We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Pet Friendly Place”
other traveller has booked this property
View Mount Shasta from The Chalet deck, just a few minutes from town.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View Mount Shasta from The Chalet deck, just a few minutes from town.
Winter at The Chalet Outdoor dining amidst the trees, facing the mountain.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
View Mount Shasta from The Chalet deck, just a few minutes from town.
Winter at The Chalet
Outdoor dining amidst the trees, facing the mountain.
Dining area off the deck, with mountain view. You will love the wood burning stove!
New oven / stove top 2016
Greet the morning sun as it streams into the kitchen.
Sofa reclines from both ends, facing wood burning stove.  Good for extra guest.
View from loft. Very efficient wood stove, great ambience. Central heat too.
Escape to privacy in the upstairs master bedroom, or relax in the loft.
Large Master Bedroom.  View the mountain when you awake from adjoining loft.
Master bath with shower / tub.  We provide the bubble bath!
Sleeper futon in master bedroom. Good for 1-2 kids or an adult.
Read a book in the loft with great view of the mountain through picture window.
Downstairs bedroom .... comfy! Bathroom right across the hall.
Downstairs bathroom with walk-in shower.
Laundry room with utility sink
Bakyard playground for 4-legged guests!
You won't get bored (even if you're snowed in!)
Got wood? (No charge for wood)
Great place to relax under tall trees after a long hike!
Got snow? Chalet is in the local 'snowbelt'.  Easy access to I-5.
Guests relaxing on the deck after a hard day of hiking
Chalet New Years Visitor 2005
Come back soon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Mount Shasta, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pet Friendly Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the Chalet and so did our dog Ella. The Chalet is in a great location, close to downtown, hiking and swimming. Jack and Terri have thought of everything and really made the Chalet user friendly for people and pets. We will definitely go back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
One of the many things our guests love about The Chalet is its location, just north of Mt. Shasta City (3 miles / less than 5 minutes) in a very quiet residential neighborhood. Also very close to Everett Memorial Highway, the road up the mountain to Bunny Flat and Panther Meadow. And yes, very pet friendly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Active7X7
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Peaceful Retreat / Great Home Base”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A week's stay here was wonderful. The roomy chalet has all the basics of home regardless of the time of year you visit and everything is well maintained; fully equipped kitchen with cooking & baking equipment, and a dishwasher, laundry room, comfortable beds, TWO full bathrooms, and fun games and puzzles, and books to read by the fireside if you want to hibernate. There is so much to see and do in the area year round and thechalet is central to everything. After each full day, it was great to return to a well equipped kitchen and prepare wholesome food and sleep undisturbed in peace and quiet. The mountain view is Awesome!

Communicating with the hosts was easy; very quick to answer any questions. The information binders on the table were very helpful. Thank you to the generous hosts for sharing such a wonderful place!

Next visit, I will plan my trip around this chalet's availability!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
It's so nice when guests are able to stay at The Chalet for more than 2-3 nights to really settle in and enjoy its comforts, truly making it a home-away-from home. It's so rewarding to hear many of our guests say that they plan their visit to Mt. Shasta based on the availability of The Chalet..... or reserve far in advance to get their preferred dates. That is our ultimate goal, to have the guest's Mt. Shasta experience enhanced by staying at The Chalet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
“The Perfect Retreat to Get Away and Relax!”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at the Chalet! First of all, Jack and Terri are incredibly organized, provide any information you could possibly need during your stay, and even have fantastic labels throughout the Chalet to help guide guests! Honestly, we originally looked at the Mt. Shasta Resort and found the Chalet by chance -- we believe this random Google hit was kismet! After seeing the resort by the lake, we felt it was pretentious and not us nor what we had wanted for our vacation. The Chalet, on the other hand, felt comfortable, like home, and the perfect place to rest-up and relax for a few days. We loved having the option to cook "at home" or eat out, and spent every morning at the breakfast table sipping our coffee in cute Chalet-branded mugs, watching the squirrels chase each other up and down the trees. The large windows provide a great view of the mountain, and, as it began to rain during our stay, a very serene, zen-like view of the rain falling through the trees. The wood-burning stove is lovely, and we really liked all of the seating options -- including the reading nook upstairs. We would pair a phone to the stereo system, turn-on Pandora to the soundtrack station, and read for hours. And the Wi-Fi is really strong! We found that we even had signal outside. We chose to sleep upstairs and found the bed very comfortable. Extra pillows and blankets, full woodshed and built fire ready for lighting, and Kleenex -- there isn't any detail overlooked and we instantly felt at home in the house. We have already booked our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome packet full of useful information!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
This review captures (in detail) why guests love The Chalet, and keep returning. The Chalet is not just a 'business'. It's is OUR mountain get-away 4-5 times /year, and our main objective is to do everything we can to allow guests to enjoy it as much as we do. This review is especially meaningful since it was the guests' first time in Mt. Shasta, celebrating a wedding anniversary... and they've already reserved the same dates next year, but this time for a longer stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
La Habra, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Everything about our stay at the chalet was perfect. The kitchen has everything we could need including a very quiet dishwasher and an awesome range/oven. The downstairs bed was super comfortable and there are lots and lots of extra pillows, sheets, and blankets. The furnace was efficient but we mostly used the wood stove, which really warmed things up fast. Lots of wood and kindling was provided. The neighborhood is beautiful.

There's a large utility room with a washer and dryer and a fenced backyard, which would be perfect for pets or kids.

Best of all was the owner, Jack, who was super great to work with. Jack actually contacted us the week before our trip to tell us about the weather forecast, which included only rain. He let us move our dates around to give us some sunny days and the visit was wonderful. Even the rainy days were wonderful in this cozy, beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many good things to pick only one
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
We really do try to make The Chalet much more than just a place to stay, but an integral part of the the guest's Mt. Shasta experience. These guests drove from S. California, staying for 6 nights. The weather forecast called for rain for almost their entire stay. Since the Chalet schedule allowed for it, I asked the guest if she would like to delay arrival by a few days to that there would be at least a few nice days during the latter part of their stay. I am glad that they were able to do it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy Y
Eureka, California
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the chalet. Absolutely everything we needs and the most thoughtful and responsive owner we've ever had the pleasure to rent from. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and welcoming it was.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
While The Chalet is a wonderful house for your mountain get-away, we offer much more to enhance your Mt. Shasta experience than. We go 'the extra mile' to provide answers to your questions, provide information about the area, and acknowledge special requests. The Chalet is much more than a 'business' -- our goal is help you have a fantastic and memorable vacation. We treasure our MANY repeat guests. (In fact, the first-time guest who just posted this January review has already reserved 5 nights in August!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing