We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Munras Inn(Monterey)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada by Wyndham Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Inn(Monterey)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$229
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lone Oak Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$139
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$288
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$426/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,713)
Filter reviews
2,713 results
Traveller rating
1,251
839
358
181
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
839
358
181
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesceiling fanconvention centerbreakfast buffetself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelmonterey baywhale watchingsea lions
Filter
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 2,713 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Great location friendly staff love the atmosphere great shopping,restaurants. Lots of history. Can't wait to return.always our favorite hotel to stay at in Monterey. Just steps away from the wharf n ocean.

Room Tip: Marine view
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We were had not prebooked but had hotel had been recommended so we called in. We were impressed from the start. Valet parking and he was very helpful while we checked for available rooms. Checkin excellent and the cookie was a nice touch. Special on for breakfast added for the price of 99c so we went for it :). Rooms were large and could not find fault. Heating and cooling not needed as the weather was pleasant. Room overlooking courtyard was quiet and comfortable. Explored the area and had beer and bight to eat. Liked the beers and food good. Walking distance to attractions and on doorstep to the wharf where we enjoyed an evening meal. After fantastic sleep enjoyed a first class breakfast with eggs to order and enough choices to satisfy anyone. We wished we had got to Monterey earlier so we could spend more time to explore and relax at Portola. Used valet service as only a couple of dollars more and worth it.

Room Tip: For quit night ask for room facing courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gleesonmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I stayed here on business and it was a great location to just walk around alone. The pool is perfect and heated and the lobby restaurant Jack had some of the best crab chowder I have ever had. The staff was nice and they have a cool pirate pack for the kids (with treasure hunt). The only bad part was that the lobby store was seriously overpriced (laughably) but oh well.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We had a really nice two night stay at the Portola. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. Check in was easy with friendly professional staff. We had gotten a really reasonable rate for the dates we were stashing and I figured we would get the worst room in the place…not so. We had a courtyard room on the 6th floor. I wasn't disappointed that there was no view as I had read reviews prior to going that the courtyard rooms would be quieter. The room had a large flat screen tv, small refrigerator, coffee machine and a small safe.

The only negative thing I can say about the room and it might not both most but there was no air conditioning. We first walked in and it was more than toasty on that beautiful sunny day. I figured the a/c needed to be turned on but seeing a tower fan in the room was an indicator there would be no air. We were able to open up the window. That along with the ceiling fan and tower fan the room cooled down pretty fast. It ended up being fine.

The hotel seemed to have a mix of guests from couples, groups, families and pet owners. We loved the location of the property and that is why we chose it. We parked the vehicle upon arrival and did not go back until the end of the stay. We were able to get out and walk the wharf, bike trail and through the downtown area. If you enjoy walking then you can get to the aquarium and other nearby tourist areas. There was also a trolley that kept coming by so that is another option other than driving and trying to find parking.

The grounds of the property have a really nice feel when walking through the lobby area. Since they only offer free wifi in the lobby…if you wanted to spend some time in the lobby it had plenty of places to sit and relax while using it.

The only odd thing is the pool area seemed to be located in a separate structure same as the parking. So you would see people walking back from the pool with towels wrapped around them crossing cutting through the pedestrians that were coming to the wharf. We didn't use the pool so it didn't bother us.

The self parking is $19 and valet is a few dollars more and both are in a covered garage. I am never thrilled with paying that much for parking but it was convenient and covered.

We did go to the Peter B for happy hour and enjoyed the food and local beer. We would go back again but the rest of the stay we had ventured out into other local restaurants.

When we return to Monterey we will definitely consider staying at the Portola Hotel and Spa again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

The first impression was the right impression. The lobby, the staff and then oh my gosh rooms. Clean, tastefully decorated and a vey comfortable bed. The location is primo and should be a consideration when vacationing in Monterey.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi JulieLynn F,

Thank you for posting your feedback about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear that we made the “right impression” on you during your first stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews