We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local fav ”

Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I’ve been a regular customer here since the 1970s. Great food, fantastic staff, nice ambiance. One of the local greats.

Thank mes227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We made a reservation well in advance to celebrate out anniversary. We asked for the quietest area since my husband has a hearing problem. They didn’t reserve anything, although they did have the reservation in their books. we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated causing us to miss our show. Then, they seated us at the noisiest possible table, in the walkway closest to the kitchen. The food was just ok, nothing spectacular...not planning on returning.

Thank I6028QIjanices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We were visiting family in grass valley and celebrated my birthday at friar tucks. Lovely steak meal, chocolate mousse and a server who sang happy birthday. He was so happy, a really fun guy.

Thank lyndacanning1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriarTucksNC, Owner at Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us! We are happy to hear we made it a nice time for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

~$100 for two main coursed and one appetizer- are we in SF?
Mushrooms for appetizer was ok.
NY steak ($30) was disappointing, too much pepper sauce and mediocre quality of meat.
Pasta primavera ($20) was almost a scam-the olives which are added are from a can (!) and the past itself is soggy.
All in all, look for other places in Nevada City.
The stuff is very friendly for what it worths.

Thank odedbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriarTucksNC, Owner at Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us more. Serving top quality food is a priority for us. All of our steaks are hand cut, certified Angus USDA choice. All of our ingredients are fresh and all our dishes are made to order. Setting the fairest prices is also very important to us but we don't sacrifice quality in order to bring our prices down. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you and impress you. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Nice seating in the restaurant.
Prices are in the upper range but might be normal for the very touristic city.
Had some pasta which was plenty and would have been generally good if it had not been drowned in a sea of oil. Had to drain every bite first a bit so I could eat it.

Thank eva1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FriarTucksNC, Owner at Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance. However, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your pasta. Please, let us know next time. We'd be happy to remake it to your liking or bring you a dish you'd enjoy more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Friar Tuck's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing