We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn(Mendocino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill House Inn(Mendocino)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast(Mendocino)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agate Cove Inn(Mendocino)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Door Inn(Mendocino)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nicholson House Inn(Mendocino)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast(Mendocino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackberry Inn(Mendocino)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
35
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedin townmaryskylightvrbocottageredwoodsgardenpropertyfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The cottage was the best part of our Mendocino stay. It is thoughtfully decorated and appointed. The kitchen is well enough equipped that cooking real meals is possible. (We cooked the three nights after going out our first night for a not very good meal. Buy fabulous fresh fish at the waterfront and meat/smoked meat on the main street in Fort Bragg.). It was chilly, so we appreciated the quick and efficient heater in the bathroom, the fluffy color coordinated quilts on the bed, and especially the wood burning stove, which was prepared with kindling and wood for a fire the first night, and enough wood for a fire every night. There is of course heat in each room of the cottage as well, but it was so relaxing to tend and read by the fire. There initially was a glitch with the WiFi which Mary was very prompt in getting fixed. She and Peter were very welcoming and available, but not intrusive. The cottage is very private and separated from Mary and Peter's house both visually and by trees, fence gate, etc. All in all an outstanding experience. (Note the bedroom and bath are upstairs.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LSfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My partner and I booked this lovely cottage over the 4th of July weekend. We have high expectations and I have to say, we were blown away by how charming this little spot is, and how wonderful the owner, Mary is. The cottage is PERFECTLY located just 5-10 minutes from town, so all of the amenities are close by, yet it's nestled way back into the redwoods for a peaceful and secluded feeling. We felt like we were completely alone in our own private paradise. That said, Mary and her husband live on the property in their own home that is a completely separate dwelling. Mary's huge gorgeous garden is lush and concealing and serves as a barrier between the buildings, so not only are you surrounded by beauty, you have plenty of privacy.

The cottage is super cute with a fireplace and a coastal theme. Every detail was covered - I can't think of anything we would want for. It was fully furnished, including all kitchen implements and bathroom needs. It was quietly luxurious with a very comfortable bed, plenty of cozy seating, light and windows to the redwoods everywhere, and even a skylight over the bed (eyemasks provided if you wanted, but the angle was built right so we didn't need them). It was lovely to look at the stars from bed!

Furthermore, which I thought was above and beyond for a weekend rental, we were provided with fresh strawberries, bananas, eggs, milk, butter, English muffins, coffee, and tea. Everything one could wish for a morning snack or continental breakfast.

I would consider this a very eco-friendly place, with a compost, recycling, and water/heat usage consciousness. Not in an intrusive way or anything that took away from the visit - just simple cognizance of reducing environmental impact.

Mary contacted us upon booking with some great information, and then followed up the day prior to arrival with directions. She was very forgiving of our uncertain arrival time, so we made our way leisurely up the coast and simply called when we arrived. She gave us a thorough but brief introduction to everything we would need to know, and left us to enjoy the serenity. Upon checkout, she came over to take our picture and ensure we had enjoyed our stay. Lovely hospitality. Attentive without being intrusive. We could have gabbed for quite a while as she's a lovely person had our travel plans allowed!

I would highly recommend this place. If we visit the area again, there's no question where we will stay. Mendocino certainly has its share of very high end fancy places, and this is not going to be the equivalent of that by any stretch, but it was delightful, clean, pristine, and absolutely cozy. If you're seeking charming escape in the woods, I would highly recommend it. We enjoyed it thoroughly.

One final note - my partner is on AT&T and did not have cell service (to his great pleasure). I was on Verizon and did. He said he found a WiFi signal but I'm not sure if that was supposed to be there or not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After suffering car troubles that stranded us in the area, and having reservations for Le Petite Maison that were for a few days from then, we decided to call and see if we could come early. Mary and Peter were very accommodating and had the place ready in a matter of hours...phew. We were as stressed as we could be when we arrived, a long few days on the road and sick car, I was shattered. It literally took about 17.5 minutes of being there for my worries to melt and for the relaxation to begin. This place is suitable as a base camp for exploring the area or as a self sufficient vacation home to spend time and relax. The decor was amazing, very country cottage chic, all amenities you need, full kitchen, beautiful bedroom and very welcoming hosts. I have very high praise for Le Petit Maison and for Mary and Peter who make the place what it is. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: N/A, it's a cottage
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWChalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our time at the cottage was very special. Mary and Peter Zama have created a charming environment on their property that is very special.
The cottage is cozy and private, surrounded by the forest, a lovely, well tended garden, occasional deer and a very friendly pond of frogs.
Five minutes from Route 1 La Petite Maison provides all the solitude of the forest with quick access to the beaches and small towns all along the coast.
Mary has appointed the rooms with a fine eye towards detail, with cozy chairs and fantastic throws and good lighting, and Pete has packed in an amazing collection of books.
It was a wonderful three days. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbsfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I spent a fantastically relaxing and enjoyable week-end in Mendocino, and our stay at "La Petit Maison" was the highlight of the trip. The house is absolutely perfect: richly equipped, immaculately clean and wonderful in every respect. The hosts, Mary and Peter, could not have been more welcoming, or helpful or gracious; they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and made us feel like family members.

The cabin is less than five minutes away from the city of Mendocino, and yet it feels like a different world altogether: private, quiet and in the middle of the woods.

We will definitely go back. Thank you Mary and Peter for a great week-end!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertoDeRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews