We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariposa Inn and Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
US$209
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$411
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
US$202
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
304
304
120
35
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
304
120
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbagelswhole foodscontinental breakfastgas fireplacehot tubcannery rowboutique hotelfree parkingbusy streetwaffle makerminute drivethe breakfast areagreat roomstayed here for one nightdowntown montereywonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My partner and I stayed here for one night, getting in quite late and leaving quite early the next day, so it is hard to leave a more detailed review. For the time we spent there, however, we found this hotel very adequate and satisfactory.

It had parking room for our car, free WiFi (which is necessary in this day and age), and the room was decorated in a trendy modern style, and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints here!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipitass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

We were pleased to welcome you to our property for your short stay, and we are very happy to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your needs. We are very pleased that you have no complaints; we would love to see you again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a lovely little place and very reasonable. The rooms were really clean and the bed was very comfy- everything you need for your stay. The breakfast was yummy and it had a lovely pool. All the staff we met were so friendly and helpful, free parking and free wifi included. It's about 5 minute drive down to Cannery Row, I'm sure you could walk it but might be a little uphill coming back but there is plenty of parking down there and it's pretty reasonably priced :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank misslindieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail to demonstrate how happy you were. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests, and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while attending a two-day race school program at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. The hotel is suitably located to be close to the circuit, Monterey's attractions and nearby Seaside. The reception staff member who checked us in was very helpful and welcoming, and the rooms are large, well appointed and have very comfy beds. Breakfast included is bang on expectations given the nightly rates. Parking on site is fuss free.

That being said, housekeeping and general maintenance appears to fundamentally let this hotel down. There was dust and lint under furniture, beds and behind doors - indicating the room (211) hadn't had a proper vacuum in months. The bathroom had black mildew on the walls (easily wiped off) and limescale on the shower fittings. The pool onsite needed a lot of work too. Despite leaving our room available from early morning to mid afternoon, housekeeping never came but attended to other neighboring rooms.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Richard, We are very pleased to hear that our location suited you so well, and that our staff were so helpful to you upon check-in. We certainly aim to please our guests to the very best of our ability. We are disappointed to hear that you had so many housekeeping and maintenance issues during your stay. We will discuss your feedback with our entire team, to ensure that we take all appropriate action to ensure that these issues are resolved for future guests. We appreciate your review, and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you on a future occasion. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband and I were on vacation and wanted to spend two days exploring the sights in Monterey and Carmel. We chose the Mariposa Inn, because it was conveniently located, had good reviews, and the price was reasonable for the area. We were very happy with our stay. Check in was easy and there was plenty of free parking. The room was very clean and the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and had the option of a continuous fan. This is important to us, as my husband is a light sleeper, awakened by the sound of a fan turning on or off. He slept very well. There was also a fireplace, but we had no need for it. The bathroom was decently appointed, but the tub was very slippery. We found out later that there was supposed to be a tub mat in the room. Hotel staff said they would make sure it was there for the next guest. A continental breakfast was included in our stay. It was not anything special, but it was fresh and tasty.
We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank debhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Deb, What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail to demonstrate how happy you were. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests! It's great to hear that you intend to stay with us again, we can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel wasn't awful but it definitely wasn't great. The continental breakfast was the same as a Days Inn. The room was very small and was soooo hot. There was an air conditioner but it just didn't do enough. Location was on a busy street and not within walking distance of anything interesting. The pool and jacuzzi were nice. A large tour group of elderly people was there during our stay so the property felt crowded.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jemoss404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for choosing our property for your accommodation needs. We are sorry that you didn't love your time here, and that our property wasn't ideally suited to your needs, but we trust that we got the basics right, and that you received a clean. comfortable room, and friendly service. We are sorry that we were not better able to meet your expectations. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews