet all of our guests requests however sometimes we cannot meet everybody's. We try to make up for that with stellar service by our team which I'm sure do not disappoint. It is very unfortunate your room just did not seem to be in the top condition we normally pride ourselves in presenting. Our engineering team has since provided a refresh to the room including maintenance to all appliances in the room. I believe if you were to give us another chance on your next visit we will be able to change your perception of our property. If you decide to come back please feel free to reach out to me directly for a more personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights in march.
Our credit card was hit with a lot of charges that we are trying to deal with.
Charged two lots of total stays breakfast that was part of the package
Room was late in being ready 1600
Room was dirty cigarette buts on patio
Sofa had stains on it
Manager assured me that charges would be rectified.
This is the worst hilton branded property that we hsve had the experience in staying in on our round the world travel.
I dont know if it was intended or inexperience at the front desk
But our credit card company is investigating these many many charges that have been added to our card.
We noticed this hotel has credited a small amount back to us.
Beware

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank mgthomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear mgthomlinson,

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered in your room, and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again. As well, the charges you have seen are simply authorization holds and will drop off your card in 3-5 business days from check-out. We regret that this wasn’t made clear, and your feedback is genuinely appreciated as it is the first step in helping us improve our services. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Overall an great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Marina del Rey, with a few minor issues to consider. First, the pros: STAFF: All the staff I encountered at this location were extremely professional, courteous and helpful. LOCATION: the location is great - not too far from the airport, or from other attractions around town, whether here for business or pleasure. BREAKFAST: I would suggest paying a little extra up front for the breakfast when you book - it'll likely be cheaper than purchase at the property, and breakfast is relatively good - not expansive, but certainly enough options. AMENITIES: There is a small, coin operated laundry available on site. There is a pantry available with snack items. The breakfast, as mentioned, is quite good and reasonably priced (especially if purchased with the room). Internet access is free, and you have the option to pay a little extra for higher-speed access.

A few potential cons to consider: PARKING: there is an underground garage available, which is really convenient, but not free ($20/day at the time of this review). There is also a cheaper city lot next door, but no in/out privileges. PRICE: The proximity to the water/marina affords a much higher asking price for the hotel quality level. The rooms are certainly adequate, but not at all worth the price. There are certainly higher quality, yet less expensive options available in the LA area, if you're willing to be farther from the water. BUNGALOWS: Pay attention when booking the room as these options may not be ideal for everyone. These rooms are located "outside" the main lobby area. You must walk through the lobby, and out to a courtyard area, and access these rooms. For some this may be perfect, as they are a bit more isolated. However, you will need to walk in the elements (rain, etc. should there be any - I mean this is Southern California after all) to get to your room and to access any amenities in the lobby.

Overall: Though a bit pricey for the hotel star level/quality, the location, underground parking, breakfast, and friendliness of the staff made this an excellent stay for my purposes.

Room tip: Bungalow rooms are located outside and may not be ideal for everyone
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biomanxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear biomanxii,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great informative review. It is always helpful when our guests outline what they felt was successful for them during their trip. Our location certainly is amazing for a traveler looking to stay on the west coast near the Pacific. The parking is at $20 plus tax however we do offer a secure location as opposed to it being outside from the hotel. If you are staying longer than one day you would have to go back and forth each time to update your parking ticket to avoid being towed. Our area also has security camera access for an extra added level of security whereas the lot next door does not. We are thrilled you enjoyed the staff interaction and we would love for you to come back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Spent two nights here to take in the sights of LA before returning home to the UK. Really wish we’d not bothered and slept in the car! We were greeted by a pleasant reception area and were greeted nicely by the staff but that’s where it ends! Somehow we were given a mobility room which meant we were given a special bathroom which had the most complicated shower I’ve ever seen. Making it difficult to have a shower and if you did succeed in getting any water out, it was cold and you would flood the bathroom. The beds were so uncomfortable, you woke up not refreshed but feeling like you had gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson! Not only were the beds uncomfortable the pillows were like bags of air that had no substance to them and the beds creaked with every slight movement. We were given a room facing a busy road and car park so had constant traffic noise all night. The mini fridge was so loud at night you thought it was going to take off and try as we might couldn’t turn it off. The walls seemed thin as we heard ours neighbours TV and them slamming to door every morning. Plus you are supposed to get tea and coffee facilities but it’s mainly coffee so we had to ask for tea and milk every night.
I appreciate every person has a different experience but ours was awful and we would never return, I can’t wait to check out!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lulabella79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Lulabella79,

I first want to personally apologize for the poor stay you suffered while you were with us. We always aim to provide a seamless experience from start to finish and it just wasn't the case with your stay. As you can see with our previous reviews we normally provide nothing short of a 5 star experience so it is disconcerting to read you just thoroughly did not enjoy our property. Secondly, I would like to thank you for providing us with this feedback giving us the opportunity to correct the condition of the room you had stayed in. I can assure you this review was shared with my team and can comfortably say we are taking the right steps into making sure our Preventative Maintenance program with the Engineering team is being up kept. The room you have stayed in has recently gone through an update and refreshment as well. Granted your stay was horrid I would still love the chance to get you to revisit us to show you we are better than the 1 star given to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Picked the hotel due to it's closeness to Venice without being directly in the madness of Venice. Nice location right off of Washington Blvd. with plenty of parking underneath the hotel. Be aware the clearance ramp getting into the garage is low so don't plan on parking an SUV.

Hotel was a 15 minute walk to the heart of Venice or Abbott Kinney Rd. Main facilities were very nicely maintained and low-key and the room was a standard, clean, and well kept Hilton Garden Inn room. The balcony was a nice touch. The only thing to make the rooms better would have been to add some wall decor to highlight local area and make it seem less generic.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank foureyes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Gerard B,

It was a pleasure to host you during your time with us. It was a delight to read that our location played a major part in your successful visit. One of the many advantages at staying at this Hilton Garden Inn are our rooms with balconies which offer a great ability to enjoy a refreshing cup of coffee in the morning, relaxing during the middle of the day, or even just enjoying a nice peaceful view at night before bed. We hope to see you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews