We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
196
30
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
30
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown napa within walking distance carriage house two nights close to downtown celeste uncorked guests wine keys
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

My wife and I stayed there June 2018. First, the location is very close to the downtown area and within walking distance to most venues. Upon arrival, we found our keys to the room in an envelope on the porch. There was no one around the entire weekend other than breakfast. We were made aware that the owner would be away for a family function for the weekend but other people would be present. They were not. Our room was okay. Not great but okay. It could have been a little cleaner, was musty smelling. We were in the Tuscony Room which is a small cottage at the back of the property. The grounds are in need of landscaping, broken landscaping lighting all around, no grass or ground coverage. Patio is very nice. There is a BBQ which I assume is for the guests but there are no tools provided and it is a charcoal BBQ so unless your willing to purchase a bag of charcoal and lighter fluid, its not worth it. Breakfast is at 9:00 only. No exceptions. This did not work for us on the day we were leaving as we had an early flight. The owner would not accommodate us for an early departure. The room had very few if any toiletries. A large bottle of shampoo in the shower along with a pump bottle of soft soap. No glasses for teeth brushing etc. The toilet paper was probably the cheapest on the market. I bring this up as for what we paid for two nights, one expects a little nicer amenities. Like I said, the location is convenient, but we would look elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Check out other locations first
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCNapa, Owner at The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guests, thank you for your comments. We try and accommodate everyone all the time. We have been doing this for 30 years.
If I am away, then our innkeepers serve and provide. We do accommodate early morning departures, of course if it is within a reasonable time frame. We are a smaller B&B and we serve our guests at a reasonable time as a group, as we have found over the years that guests are ready to leave for wineries and tours, so 9am has worked the best. The Tuscany Carriage House is a quaint cottage, originally circa 1879 it housed the carriages. It has been updated and remodeled several times. Our rates are very reasonable for Napa where the average rate is well over $350/night. We maintain a fair rate as we like the guests that visit, have breakfast together, enjoy our Uncorked at Oxbow wine tasting house & live music. In July we have closed the carriage house location for a week
while we re-landscape and tear out all the existing deck area. The grill is provided for groups and families, we have never had a request for an individual guest to BBQ as we have many great restaurants within walking of the B&B. We apologize that we were not your right accommodation fit for our property. Our home is always being updated and renovated, it is an ongoing project. Our house keeper is on premise, innkeepers including myself in the mornings, errands throughout the afternoon and then our staff or we as owners see our guests at Uncorked. During this past weekend I attended my daughters bridal shower in Portland and my husband was in Napa in and out of the B&B , and both of our contact phone numbers are always provided to our guests if they have questions or special needs. We are a B&B, we don't have concierge service but we are always available. Our amenities are to provide convenience, in Napa we are required to have low flow efficient toilets and the paper we provide is eco friendly, or guests would be plunging daily as these toilets are fast flush. We have served thousands of guests over the years, and have had many happy returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a wonderful old home that has been restored to a B&B. Most importantly, we enjoyed a comfortable king size bed. The breakfast was wonderful and the hostess gave us a thorough history lesson after breakfast. The location is also really good as it is easy to get to from the highways and is walking distance from good restaurants in downtown Napa. One of our best B&B experiences.

Room Tip: Not for disabled folks-steep stairs. There is one room on the main floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCNapa, Owner at The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We really enjoy creating the Napa experience. Hope to see you again soon.
Celeste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Location is perfect for heading downtown or easy access to all main roads. Hosts are very gracious, involved and well connected within Napa. Communal breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed meeting our fellow guests.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank an2nb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We have stayed here two times. The rooms are nice, the stairs are steep. The food was good and they cater to people with dietary restrictions. Close to downtown so you are able to walk if you'd like. Old world charm in a family owned B&B.

Room Tip: Look at pictures online to help choose the room you want
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdrakern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCNapa, Owner at The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you and as always we really enjoy hosting you! We also have two rooms on first floor level. See you back at Open Mic at our Uncorked at Oxbow wine tasting house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Really cool old house, nice people. I did not really see anybody that worked there except the one gentleman who served us breakfast. They leave for you on the porch a nice packet with everything you need upon arrival. It's an old place. The garden gates don't open all the way which is an issue if you don't get around well. Also there are high narrow stairs to climb. Normally I would not notice these things but I threw my back out recently and it's funny how suddenly one's priorities change. Avoid this place if you use a walker, cane, crutches, or have a significant disability. Though we will certainly stay here again when my back is better. Don't bring you kids here. It's really for couples. VERY romantic. Kids won't like it at all. I enjoyed sitting on the porch reading the paper and watching people go in and out of the church across the street.

As far a negatives it was a bit disappointing (and quite trusting of them) to put everyone's' keys and packet on the front porch, so when you arrive you just grab your packet and go in and up to the room. That's all well for a good neighborhood (which this seems to be), but then they tell us to keep the doors closed and locked, and the front door always needs a key. Nothing wrong with that either, but I felt they should then at least give us two sets of keys because couples are not always joined at the hip.

All in all, a great place and a positive experience I would happily repeat.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCNapa, Owner at The McClelland-Priest Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you Edward for your review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and will return. We are usually in and out running errands for the B&B , we are a small property 6 rooms. We also own Uncorked at Oxbow our wine tasting house , and we try and coordinate with the welcome packet that you see us at either location. When reservations are booked through Expedia, Priceline or a global reservation platform, we do not get any information about our guests i.e. email, phone, or any other means to contact. When reservations are made direct on the site we have an idea when guests are arriving as they are asked estimated arrival time, guests are arriving throughout the day, hence the "welcome Packet" per chance guests want to begin win e tasting, as there are maps, coupons and arrival information. It is for guest convenience. If guests have children, we usually recommend our Tuscany Carriage house as it has an extra bed. Wine
country can be a family trip, i.e bike rides, balloon flights, wine train, the geyser, wine country safari and more. We have had many families bring older children. The home was built in 1879, and has been restored, preserved, maintained and updated. It is an on going process, especially after the Aug. 2014 quake. Guests always have my cell phone should there be special requests and we always try and accommodate. Sorry to learn about your back, and hope it heals soon. Looking forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Celeste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews