We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Monterey Bay Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the Monterey Bay Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2006

We just stayed at the lodge last weekend. We loved the service, the room and the heated pool and spa. Close to everything without breaking the budget. They really deserve first place. Comforters and pillow shams, and lots of little extras. Great job on everything. Make sure you try Sanctuary whale watching too. You'll love it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    228
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
117
195
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2006

This a great value. My husband and I stayed here about 8 years ago and remembered the good service and location. We planned a trip to returned to Monterey with our daughters and wanted to stay here again. It was better this time. They have remodeled since our last stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The service at the front dest is excellent. All rooms have free wireless internet access. We both had our laptops and the first night I had trouble accessing the internet. I reported it to the front desk, they checked, had the problem fixed and called me back with the details. They gave great recommendations for restraunts and local intrests. The pool is usally heated all year although it was not heated when we were there, something was broken. The hotel is within walking distance to a beach park, a great little park called Dennis the Menace, and of course the Fishermans Wharf. It is a drive to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Overall an excellent hotel with great service. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fyrwife109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

Lovely little motel. Immaculate, very reasonably priced, friendly staff, great beach access, walking distance to everything (though a bit of a walk). It is set apart from the rest and that results in peace and quiet and easy parking. The lone downside was that the mattress was back-breakingly soft.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCTravelers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2006

We've stayed here twice (once in May last year, once in October) and both times were very impressed. It's got everything we need--clean, nice rooms w/ very nice bathrooms; quiet; across street from a wonderful walking beach (we saw dolphins in Oct.!); walking distance to wharf and downtown; nice cafe for b'fast attached; very helpful staff, and low prices for what you get. Also a lovely pool, which we've yet to use for some reason (too much to do in Monterey!)

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loriPBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2005

We booked the Monterey Bay Lodge on the basis of reviews on Tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. The reception staff were without fail helpful and friendly, the grounds were beaultifully kept and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door, with money-off coupons given out by the hotel. There was a great choice of food and with the money off it was very good value.

The room was a reasonable size and very well furnished, with a small shower room that seemed virtually brand new and a spacious well-lit vanitory area next to it. However there was a lack of decent storage space, with just one small wardrobe. As we were on a 2 and a half week road trip that wasn't really enough for all our stuff, but as we were only staying for 2 nights it didn't matter too much. We stayed in October, when the weather was very changeable and although it was cold at night the heating was good. The fridge in the room with complementary water was a nice touch, as was the coffee maker. There was a pool in the grounds but the heating was broken so we didn't use it however it looked good, clean and sheltered.

Depending what you want to do in Monterey, the location might not be ideal for you. It was about 15 minutes walk to the lively bars of downtown, but it was necessary to get a taxi or drive to Cannery Row, with its great restaurants and the amazing Aquarium: a must to see (and discount two-day tickets were available from the hotel). This was fine for us, except when we had a lonnnng wait for a taxi back on one occasion. We did experience some slight road noise and if returning would request a room away from the main road. We could also hear the sealions from Fisherman's Wharf!

Overall though, a really nice homely base for a stay in Monterey and I would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
9 Thank emmadaisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): RM474 - RM1,347
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing