We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest room on our road trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We were pleasantly surprised that this was the cleanest room we have stayed in on our trip. The other big name hotels we have stayed at were very disappointing. This Super 8 has a family owned feeling that cares, (while checking in, a woman came in with a non-working remote and taken care of quickly), the rooms very clean (checked behind the door for crusty dirt,none) and little touches like folded toilet paper bows and tissue fans that match the towel and wash cloth fans, no dust on headboard, clean carpets, sparkling mirrors and faucets. Give me a clean room any day versus a big corporate big name dirty "suite". Thank you to the staff at Super 8 Monterey for making our stay awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

joanch66,

Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality here at the Super 8 Monterey / Carmel Hotel. It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to
serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is a budget hotel. that charges a lot of money (almost $200 per night) based on it's location to Fisherman's Wharf. The only good thing about it is it's proximity (5 minutes walking distance to the Del Monte Center Mall that has Whole Foods right at the entrance). I got the impression that the owner made some minor cosmetic changes to the rooms - like new pictures on the wall and paint color, but didn't care to update anything else. The rooms were pretty clean, but very dated. Our room smelled of smoke and dampness. We tried to turn the heat on, but the the air was filled with such an awful stench of burning dust immediately, that we had to turn it off. The carpet and love seat were very old and dusty. The towels were extremely old and scratchy. The desk had one of the drawers inserted upside down(!) and the desk chair was very dusty with it's surface all scratched up.The breakfast is pitiful, and is served in the office with only few bar stools available, and no space to put food down even temporarily. I'm amazed that with no space they had the courage to serve breakfast.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Polina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Polina B,

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. On behalf of our entire staff of , Super 8 Monterey / Carmel Hotel, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team regarding the rate which is excessive for you. The hotel rates vary on weekdays and weekends based on events in town. The hotel prices was very competitive and We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Hi there
I have to say the hotel is totally overprice for what it is a basic high way Motel .
No effort to put money into the business and upgrade the 90's decor .
The breakfast is poor for what you pay .
The staff was good and the room were clean that is the least you could expect for 300 usd a night .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank balidiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear balidiva,

Thank you so much for your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope that this will be the case during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

A very pleasant motel to sleep without spending a fortune. Bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the sheets crisp and smooth. The room was clean and well maintained. Microwave and fridge are always handy to have, and coffee is provided in the room. Also a safe if you need to store valuables. There is no elevator to second floor. The king room had a table and two comfortable chairs. A simple, but filling breakfast is provided. Although the motel is located near a busy road, I didn't feel disturbed by the noise. I was on the first floor, and did not hear the people above me. The room is very basic with only one large attractive print over the bed. But, for the cost, it's a good bargain.

The motel is near a shopping center, many restaurants, fisherman's wharf, Cannery Row and all attractions. And of course, the major sight lovely, awesome Monterey Bay! I felt the staff was courteous and pleasant. This was my second stay, and I would stay here again when I want an economic place to sleep.

Room Tip: No elevator, so first floor if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA,

ank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Monterey / Carmel Hotel. I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We are glad your stay was comfortable and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

It wasn't what they advertised, room size is to small to be called "king suite" is exactly the same size as any other room in the property but you pay a "suite price" . We skip the continental breakfast , it wasn't our idea to eat on a stool and a counter . Ashtrays outside the room is not a good idea for a smoke free hotel. I book it because a review stated that it was a fun place for kids...is not , next time I'll pay the extra $50 or $75.00 a night for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank oscargM6139TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

oscargM6139TD,

Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We want you to know that we take your comments to heart and that we are continuously discussing and implementing new ways to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel.We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
4 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
3.5 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 56 in Monterey
217 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: RM139 - RM661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing