We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$209
Hotels.comUS$209
PricelineUS$209
eDreamsUS$209
FindHotelUS$209
Trip.comUS$214
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
109
55
20
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
55
20
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cannery row within walking distance great location free covered parking nice shower family suite view of the ocean restaurants and bars exploring monterey the hotel is conveniently located the air conditioning room was clean parking garage small hotel minute walk three nights road trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We stayed at the Wave Street Inn for two nights. Overall, our stay was great! Here are some pros/cons...

PROS:

1. Location - This hotel was easy to get to and was very convenient to Cannery Row where you can find restaurants, shopping and the aquarium. It's only about 2 blocks from the water so we could see the bay from our room!

2. Room Size - We came from a small room in San Francisco so our room felt huge. We had a king size bed and plenty of room for our bags. Additionally, the bathroom was a good size with a nice vanity. Neither of our SF hotels had sinks in the room so I really appreciated this bathroom with a nice big walk-in shower and good lighting.

3. Street Parking - The hotel charges $17 per day to park. We knew we weren't going to be there much so we parked on the street at the meters overnight. When we were there and needed to pay the meter, we used the ParkMobile app which I already had on my phone because I use it here in Boston. It's super easy to "Add a car" to the app so you can assign the spot to your rental car. If you're going to spend most of your time in Monterey, it may be cheaper to use the $17 hotel parking.

CONS:

1. Breakfast - There are not a lot of places to eat breakfast within walking distance of the hotel. There is a restaurant across the street that looked good but had a hour wait (at 11am on a Tuesday) and a coffee shop (Tidal) down the road that had a long line and so-so breakfast options.

2. Noise - The people in the room above us must have been heavy footed or something because it sounded like all they were doing was stomping around. It didn't bother us at night (I assume they were asleep when we were asleep) but other times of the day it felt like they were stomping so loudly.

Overall, our stay here was great and I would stay there again for the location and ease. There was a really large antique mall right on Wave Street that was great. And, we walked down to Osteria Al Mare for dinner our last night and had a wonderful meal and conversation with the owner. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbfader
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns of Monterey, Marketing at Wave Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Hi,

Thank you for the review and comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the size of your room and the location of the Wave Street Inn. We apologize for the noise you experienced from the room above you. We strive to provide each of our guests with a positive experience. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more positive stay.

Sincerely,
Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Being so close to everything took all the stress out of our stay. We easily walked to the aquarium, restaurants, and McAbee beach. We never had to fight for parking on Cannery Row. The hotel was lovely and unique, and the huge patio with seating around fire pits was the perfect spot to wind down at the end of the day.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sandyktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns of Monterey, Marketing at Wave Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Hi Sandy,

Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Wave Street Inn and that you found the hotel to be lovely and unique. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Inns of Monterey Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Went for 2 nights for Monterey Aquarium. John at front is the best. He got us two rooms next door to each other for our 6 yr old granddaughter to go back and forth.
Amenities were complete coffee was great refilled on request. Only drawback is the sliding door between closet and bathroom, only one room at a time is available and NO way to lock bathroom door. Room was clean bed comfortable.no one came in while we were there to clean, that was okay. Will be back and can recommend to stay.

Room tip: Talk to John at front desk
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns of Monterey, Marketing at Wave Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021

Hello,

Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear our staff was helpful and you had a great time staying with us, as well as enjoyed the Monterey Bay Aquarium. We thank you for the feedback and will share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Location is perfect, away from the crowd and noise on canary row, yet walkable to most shops, restaurants and bike trail.
Room is clean and modern, they have 2 fire pits in the courtyard.
All staff are friendly, especially John at check in and out!
Parking is $17 per day, will be perfect if included in the room.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank margaretcD8812OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns of Monterey, Guest Services / Front Office at Wave Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Hi Margaret,

Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We try very hard to make sure our guests are charged for only what they want and us because some properties use a “resort fee” to charge guests for amenities, whether they are used or not. Therefore we have optional amenities and services, such as parking, separately. We are glad to hear our staff was very helpful and that you had an overall perfect and great time staying with us, as well as enjoyed our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Great place to stay on the way from SF to LA. Clean rooms, fire pits at night, bay view from family suite. Second room got a little warm at night with door closed. Main area had the AC. Would definitely stay again. Eat breakfast at the Wave St Cafe across the street! We ordered to go and ate back at the hotel. They have outside seating areas near the fire pits.

Room tip: Lallas for dinner was great!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 65sherryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns of Monterey, Guest Services / Front Office at Wave Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Hi Sherry,

Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear you had a great time staying with us, as well as enjoyed our firepits and views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews