We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and a clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We reserved a king size room for a weekend getaway. We were pleasantly welcomed by the front desk, they answered a lot of questions regarding things to see and do. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and spacious. Had 2 sinks so perfect for his and her space. The hotel is well maintained and across the street from a shopping mall. High end stores, dining, starbucks, and rite aid pharmacy in case you forget anything. Good wifi access. Easy drive to the waterfront (5 minutes to wharf, 10 minutes to cannery row). Breakfast options were good. It was a traditional continental breakfast. Hard boiled eggs, toast and eggo waffles, 2 types of cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, fruit, pastries. I found enough for me to be satisfied. Parking is a little tight so if you have multiple cars, you may not find a spot at night. There is a pool but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: King size room is perfect size - large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Becky P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Great location – convenient – good variety for breakfast. Lights a bit bright from the outside so hard to make the room really dark. Affordable.
Parking easy. View not great and a bit noisy. Beds comfortable. Each room has a mini fridge, microwave and safe. A small table to sit at with 2 chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank work2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear work2travel2,

Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our breakfast services and amenities. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide you a comfortable and convenient experience as a good value for your money. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay as much as we are!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2017

USA Trip 2017
Super8 motel MONTEREY
Stay here for one night room was clean bed very comfortable and staff was friendly and there are some brake fast too everything was good .very close to the mall we all very happy to be at super8..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank star p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear star p,

I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

If you only need a bed to sleep on for a few hours this place is OK. Want to take a bath, be sure to bring your own stopper. Front desk told me manager took them away because he did not want to pay for the water usage. Very low pressure shower head and sandpaper towels. Nice looking pool-locked up(mid June) but available if you want to swim in the cold water. Manager says there's no heater and never was one. Breakfast-cold junk food and the worst hotel coffee I ever drank. Luckily there are plenty of good coffee shops nearby. Poor quality breakfast left a bad impression. Over-all on par with Motel 6

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrys444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear barrys444,

Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We want you to know that we take your comments to heart and that we are continuously discussing and implementing new ways to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel.We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.1 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
3.5 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
4 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,138 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: RM 176 - RM 1,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing