We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Morro Bay
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$125
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$174
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sail Inn(Morro Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
90
111
91
43
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
111
91
43
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkbird sanctuaryhotel restaurantheat waveclose to towngreat viewstayed nightsgas fireplacebeautiful roomsmall refrigeratorking bedsecond floorview of morro rockroad triprookerydylanbay
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We have stayed at The Inn at Morro Bay several times. We had found the beautiful views nice bar and restaurant and overall experience charming and relaxing. This visit in June 2015 was for the first time, disappointing. One issue was because of remodeling, the bar and restaurant were closed! During the "peak season" this is almost incomprehensible. We also experienced a glitch in housekeeping service our first day which was explained by other travelers checking out late? Everyone checked out late in one day?
We also experienced a minor injury. Our room had a view of Morro Rock. A white metal bar fence separated our "patio" from a wide viewing area which is the roof of the rooms below. My partner was not able to discern the white bar fence against a white painted guard rail and the shimmering water drenched in sunlight. She ran into the fence, injuring the bridge of her nose. Some care needs to be taken by the Inn.
The staff is very pleasant and apologetic. I am sure they have to be extra vigilant since the Inn's facilities are not entirely operational. Their pleasant and professional attitude kept this reviewer from rating this experience "below average." I am sorry Inn at Morro Bay. I hope things improve quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CulinaryEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

CulinaryEye

I am truly sorry that we did not live up to the historic and reasonable expectations that you had. Opening the restaurant is not in our control. We are very aware of the importance of our restaurant and bar especially during the summer. We are hiring staff now.

I also want to apologize for the delay in rooms being ready. We have many room types on our property and the housekeeping staff works really hard. But with the room type issue sometimes rooms may be available but they may not be the right room type.

I am still looking into the fence issue to see what happened and what we can do.

None of this is meant to be an excuse. We need to work as hard as we can to get beyond our difficulties and offer as perfect a stay as possible. If you come back I hope we are able to perform better. Thanks for your time and review.

Fred Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

The hotel is actually quite charming and on the sea in Morro Bay, which is a small, provincial town made famous by its giant granite rock! The Reception area had apparently just been redecorated and had only opened the day before. It was lovely with great views and tastefully done, but meant that there was no food available (although there were plenty of fish restaurants nearby).
The room was actually very nice. Modern finish, very comfortable bed, gas fireplace, sink in the room, balcony with chairs. We were impressed. It was just unfortunate that the weather was pretty awful when we were there for our one night (rainy, windy, grey, cold) so couldn’t use the pool or Jacuzzi. It’s very clean as well.
The ‘rock’ is ‘awesome’ and has falcons nesting on it, not that we saw any of those inbetween the gusts of freezing wind (that’s ‘June Gloom’ for you, typical, should have gone in May or July to California). You can drive right up to it. The Bay seems to be focussed around fishing or surfing, so it’s worth bearing in mind that, although it’s quite quiet and the beaches seemed nice, once you’ve seen the rock, and if you’re not much into those aforementioned activities, there’s not a lot to do (we did have a nice walk in the nearby wood and round the marina).
Would recommend the hotel though!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenMintola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

QueenMintola

Thank You for your wonderful review. We are constantly blessed to be able to work in our wonderful location. We have our restaurant just open and would Love to see you return soon.

Thanks Again

Fred Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Our room faced the bay and overlooked the water. It was peaceful and quiet even with the sea birds nesting nearby. The Inn is going through some renovation so accommodations are only getting better. I would consider staying here again and felt the price was fair.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Coast101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Coast101

Thank You for your review. The Birds are quite amazing and they have babies right now. Thanks for being forgiving. Please come again and enjoy our new restaurant and bar.

Fred Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews