We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a comfortable night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The location was great and had a nice view of Morro Rock. The room(#1) was pleasantly decorated in sea tones. The bedroom floor was laminate which seems more hygienic than carpet, and the bathroom floor was tiled. But basically you go to a motel to get a good night's sleep. The bed was terrible. It was very hard and caved in. It really needed replacing. For $165.00 a night you'd think they could do better. The fan in the bathrooms was very noisy. What they call a continental breakfast was coffee, OJ, and muffins cut into quarters. And yes, there were mosquitos.

Room Tip: Room #1 had a view of Morro Rock. I believe the upstairs rooms might have had a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Room 2, king size bed it didn't matter which way you slept in this bed, you always rolled to the middle of the bed. So my husband and I felt like we were sleeping in a taco shell. And I woke up with mosquito bites all over my legs. We have stayed in Room 1 which also had a king size bed and did not have these problems. Maybe it was the heat wave, no air conditioner but it was just terrible, miserable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mperez22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I like this place, friendly people and nice location and value priced. Id prefer A/C on the craziest weekend (Labor Day 9/3/2017) but its probably good with the ocean breeze. I like the upstairs - had a breeze (small). The rooms are small and they run your Credit Card by 5pm... (Fyi)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloha_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

This was to be a premium room and I got a room with mold, mosquitos, chairs with terrible tears and breakfast is cold muffins cut in pieces. The staff seemed to be friendly until you bring to their attention these things. There are many other motels for less that are far better.

Room Tip: don't pay for anything premium all rooms are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suza123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We spent a night in Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn while we were traveling from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Nice comfortable room. Offers fridge and coffee maker. It was cleaner that most motels we stayed in and it offered better breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeillesgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.2 km away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
506 reviews
0.8 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#26 of 29 in Morro Bay
254 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn

Address: 540 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: RM249 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn is centrally located in a quiet downtown area. Less than a mile from the Museum of Natural History, which is located in Morro Bay State Park. This Morro Bay, CA hotel is 30-40 minutes from Hearst Castle and 15 minutes from California Polytechnic State University. The San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport is 12 miles away. There is never a shortage of things to do in Morro Bay. Visitors will enjoy browsing boutiques and shops, or playing golf at the Morro Bay State Park on a world-champion course. Discover a coastline of clean dunes, or paddle down a silent estuary and spy on beautiful and rare birds. The beach, fishing and kayaking are within two blocks of the hotel. The Morro Bay Sandpiper is a clean and affordable property. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Special discounts are available for nearby restaurants and complimentary tickets to the Morro Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Morro Bay
Econo Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing