We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
322
362
98
33
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
362
98
33
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking cannery row great location antique mall free breakfast wine and cheese within walking distance the breakfast area crackers underground garage would definitely stay here again yogurt walked everywhere your luggage first floor bike path stayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Great hotel, does not look like a Holiday Inn. Complimentary breakfast and comfortable and modern rooms, no charge for underground self-parking. Courteous staff. Walking distance to the restaurants, gift shops and Aquarium at Cannery Row. Would stay there again!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RodneyChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at our property! It's true that we have a very unique structure -- it was designed to blend with the gorgeous style of the surrounding Cannery Row area, and we appreciate that you've noticed! Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Only spent one night here but what a lovely place, staff super friendly and efficient, rooms immaculate and in good order, bed very comfortable, great location nice building, would I go back? ABSOLUTELY, Keep up the good work ladies and gents

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KKREBLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Wow -- thanks for the wonderful review! We appreciate your choosing our property and we're blown away by your compliments! Thanks again, and we hope it's not too long until we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Probably owing to its location and surroundings in Monterey, this is a "non-standard" hotel. Quaint might be the word looking at it from the outside. We stayed here one night traveling between Los Angeles and San Francisco. We had a room with a King bed - room had a safe and fridge. Room was a bit on the small side but fine for the two of us. Room was very clean and bed and pillows were terrific.Check in was quick and easy and the gentleman was very courteous and helpful in explaining where everything was. Breakfast was standard HIE fare, but well attended to by staff. Eating area was fine for us but we always eat early, before the crowds.

The night we were there the place was totally quiet after 9:30PM and we had no noise issues. However, I could see the potential for noise issues given the layout (Internal courtyard) and rooms at the back right on the street. Also, due to the odd configuration, many rooms are only accessible by stairs. Not an issue for us, but if you can't carry your own luggage this could be a problem. As for a room on an elevator level.

All in all this was a great experience for us.

Room tip: Stay away from rooms at the back, potential for street noise.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's true that we do have a very "non-standard" look, and it's indeed to match our surroundings -- thanks for noticing! It sounds like our property fit your needs, and I hope you had a great time in Monterey. Thanks for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Great location, short walk to lots of restaurants, aquarium and wharf (where we left for whale watching tour). Rooms nice and clean, our room had a sort of sea view (through some trees). Hotel staff very polite and friendly. Free cheese and wine hour between 5.30 and 6.30 a nice extra (specially as wine over here is so expensive).

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cparsons27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for reviewing our property! I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our location and wine and cheese reception, and that you were able to go whale watching. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Centrally located on Cannery Row. Easy walking to the Aquarium, the Wharf and restaurants. My second time staying here. The rooms are clean, always updated. The grounds are clean and well maintained. The staff was always helpful and polite. I will stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank 53sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews