We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,677)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveller rating
1,629
32
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
32
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jim's breakfasts jim jamie cookies homemade truffles angel's share sparkling wine picnic basket amazing hosts port wine each morning other guests napa valley wine tour dietary restrictions jacuzzi tub bed and breakfast living room
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Right after I booked the hotel, I received a welcoming message by email and asked me about any food allergies to accommodate my special needs if there is any. I thought that it was very thoughtful. Upon arrival, there was a champagne and truffles! What a wonderful surprise! The hotel room was very clean and beautiful. Also, Jamie was kind enough to recommend us some wineries which I really appreciated. Instead of visiting very touristic well known wineries, we were happy to have visited historic beautiful wineries with personalized & professional service!

Room tip: My room (#4) was on the corner on the 2nd floor. The room had a cute small balcony and was quiet . In the bathroom, there were two sinks.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silicon_valley_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear silicon_valley_mom, we enjoyed meeting you both and now you know Jim would never want to put anything on a plate in front that you couldn't or would rather not eat. I was, and always am, happy to share all of what Napa has to offer with our guests. There is absolutely something for everyone and it only requires answers to a few simple questions for us to come up with the best recommendations. Thanks, also, for sharing your experience with us here on trip advisor. We appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Jim and Jamie are the best hosts we have met in our 3+ months travels plus the inn is beautiful and close to town.
They helped us change our schedule due to the fire in Yosemite, offering great alternatives.
Jim is also an excellent chef, creating unique breakfasts.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear JoAnne M, thank you for your very kind words and for sharing them with the TA community. We so enjoyed being a part of your excellent 50th anniversary adventure and we were so happy to help you reschedule some of your days due to the fires in Yosemite. We trust the remainder of your road trip is safe and uneventful. We hope to share more of Jim's 165 unique breakfasts with you one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the Inn on first , we felt right at home. The rooms are Beautiful and well maintained; anything you would want on a vacation , they have thought of. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious. Jim prepares such unique dishes that you would not find anywhere else. We loved getting to know both Jim and Jamie. They know their stuff ! Whether you need help with dinner reservations or wine tour tips from Jamie , they know where to send you. We will most definitely be back soon. This is not your usual bed and breakfast, this is 10 steps up!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Katie F, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it's affirming to know we haven't lost our touch when it comes to matching the right wineries to our guests desires! We better know our stuff after spending more than eleven years immersed in this adult play land we call the Napa Valley! We sincerely hope you'll be back again for another go around with Jim's amazing breakfasts! Thanks for taking the time to share your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Inn on First for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We got in late our first night, and self check-in was a breeze. Jaimie and Jim are wonderful hosts and truly think of everything. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely jacuzzi tub. They provided a picnic bag (and ice packs) as well as refillable water bottles for us to take on our excursion through wine country. Their recommendations for food and wine were also excellent. The breakfast was creative and delicious with a different gourmet entree each day. We truly had the best time and can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Emily G, thanks for your very generous review and we're glad that eleven-plus years of experience makes for smooth sailing for our guests! I will pass along to Jim how very happy your were with the breakfasts. He's created approximately 160 unique breakfasts and as you know we will not serve you the same breakfast a second time on your next visit, which we sincerely hope will happen in the not too distant future. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience here. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

My husband reLUCtantly agreed to stay for a weekend get-a-way as his perception of a Bed & Breakfast was not great! Boy of boy was he surprised! Don’t hesitate to book as Jim & Jaimie run a world class business. Highlights:

1) The attention to detail was phenomenal! Our room captured/protected the historical beauty of a 100+ year old home while adding a touch of modern elegance one is looking for! The bedding was perfectly cozy & the amenities (fragrant spray for the bathroom) are well thought out!
2) The guest experience (outdoor living/conversation space, parlor, tea station, freshly baked goodies, water bottles, picnic baskets...) was first rate! I have never felt so welcome & comfortable!
3. Best. Breakfast. EVER!!! We are a well traveled family & can, without a doubt, state we have NEVER experienced such a exquisite breakfast!
4. Jamie & Jim perfectly balanced guest engagement with their intentional effort to respect guest privacy. They are both highly intuitive. Their input/guidance of hidden gems within the area was also extraordinary.
5. We can’t wait to return for Christmas!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank smaxwell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear smaxwell13, We are so glad you were able to convince your husband to stay with us and we are hoping it will not take an arm-twist to get him to come back! Thanks for letting us, and the trip advisor community, know how much you enjoyed the breakfast, and the rooms, all of it. We love what we do and we love sharing it with so many wonderful Napa visitors on a daily basis. We'd love to see during the Christmas holiday, it's my favorite time of year and we'd be thrilled to share the inn with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews